Netzwerk-Traffic
überwachen - mit PRTG
All-in-one-Monitoring


Sie wollen Ihren Netzwerkverkehr mitschneiden?
3 typische Situationen, in denen PRTG hilft

 

Network Monitoring, Network Analysis and Network Diagnostics

Sparen Sie einfach Aufwand,
Zeit und Geld mit PRTG

 

Überblick gewinnen

Als verantwortlicher Administrator wollen Sie einen Überblick gewinnen, wie viel Traffic durch Ihr Netzwerk fließt. Mit PRTG können Sie Ihre Kapazitäten besser planen. Außerdem können Sie so feststellen, ob Ihr gebuchtes Datenvolumen überhaupt genutzt wird, ob Sie hinzubuchen müssen oder auch mit weniger Volumen auskommen.

Netzwerk analysieren

In Ihrem Unternehmen bricht häufiger die Internetverbindung ab? Es kommt zu Störungen im Netzwerk - und Sie wissen nicht, woran es liegt? Mit PRTG steht Ihnen ein Netzwerktraffic-Tool zur Verfügung, mit dem Sie Ihren Datenverbrauch analysieren und Ursachen für Störungen finden. Sie finden Engpässe und Sicherheitslecks. 

Netzwerk optimieren

In jedem Netzwerk gibt es Bandbreitenfresser. Seien es einzelne Applikationen, Video-Streams oder überlastete WLANs. Es kann aber auch ein simpler Druckauftrag von großen Dateien sein, der das Netzwerk kurzfristig verstopft. Mit PRTG können Sie die Bandbreitenfresser erkennen und so den Datenverbrauch optimieren.

So haben Sie Ihren Netzwerk-Traffic immer im Blick
– AUCH VON UNTERWEGS

PRTG ist in wenigen Minuten installiert und kann mit vielen verschiedenen Geräten genutzt werden.

interfaces.png

Darum ist PRTG Ihr Netzwerk-Traffic-Tool

Ein Tool für alles

PRTG überwacht Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk. Ob Traffic, Uptime, Server, Router, Switches: Mit PRTG fassen Sie Ihr gesamtes Monitoring in einem Tool zusammen. So haben Sie bei Problemen sofort den Gesamtüberblick. Sie finden schneller und einfacher die Fehlerquellen. Das spart Zeit und Ärger.

Netzwerk-Reporting-Tool

Das Netzwerk-Traffic-Tool PRTG sammelt alle Daten und stellt sie in übersichtlichen Charts und Graphen zur Verfügung. Die Ergebnisse fließen auch in ein Reporting-System, das Sie flexibel konfigurieren können. Sie können den Daten-Zugriff individuell bestimmen. Mehr über die Report-Funktion.

Frühzeitiger Alarm

Stellen Sie mit PRTG individuell ein, in welchen Situationen Sie wie gewarnt werden möchten. PRTG kann Sie bereits sehr frühzeitig alarmieren - etwa wenn ein Sensor Probleme aufweist, das Netzwerk-Gerät aber noch nicht ausfällt. So können Sie sofort reagieren - bevor die Störung zu einem größeren Problem wird. 

Passende Technologie

PRTG nutzt für die Traffic-Analyse die zentralen Technologien SNMP, Packet Sniffing, Flow, WMI und Performance Counter. Ob Windows-Server oder Cisco-Router: Mit PRTG haben Sie immer die passende Technologie für Ihr Monitoring zur Hand.

Langzeit-Analysen

Mit PRTG können Sie Ihren Netzwerk-Traffic über einen längeren Zeitraum mitschneiden und die historischen Daten analysieren. Über längere Zeiträume können Sie erkennen, ob Lastspitzen in regelmäßigen Abständen auftreten. So kommen Sie den Ursachen besser auf die Spur. 

Beispiel: Case Study

„Mit PRTG können wir ständig nach dem Vier-Augen-Prinzip arbeiten. Es lässt uns sofort wissen, wenn etwas in unserem Netzwerk nicht in Ordnung ist. PRTG hilft uns, unsere Zeit und Ressourcen dort einzusetzen, wo unsere Aufmerksamkeit wirklich gefragt ist.“

Brad Mennen, Systemadministrator der Hume Bank, Australien. Die Bank nutzt PRTG, um ihre LANs, WANs, Server, Website, Applikationen und vieles mehr zu überwachen. Zur Case Study

Traffic Monitor im Vergleich:
4 Möglichkeiten



SNMP

SNMP verbraucht sehr wenig CPU- und Netzlast. Gleichzeitig erhalten Sie dadurch einen kompletten Überblick. Allerdings sind hiermit noch keine detaillierten Netzwerk-Analysen wie Filtern des Traffics möglich. Zum SNMP Traffic Sensor

Packet Sniffer

Mit Packet Sniffing können Sie den Datenverkehr nach IP-Adressen, Protokollen und Datentypen analysieren. Dies verursacht allerdings eine höhere CPU- und Netzlast. Zum Packet Sniffer Sensor

Flow-Technologien

Die Flow-Technologien (NetFlow, IPFIX, jFlow, sFlow) sind hauptsächlich für Router von Cisco, Juniper und HP passend, werden aber auch von anderen Herstellern implementiert. Die Flow-Technologien eignen sich besonders für größere Netzwerke. Zu den Flow-Sensoren.

WMI

Mit Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) können Sie Windows Server überwachen. WMI ist allerdings vergleichsweise performancehungrig. Mit SNMP haben Sie eine Alternative, die weniger Last verursacht. Zu den WMI Sensoren und Performance Counter Sensoren.

 

Ein Überblick: WMI, SNMP, Packet Sniffer, xFlow

 

 

 

WMI

SNMP

Packet Sniffer

xFlow (IPFIX, NetFlow, sFlow, jFlow)

Setup

Mittel

Einfach

Einfach bis komplex (abhängig von den verwendeten Filtern)

Kann komplex werden (wenn z.B. Switches konfiguriert werden)

Traffic kann gefiltert werden

NO

NO

YES

YES

Bandbreitennutzung lässt sich nach Protokollen oder IP-Adressen differenzieren

NO

NO

YES

YES

PRTG kann Toplisten zeigen (Top Talker, Top Connections, Top Protocols, benutzerdef.)

NO

NO

YES

YES

Bandbreiten-Filter nach IP-Adresse

NO

NO

YES

YES

Bandbreiten-Filter nach MAC-Adresse

NO

NO

YES

NO

Bandbreiten-Filter nach physischem Port

YES

YES

NO

NO

Andere Netzwerkparameter als Bandbreitennutzung überwachen

YES

YES

NO

NO

CPU-Auslastung des Computers, auf dem PRTG läuft

Niedrig

Niedrig

Höher, hängt vom Traffic ab

Höher, hängt vom Traffic ab

Erhöhte Bandbreitennutzung fürs Monitoring

Kaum

Kaum

Keine (außer wenn die Ports für die Switch-Überwachung verwendet werden)

Hängt vom Traffic ab

Definition, Tools, Alternativen

 

Netzwerk-Traffic

Durch jedes Netzwerk in einem Unternehmen oder einer Organisation fließen unzählige Daten. E-Mails, Videodateien, Webseitenbesucher. Der Netzwerkverkehr steigert sich quer durch alle Branchen und Unternehmen. Für Administratoren bedeutet das: Sie müssen sich kontinuierlich darum kümmern, die Performance Ihres Netzwerks zu optimieren.

Traffic Monitor Tools

Administratoren suchen nach entsprechenden Tools, um den Traffic zu beobachten, zu messen und zu analysieren. Unter anderem gibt es kostenfreie Tools, die einen detaillierten Einblick in die Live-Daten ermöglichen. Das Programm Wireshark etwa zeichnet ungefiltert und live den Netzwerkverkehr mit. Ohne Anhaltspunkt, wonach man suchen soll, sind Analysen damit jedoch nur schwer durchzuführen. PRTG bringt Sie hier dank übersichtlicher, langfristiger Datenaufzeichnung auf den richtigen Weg.

Alternativen

Administratoren stehen vor der Frage, ob sie viele kleine Tools nutzen oder ob sie ein zentrales Tool installieren, mit dem sie ihren gesamten Netzwerkverkehr analysieren können. PRTG ist in der Basis-Version (100 Sensoren) kostenlos. Kleinere Netzwerke können damit bereits überwacht werden.

PRTG rechnet sich: Sie optimieren Ihre gesamte IT!

Die Kosten für eine Jahreslizenz von PRTG sind im Durchschnitt innerhalb von 3 ½ Monaten ausgeglichen. 


Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit Ihres Netzwerks


Kostenersparnis im Netzwerkmanagement durch PRTG


Zeitersparnis im Netzwerkmanagement durch PRTG

PRTG bedeutet für Administratoren ...




Weniger Help-Desk-Support
: Ihr Netzwerk läuft mit PRTG nachweislich stabiler. Das führt zu weniger Help-Desk-Anfragen. Der Help Desk ist eine der unangenehmsten Aufgaben, weil die Probleme akut und die Beschwerden massiv sind. Sparen Sie sich diesen Ärger. 

 


Mehr Zeit für Hardware: Durch die Netzwerk-Überwachung und das Alarmsystem können Sie sich in Ruhe auf die wichtigen und schönen Dinge in Ihrem Arbeitsalltag konzentrieren. Zum Beispiel können Sie in Ruhe neue Hardware implementieren.  

 


Basis für Optimierungen: Mit PRTG überwachen Sie dauerhaft Ihren Netzwerkverkehr. Durch die historischen Daten haben Sie eine langfristige Datenbasis und können Ihr Netzwerk stetig optimieren.  

 


Mehr Zeit für Evaluationen: Mit PRTG können Sie neue Hardware und Anwendungen einfach evaluieren. Das Netzwerk-Monitoring mit PRTG macht Spaß! Sie lernen Ihr Netzwerk jeden Tag ein Stück besser kennen. 

 
quote-stefan-ille.png

„Der Hauptvorteil von PRTG? Man schläft ruhiger.“

Steffen Ille, Leiter Abteilung Infrastruktur SCC der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.

Ausgezeichnete Softwarelösung

Wir arbeiten jeden Tag hart daran, unsere Software
so einfach und universell einsetzbar wie möglich für unsere Kunden zu machen.
Natürlich sind wir stolz darauf, dafür regelmäßig Auszeichnungen zu bekommen.

 

PRTG Auszeichnungen

PRTG: Das Schweizer Taschenmesser für Admins

Sie können PRTG durch die starke API individuell und dynamisch auf Ihre Situation anpassen:

  • HTTP-API: Greifen Sie mittels HTTP-Requests flexibel auf Ihre Monitoring-Daten zu und ändern Sie die Einstellungen der angelegten Objekte
  • Custom Sensors: Erstellen Sie eigene Sensoren - überwachen Sie damit quasi alles
  • Custom Notifications: Lassen Sie eigene Alerts an externe Systeme senden

PAESSLER AG –
Ingenieursqualität Made in Germany

 

 

 

 

 

Testversion
Die Installation dauert nur 2 Minuten
Freeware
100 Sensoren, genug für kleine Netze

 

 

Die PAESSLER AG bietet mit PRTG ein Netzwerküberwachungstool. Über 200.000 Administratoren weltweit nutzen unsere Software, sei es, um ihre Hardware- und Serverleistung zu überwachen, ihre virtuellen Umgebungen oder auch die Erreichbarkeit ihrer Webseiten. PRTG ist eine Netzwerkanalyse-Lösung für Windows. 

Unsere Netzwerk-Monitoring-Software entstand 1997 aus einer Idee von Dirk Paessler. Das Softwareunternehmen hat seinen Sitz in Nürnberg. Wir legen Wert auf unseren Anspruch und entwickeln unsere Software kontinuierlich weiter. Und falls doch etwas hakt: Unser Support antwortet an Werktagen in der Regel innerhalb von 24 Stunden. 

Setzen Sie auf eine Netzwerk-Traffic-Überwachung mit PRTG. So sparen Sie Zeit, Nerven und Kosten. PRTG ist in wenigen Minuten installiert. 100 Sensoren sind kostenlos, genug für kleine Netze. Ein Upgrade ist jederzeit möglich.

box.png

Sie wollen mehr lesen?
Gerne!

SNMP Monitoring: PRTG bietet zahlreiche vorkonfigurierte SNMP-Sensoren. Wie SNMP genau funktioniert, wie Sie Ihr SNMP-Monitoring einrichten und wo die Stolpersteine liegen, erfahren Sie auf unserer Themenseite. 

Packet Sniffing: Der Packet Sniffer Sensor von PRTG überwacht unter anderem den Web Traffic, Mail Traffic, File Transfer Traffic und vieles mehr. Lesen Sie auf unserer Themenseite, wie Sie den Packet Sniffer Sensor einrichten und welche Vor- und Nachteile die Technologie mit sich bringt. 

NetFlow Monitoring: Das NetFlow-Protokoll wird hauptsächlich von Cisco-Routern und -Switches unterstützt. Erfahren Sie auf unserer Themenseite mehr über die unterschiedlichen Flow-Technologien und wie Sie die Sensoren konfigurieren.

 

Download

Netzwerküberwachungssoftware für Windows - Version 17.3.32.2478 (25. Juli 2017)

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Portugiesisch, Niederländisch, Tschechisch, Russisch, Japanisch und vereinfachtes Chinesisch

Preis

Kostenlos bis 100 Sensoren (Preistabelle)

Unified Monitoring

Netzwerkgeräte, Bandbreite, Server, Software, Virtuelle Umgebungen, Remotesysteme, IoT und vieles mehr...

Unterstützte Hersteller & Anwendungen

                    Mehr >>

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 Paessler AG

Monitor Network Traffic with
All-in-One PRTG Monitoring

  • PRTG monitors network traffic
  • PRTG monitors data packets
  • PRTG filters according to IPs, protocols, and data types
  • PRTG uses SNMP, packet sniffing, WMI, NetFlow



Looking to capture network traffic? Here are three typical situations where PRTG comes in handy

 

Network Monitoring, Network Analysis and Network Diagnostics

Saving time, worry, and money is easy with PRTG.

 

Gaining an overview

As a responsible administrator, you hope to obtain an overview of how much traffic is flowing through your network. PRTG lets you optimize network capacity planning. You can also determine if your full data allowance is actually being used, or if you need to buy more or can make do with less.

Analyzing a network

Is your company’s Internet connection becoming less and less reliable? Errors occur in the network – but you don’t know why? With PRTG, you get a network traffic tool that analyzes your data consumption and uncovers the causes of network disruptions. You’ll also identify bottlenecks and security leaks. 

Optimizing a network

Every network has a bandwidth hog. It might be an individual application, video stream, or overloaded WLAN. But it could also be a simple print job containing some big files that are temporarily clogging the network. PRTG Network Analyzer allows you to identify bandwidth hogs and therefore optimize your consumption of data.

Looking for a network traffic tool that will let you keep
a constant eye on your network traffic
– even while on the go?

PRTG can be started within minutes and it's compatible with many mobile devices.

interfaces.png

That's why PRTG is your network traffic analyzer

One tool for everything

PRTG monitors every part of your network. Traffic, uptime, servers, routers, switches: PRTG is an all-in-one monitoring tool for your entire network. When problems arise, you’ll benefit from a complete overview that is available instantly. With PRTG, finding the sources of errors is quick and easy. And that means you'll save both time and frustration.

Network reporting tool

The PRTG Network Traffic Tool collects all data and displays it in easy-to-read charts and graphs. The results are also sent to a reporting system, which you can configure to meet your own specific needs. With PRTG, data access is customizable. Find out more about the Reports feature.

Prompt alerts

Configure PRTG to send you an alert when certain situations arise. PRTG will notify you well in advance - such as when a sensor reveals a problem, but the network device is yet to fail. This means you can react immediately - before the error leads to something more serious. 

The right technology

PRTG uses the following key technologies as traffic analyzer: SNMP, packet sniffing, Flow, WMI, and performance counters. Whether you’re dealing with Windows Server or a Cisco router: with PRTG, you always have the right technology for your monitoring, right at your fingertips.

Long-term analysis

PRTG lets you capture network traffic over the long-term and analyze historical data. You will see if peak loads occur at regular intervals over longer periods of time. If so, you can quickly get to the root of the problem. 

Example: Case Study

“PRTG lets us constantly work in accordance with the two-man rule. PRTG notifies us immediately if something is wrong in our network. Thanks to PRTG, we can use our time and resources for the things which really demand our attention.”

Brad Mennen, System Administrator at Hume Bank in Australia. Hume Bank uses PRTG to monitor its LANs, WANs, servers, website, applications, and much more.
To the case study

Four traffic monitors:
A comparison

 

 

 

i NetFlow is a protocol for collecting, aggregating and recording traffic flow data in a network. NetFlow data provide a more granular view of how bandwidth and network traffic are being used than other monitoring solutions, such as SNMP. NetFlow was developed by Cisco and is embedded in Cisco’s IOS software on the company’s routers and switches and has been supported on almost all Cisco devices since the 11.1 train of Cisco IOS Software. Read more ...



SNMP

SNMP puts very little strain on the CPU and network loads. But it still provides for a complete overview. Detailed network analysis (including traffic filters) is however not possible. Find out more about the SNMP Traffic Sensor.

Packet Sniffer

With packet sniffing, data traffic can be analyzed according to IP addresses, protocols, and types of data. This method, however, generates much higher CPU and network loads. Read more about the Packet Sniffer Sensor. 

Flow technologies

Flow technologies (NetFlow, IPFIX, jFlow, sFlow) are best suited for Cisco, Juniper, and HP routers, but are used by other manufacturers as well. Flow technologies are particularly adapted for larger networks. Read all about our Flow sensors.

WMI

Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) lets you monitor Windows Server. Compared to the other monitors, WMI takes up the most network resources. SNMP is a good alternative if you are looking to save network space. Find out more about our WMI and performance counter sensors.

 

An overview: WMI, SNMP, packet sniffing, xFlow

 

 

WMI

SNMP

Packet Sniffer

xFlow (IPFIX, NetFlow, sFlow, jFlow)

Setup

Medium

Easy

Easy to complex (depending on filter rules used)

Can be complex (e.g., the switch must be configured)

Traffic can be filtered

NO

NO

YES

YES

Differentiate bandwidth usage by protocol or IPs

NO

NO

YES

YES

PRTG can show Toplists (Top Talker, Top Connections, Top Protocols, custom)

NO

NO

YES

YES

Filter bandwidth usage by IP

NO

NO

YES

YES

Filter bandwidth usage by MAC address

NO

NO

YES

NO

Filter bandwidth usage by physical network port

YES

YES

NO

NO

Monitor network parameters other than bandwidth usage

YES

YES

NO

NO

CPU load on the machine running PRTG

Low

Low

Higher, depends on the amount of traffic

Higher, depends on the amount of traffic

Excess bandwidth usage of monitoring

Small

Small

None (except when monitoring switch ports are used)

Depends on the traffic

Definition, tools, alternatives

 

Network traffic

Vast amounts of data flow through every network owned by a company or organization. Emails, video files, website visitors...Network traffic never ceases to rise, in every sector and business. If you’re an administrator, that means you’re constantly looking for ways to optimize the performance of your network.

Traffic monitoring tools

Administrators often search for appropriate tools with which to observe, measure, and analyze their traffic. Some of the available tools include free ones which allow for a detailed look into a network’s live data. Wireshark, for example, captures live, unfiltered network traffic. But unless you know what to look for, analyses can be extremely difficult to perform. Luckily, PRTG provides clear, long-term data recording to get you on the right track.

Alternatives

Administrators are faced with the question of whether to use several small tools, or install one central tool with which they can analyze all their network traffic. In its trial version, PRTG is free of charge.

PRTG is worth it: You’ll optimize your entire IT!

The costs for a one-year PRTG license usually pay for themselves within a few weeks

PRTG improves the reliability of your network

PRTG improves the reliability of your network

PRTG saves
network management costs

PRTG saves network management costs

PRTG saves time
spent on network management

For administrators, PRTG means...




Less Help Desk support:
With PRTG, your network is unmistakably more stable. And that results in fewer Help Desk requests. Let’s face it: the Help Desk can be quite the odious task, especially when problems and complaints are pressing and complicated. Save yourself this hassle with PRTG.

 


More time for hardware:
Our network monitor and alarm system allow you to concentrate on the important and enjoyable tasks in your day-to-day work with total peace of mind. Take the time to leisurely install new hardware, for example.

 


Optimization: PRTG lets you monitor your network traffic on a permanent basis. Thanks to historical data, you'll receive a long-term database and can constantly optimize your network.

 


More time for evaluations: PRTG makes evaluating new hardware and applications a breeze. Network monitoring with PRTG is fun! Every day, you’ll get to know your network a little bit better.

 
quote-stefan-ille.png

„The greatest advantage of PRTG? You get to rest easy.“

Steffen Ille, Bauhaus-University of Weimar, Germany.

Award winning solution

We work hard on making our software as powerful and easy-to-use
as possible for our customers each and every day.
Of course it makes us proud when we get awards for that.

 

awards

PRTG: The swiss army knife for sys admins

Adapt PRTG individually and dynamically to your needs relying on a strong API:

  • HTTP API: Access monitoring data and manipulate monitoring objects using HTTP requests
  • Custom Sensors: Create your own sensors for customized monitoring
  • Custom Notifications: Create your own notifications to send alarms to external systems
  • New REST API Sensor: Monitor almost everything that provides XML or JSON

 

Made in Germany: The PRTG Network Monitoring Tool is the fruit of an engaged team. The company was founded by Dirk Paessler. PAESSLER AG's headquarters are located in the city of Nuremberg, in the heart of Germany. We combine typical German virtues such as high quality standards, industriousness, and commitment with international, cosmopolitan flair. Read more about our firm here. By the way: We are regularly looking for new recruits.

Case Studies: Airports, utility companies, banks, colleges, hospitals: PRTG is present in every industry. For each of our customers, business and organizational processes depend on the proper functioning of the network infrastructure. PRTG's customer satisfaction is close to 100%. Read in our case studies how our customers use PRTG.

Product tests: It goes without saying that we are convinced by the quality of PRTG. But what about the others? PRTG has always performed extremely well in tests. PRTG user “LanLine” sums it up best: “PRTG was already good several years ago, and has gotten better from version to version ever since.” Such has been our steadfast and sincere goal. Read more about monitoring software product tests and comparisons here.

Support: Our support team works hard every day to help customers solve their monitoring problems. Our goal is to resolve all inquiries within 24 hours (on business days). We've drafted a comprehensive manual and built up an extensive knowledge base featuring videos, webinars, and FAQs. All support, of course, is also included!

Getting started is easy: The trial version is free, which means you can try our monitoring tool risk-free. To switch to another version of PRTG, simply search for an appropriate license. You can upgrade any time you like.

 

box.png

Want to read more?
Please do!

SNMP Monitoring: PRTG comes with several preconfigured SNMP sensors. Head over to our SNMP Monitoring page to learn just how SNMP works, as well as how to set up SNMP monitoring and where obstacles can lie. 

Packet Sniffing: PRTG’s Packet Sniffer Sensor monitors web traffic, mail traffic, file transfer traffic, and much more. Check out our section on packet sniffing to find out how to set up the Packet Sniffer Sensor, and to get an idea of the advantages and disadvantages that come with this technology. 

NetFlow Monitoring: The NetFlow protocol is mainly supported by Cisco routers and switches. On our NetFlow page, you’ll learn all you need to know about the various Flow technologies and how to configure their sensors.

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 17.4.36.3595 (December 12th, 2017)

Hosting

Download for Windows and cloud version (PRTG in the cloud) available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more...

Supported Vendors & Applications

More >>

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 Paessler AG