Exchange-Monitoring
mit PRTG: Damit Ihre Mails
immer ankommen

  • Exchange-Verfügbarkeit überwachen
  • Exchange-Performance überwachen
  • Für eine fehlerfreie E-Mail-Zustellung
  • In 3 Schritten Exchange-Monitoring aufsetzen

 

Kostenlose Testversion
30 Tage volle Funktionalität
Freeware Download
100 Sensoren, genug für kleine Netze


Doppelt hält besser! Wie Sie bei PRTG den passenden Alarm einstellen

Mail-Server fällt aus – was jetzt?

Wie erhalte ich eine Alarm-Nachricht, wenn der Exchange-Server down ist? Das fragen sich viele Administratoren, die PRTG das erste Mal nutzen. Schließlich kommt eine Benachrichtigung per E-Mail dann nicht mehr in Betracht.

Die Antwort: Sie richten eine Fallback-Lösung für Ausfälle Ihres Exchange-Servers ein.

Benachrichtigung per SMS

Mit PRTG können Sie den Alarm flexibel einstellen – etwa per E-Mail und zusätzlich als SMS oder Push-Nachricht in Ihrer App. In diesem Beitrag in unserer Knowledge-Base beschreiben wir, wie Sie ein GSM-Modem in Ihr Netzwerk einbinden, das bei einem Ausfall der Internetverbindung eine Textnachricht über den Mobilfunk versendet.

Wir empfehlen übrigens immer, für kritische Netzwerkkomponenten mindestens zwei unabhängige Benachrichtigungsmethoden zu verwenden. So können Sie stets sicherstellen, dass Sie über Ausfälle sofort benachrichtigt werden und eingreifen können.

Mehr zur Alarm-Funktion von PRTG

Erfahren Sie hier mehr über den flexiblen Alarm von PRTG. Auch in unserem Manual beschreiben wir ausführlich, wie Sie Benachrichtigungen einstellen.

Wie Sie Ihre Exchange-Server in
3 Schritten überwachen


Schritt 1: PRTG Roundtrip Sensoren einrichten:
Mit den Roundtrip-Sensoren überwachen Sie generell den kompletten Sende- und Empfangsprozess der E-Mails. Sie überprüfen dauerhaft, ob die Lieferung über SMTP an den Mail-Server bis zur Zustellung an einen POP3/IMAP-Server funktioniert und es keine geschäftsstörenden Verzögerungen bei Empfang und Versand gibt. Zum SMTP & IMAP Roundtrip Sensor und SMTP & POP3 Roundtrip Sensor.


Schritt 2: Detailliertes Monitoring aufsetzen:
Legen Sie Ihren Exchange-Server unter Angabe der IP-Adresse oder DNS-Namen als Gerät in PRTG an und fügen Sie die passenden Exchange-Sensoren hinzu, um Ihre Server im Detail zu monitoren. Kommt es bei E-Mail-Versand oder -Empfang zu Problemen, bieten Ihnen diese Sensortypen einen ersten Einblick zur Ursachenanalyse. Auch kann Sie PRTG, basierend auf den gemessenen Werten, proaktiv benachrichtigen, bevor Ihr E-Mail-System tatsächlich ausfällt. Zum detaillierten Exchange-Monitoring gehören z. B. Anzahl der E-Mails, Datenbanken, Backups, Mail Queues und die Funktionstüchtigkeit von IMAP-, POP3 und SMTP-Protokollen.


Schritt 3: Im Dashboard anlegen:
Fügen Sie die Sensoren zu Ihrem zentralen Dashboard hinzu, auf dem Sie auch die Monitoring-Daten Ihrer SQL-Server, Webserver und anderer Hardware und Software übersichtlich darstellen. So haben Sie jederzeit den Überblick über Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk und erkennen bei Störungen sofort die Ursache.

Einblicke in die Exchange-Überwachung mit PRTG

Der Exchange Monitor: Die vier Vorteile von PRTG

Einfache Installation

PRTG verfügt über zahlreiche vorkonfigurierte Sensoren für Microsoft Exchange Server. Verschiedene Exchange-Sensoren werden mit Installation und initialer Auto-Discovery automatisch angelegt. Weitere benötigte Sensoren sind mit wenigen Klicks Ihrem Exchange-Server hinzugefügt. So können Sie Ihr Exchange-Monitoring sehr schnell und einfach aufsetzen.

Frühzeitiger Alarm

Mit PRTG werden Sie frühzeitig informiert – in der Regel bevor es zu größeren Störungen im E-Mail-Verkehr kommt. Die Schwellenwerte für den Alarm können Sie flexibel einstellen. So reagieren Sie proaktiv und frühzeitig auf Probleme.

Alles im Blick

Durch die Roundtrip-Sensoren und die Sensoren für Ihren Exchange Server haben Sie alle wesentlichen Aspekte auf dem Schirm. Durch die weiteren Netzwerk-Sensoren von PRTG haben Sie den Überblick über Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk!

Individuell anpassbar

Mit den Powershell-Sensoren von PRTG können Sie Ihr Monitoring individuell auf Ihre spezifische Hardware anpassen. Als Windows-Spezialisten bieten wir Ihnen zusätzlich natürlich auch WMI für passgenaues Monitoring. Sie verfügen so über ein Monitoring, das wie angegossen sitzt.

Unsere Empfehlung: Folgende PRTG-Sensoren sind genau richtig

Für Ihre Exchange Server:

Exchange Mailbox (Powershell) Sensor

Hiermit überwachen Sie den Status einer dedizierten Mailbox hinsichtlich Größe, E-Mail-Anzahl und letztem Login.

Exchange Database (Powershell) Sensor

Mit diesem Sensor haben Sie die Größe der Exchange-Datenbank im Blick und Sie sehen sofort, ob die Datenbank mounted und valide ist. Außerdem haben Sie die Möglichkeit, den Database Availability Group (DAG)-Status der Exchange-Datenbank zu überwachen. Hierfür nutzen Sie den Exchange Database DAG (Powershell) Sensor.

Exchange Backup (Powershell) Sensor

Mit diesem Sensor stellen Sie sicher, dass die Backups Ihres Exchange Servers erfolgreich durchgeführt werden.

Exchange Mail Queue (Powershell) Sensor

Mit diesem Sensor überwachen Sie, wie viele E-Mails in der Warteschleife sind. Alternativ: WMI Exchange Transport Queue Sensor. In unserer Knowledge Base finden Sie mehr zu den verschiedenen Typen von Mail Queues.

Exchange Public Folder (Powershell) Sensor

Überwachen Sie mit diesem Sensor Größe und Zugriffe auf öffentliche Ordner des Exchange Servers.

WMI Exchange Server und WMI Exchange Transport Queue Sensor

Mit den beiden Sensortypen WMI Exchange Server & WMI Exchange Transport Queue können Sie zusätzlich über WMI wichtige Daten Ihres Exchange Servers abfragen.

Für Ihren generellen E-Mail-Verkehr:

SMTP & IMAP Roundtrip Sensor

Mit dem Roundtrip Sensor von PRTG können Sie den kompletten Zustellungsprozess der E-Mails überwachen. Bei diesem Sensor für die Protokolle SMTP und IMAP.

SMTP & POP3 Roundtrip Sensor

Der zweite Roundtrip Sensor ist für SMTP in Verbindung mit POP3 entwickelt. Auch dieser Sensor überwacht die Ende-zu-Ende-Zustellung.

POP3, IMAP und SMTP

Mit den drei einzelnen Sensoren POP3, IMAP und SMTP überwachen Sie Ihre E-Mail-Server über die einzelnen Protokolle auf Ihre Verfügbarkeit.

WMI oder Power-
Shell: Welche Technologie besser nutzen?


Viele Administratoren nutzen Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) als Technologie, um Ihre Windows-Server zu überwachen. Der Nachteil von WMI: Die Technologie ist sehr performance-hungrig. Wenn Sie also ein umfangreiches Monitoring aufsetzen, sollten Sie mit der Nutzung von WMI-Sensoren sparsam umgehen. Für Ihr Exchange-Monitoring steht auch Powershell als Monitoring-Technologie bereit, das deutlich weniger Ressourcen verbraucht.

Probleme mit dem Exchange Server:
3 gefährliche Situationen – und eine Lösung

Für Administratoren steht bei Exchange-Server-Problemen sehr viel auf dem Spiel.
Sie stehen in der Verantwortung, die operativen Geschäftsprozesse
sicherzustellen und sich um die Datensicherheit zu kümmern.

Exchange-Verzögerungen

Wenn sich die E-Mail-Zustellung verlangsamt, dauert es in der Regel nur wenige Minuten, bis die ersten Beschwerden aufschlagen. Sei es der Versand oder der Empfang von E-Mails: Praktisch alle Mitarbeiter erwarten, dass der E-Mail-Verkehr jederzeit voll verfügbar ist.

Exchange-Ausfälle

Bei Ausfällen des Exchange-Servers können gar keine E-Mais mehr gesendet oder empfangen werden, also steigt der Beschwerde-Status noch einmal rasant an. Vom Sekretariat bis zum CEO fühlen sich alle in ihren Arbeitsprozessen gestört. Das Unternehmen steht still.

Verluste

Wenn es gar zu Verlusten von Informationen kommt, ist die Gefahr groß, dass hohe Kosten entstehen. Dies kann bis zu einer existenziellen Gefahr für das gesamte Unternehmen reichen, etwa wenn Kundendaten verloren gehen.

3 Case Studies: So nutzen Administratoren PRTG

 


„Bereits bei der ersten Anwendung von PRTG begeisterte uns die intuitive Bedienbarkeit der Lösung. Unsere Mitarbeiter fanden sich auf Anhieb mit dem übersichtlichen Interface der Software zurecht.“

Tobias Gebauer, Systemadministrator der BAUER Gruppe. Zur Case Study

 


„The fact that PRTG included all the sensors for Exchange, VMware, Terminal Services, Windows Performance Data, WMI, etc. made it a much more affordable solution."

Steven Tims, IT Support Services Manager, Raven Industries. Zur Case Study

 


„Neben vielen anderen Features haben uns besonders die Maps in PRTG gefallen: Damit können wir schnell und einfach übersichtliche Dashboards erstellen und jedem Kollegen genau die Daten anzeigen, die für ihn relevant sind.“

Christian Miceli, Bosch-Rexroth. Zur Case Study

 

Andreas Reimann

Praxis-Tipp: Hey Dieter, wie macht ihr das bei der Paessler AG mit Exchange?

Wir bei der Paessler AG haben uns als mittelständisches Unternehmen für Exchange Online entschieden und keine Exchange-Server mehr im Haus stehen. Unsere „Cloud First“-Philosophie kommt auch hier zum Tragen, auch wenn die Einsparungen an Arbeitszeit und Kosten durch die Online-Variante von Exchange bei unserer Firmengröße nicht so groß sein dürften wie bei Großunternehmen.

Auch bei Exchange Online hilft uns PRTG, für einen reibungslosen E-Mail-Verkehr zu sorgen. Die Roundtrip-Sensoren benachrichtigen uns sofort, wenn hier etwas hakt. Dank Unified Monitoring mit PRTG haben wir nämlich mögliche Ursachen, die in unserem eigenen Netzwerk liegen könnten, schnell gefunden, seien es Probleme mit der Internetverbindung, in der Netzwerkkonfiguration oder Singularitäten bei einzelnen Kollegen. Zeigt uns PRTG hier keine Fehlerquellen an, wissen wir sofort, dass wir den Exchange-Online-Support kontaktieren müssen und unser E-Mail-Verkehr ist schnellstmöglich wieder auf den Beinen.

Dieter Loskarn, System Administrator bei der Paessler AG, arbeitet schon seit den ersten Versionen mit Exchange Server

Ihr Monitoring auf einen Blick – auch von unterwegs

PRTG ist in wenigen Minuten eingerichtet und kann mit vielen verschiedenen Geräten genutzt werden.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

PRTG überwacht zentral viele verschiedene Anbieter, Systeme und Anwendungen!

Microsoft Exchange:
Wie Sie die unterschiedlichen Versionen überwachen

Exchange 2010, 2013 und 2016 Monitoring

Deutlich häufiger sind die aktuellen Versionen im Umlauf. Für Exchange 2010 und Exchange 2013 können Sie die WMI- und Powershell-Sensoren nutzen. Auch bei Exchange 2016 haben wir bisher viel positives Feedback erhalten.

 

Exchange 2003 und 2007 Monitoring

Von Exchange gibt es eine Reihe von Versionen, die von PRTG entsprechend unterstützt werden. Die Exchange 2003 und Exchange 2007 werden nur noch sehr selten genutzt. Für diese Versionen stehen Ihnen die WMI-Sensoren von PRTG zu Verfügung.

 

Exchange Online Monitoring

Viele Unternehmen nutzen Office 365 und Exchange Online. Insbesondere bei großen Unternehmen kann dies deutlich kostengünstiger sein, als Exchange-Server selber zu betreuen. Hier werden die Daten auf Servern von Microsoft gehostet. Oft wird dies in Verbindung mit weiteren Cloud-Diensten genutzt. Doch auch hier kann es zu Verbindungsproblemen kommen. Mit PRTG finden Sie schnell heraus, ob die Fehlerursache bei Problemen im E-Mail-Verkehr in Ihrem Netzwerk, beim Nutzer oder beim Cloud-Anbieter liegt.

 

PRTG vereinfacht Ihren Alltag!

Unsere Monitoring-Software arbeitet für Sie und meldet sich, wenn es Probleme mit gibt.
So haben Sie Ruhe und können sich auf Ihre tägliche Arbeit konzentrieren.

 

PRTG spart Zeit

Mit PRTG haben Sie ein zentrales Monitoring-Tool für Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk. Über unser Dashboard und unsere App haben Sie jederzeit den schnellen und kompletten Überblick.

PRTG spart Nerven

Die Einrichtung von PRTG ist einfach. Der Einstieg in PRTG bzw. der Wechsel von einem anderen Monitoring-Tool ist dank der Auto-Discovery-Funktion und zahlreicher Geräte-Templates problemlos möglich.

PRTG spart Kosten

PRTG lohnt sich. 80 % unserer Kunden berichten von deutlichen Ersparnissen beim Netzwerkmanagement. Die Kosten für die Lizenzen haben sich im Durchschnitt nach nur wenigen Wochen amortisiert.

PRTG: Das Schweizer Taschenmesser für Admins

Sie können PRTG durch die starke API individuell und dynamisch auf Ihre Situation anpassen:

  • HTTP-API: Greifen Sie mittels HTTP-Anfragen flexibel auf Ihre Monitoring-Daten zu und ändern Sie die Einstellungen der angelegten Objekte
  • Eigene Sensoren: Erstellen Sie eigene Sensoren - überwachen Sie damit quasi alles
  • Individuelle Benachrichtigungen: Richten Sie eigene Alarme ein, um sie an externe Systeme zu senden
  • Neuer REST API Sensor: Überwachen Sie alles, was XML oder JSON zur Verfügung stellt

Recommend PRTG

Über 95 Prozent unserer Kunden empfehlen PRTG

In einer großen Umfrage hat die Paessler AG über 600 IT-Abteilungen weltweit befragt, die PRTG nutzen. Ziel war, die eigene Netzwerk-Monitoring-Software noch besser auf die Bedürfnisse der Administratoren auszurichten und zu optimieren.

Ein Ergebnis der Umfrage: Über 95 % der Teilnehmer würden PRTG weiterempfehlen - oder haben es bereits getan.

 

Viele Administratoren sind auf der Suche nach einem Tool, das sie kostenlos testen können, bevor sie eine Investition tätigen.


PRTG bringt eine Reihe von Vorteilen:

1. Kostenfreie Testversion: Testen Sie in aller Ruhe, ob PRTG Ihren Bedürfnissen entspricht und Ihre Erwartungen erfüllt. Anschließend ist Ihr bereits konfiguriertes PRTG leicht erweiterbar. So minimieren Sie das Risiko eines Fehlkaufs.

2. Ein Tool für den Überblick: Viele Administratoren haben verschiedene Monitoring-Lösungen für ihr Netzwerk oder die Bestandteile ihrer Infrastruktur. Es kostet Zeit und Nerven, sich hier immer wieder einen Überblick zu verschaffen. Mit PRTG haben Sie eine „All in one“-Lösung. Über unser Dashboard und unsere App haben Sie jederzeit den gesamten Überblick.

3. Schneller Support: Sie haben Fragen? Sie kommen an einer bestimmten Stelle nicht weiter? Hinter PRTG steht ein engagiertes Entwickler- und Support-Team. Wir versuchen stets, jede Frage an Werktagen innerhalb von 24 Stunden zu beantworten. Hier können alle Support-Quellen durchsucht werden.

 

Konfigurieren Sie Ihr PRTG jetzt. Die Testversion ist kostenlos. Sparen Sie Zeit, Nerven und Kosten mit unserem Monitoring-Tool für Ihr Netzwerk und Ihre gesamte Infrastruktur.

box.png

Weitere Themen rund um Server- und Mail-Monitoring

Server-Monitoring – der Überblick: Mit PRTG können Sie Ihre gesamte Server-Infrastruktur überwachen. Erfahren Sie auf dieser Themenseite, welche Sensoren dafür geeignet sind und wie Sie Ihr Server-Monitoring aufsetzen.

 

E-Mail-Monitoring: Hier erfahren Sie weitere Details rund um E-Mail-Monitoring mit PRTG. Wie bei Exchange-Monitoring auch kommen hierfür die Roundtrip-Sensoren in Betracht.

 

Netzwerk-Monitoring: PRTG ist ein zentrales, umfassendes Netzwerk-Monitoring-Tool. Mit PRTG überwachen Sie Ihre Systeme, Geräte und Anwendungen und können dabei auf zahlreiche Technologien zurückgreifen. 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 17.4.35.3441 (27. November 2017)

Hosting

Verfügbar als Download für Windows und als Cloud-Version (PRTG in der Cloud)

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Portugiesisch, Niederländisch, Russisch, Japanisch und vereinfachtes Chinesisch

Preis

Bis zu 100 Sensoren kostenlos (Preistabelle)

Unified Monitoring

Netzwerkgeräte, Bandbreite, Server, Software, Virtuelle Umgebungen, Remotesysteme, IoT und vieles mehr...

Unterstützte Hersteller & Anwendungen

Mehr >>

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 Paessler AG

Exchange monitoring with PRTG:
For flawless email delivery

  • Monitor Exchange server availability
  • Monitor Exchange server performance
  • Ensure the smooth delivery of emails
  • Set up Exchange server monitoring in 3 easy steps

 


Better safe than sorry! Setting up alarms in PRTG

The mail server is down – what now?

The mail server is down – what now?

How can I receive an alert email if Exchange Server is down? This is a question many administrators have when they use PRTG for the first time.

The answer: Set up a fallback solution.

Notifications by SMS

Notifications by SMS

The alarm of PRTG is customizable – you can choose to be notified by email, SMS, or push notification in your app. In this PRTG knowledge base article, you will learn how to incorporate a GSM modem into your network that will send you a text message via a mobile phone if your Internet connection goes down.

For your most important network components, we recommend using at least two separate notification methods. In this way, you will be sure to always be notified in the event of downtime, and can react accordingly.

More on the PRTG alarm function

More on the PRTG alarm function

Learn more about the customizable alarm of PRTG here. You can also find detailed information in our manual on how to set up notifications.

Exchange Server monitoring in 3 easy steps

Step 1: Configure the PRTG Round Trip sensors


Step 1: Configure the PRTG Round Trip sensors

Round Trip sensors let you monitor the complete sending and receiving process of your emails. These sensors continually check to ensure emails are delivered first to the mail server and then to a POP3/IMAP server, and that they do not experience any delays during their sending and receiving which might be harmful to your business. More on the SMTP & IMAP Roundtrip Sensor and SMTP & POP3 Roundtrip Sensor.

 Step 2: Create in-depth monitoring


Step 2: Create in-depth monitoring
Designate your Exchange Server as a device in PRTG by indicating its IP address or DNS name, then add the Exchange-sensor you will need to monitor your servers in detail. If you encounter a problem with the sending or receiving of emails, these sensors will provide you with some initial insight into the possible causes. Based on the values it measures, PRTG will notify you quickly – usually before serious email problems can arise. For Exchange monitoring to be effective, it should not only include the number of emails, but also databases, backups, mail queues, and the functionality of IMAP, POP3, and SMTP protocols.

 Step 3: Set up your dashboard


Step 3: Set up your dashboard
Add the sensors to your central dashboard, which will display the monitoring data of SQL servers, web servers, and other hardware and software in a clear and intelligent manner. With the dashboard, you get a constant overview of your entire network and can immediately identify the causes of problems.

An introduction to
Exchange monitoring with PRTG

 

Exchange monitoring tool: 4 advantages of PRTG

Easy installation

Easy installation

PRTG comes with a number of pre-configured sensors for Microsoft Exchange Server. A variety of Exchange sensors will be created automatically during installation and the Auto Discovery process. And other sensors can be added to your Exchange Server with just a few clicks of the mouse, which makes setting up Exchange monitoring both quick and easy.

Prompt alarm system

Prompt alarm system

With PRTG, you’ll be alerted quickly – usually before your email traffic has a chance to build up. All alarm threshold values are customizable, allowing you to react to disruptions both promptly and proactively.

A complete overview

A complete overview

Round Trip and Exchange Server sensors conveniently display all the most important information on your dashboard. Throw in the other network sensors of PRTG, and you’ll get an overview of your entire network!

Customizable

Customizable

Our PowerShell sensors allow you to customize your monitoring to adapt to your own specific hardware. As Windows specialists, we also offer you the possibility of tailoring your monitoring with WMI. With PRTG, your monitoring will fit your system like a glove.

PRTG sensors: Our recommendations

 

 

 

iWhat is a sensor?

In PRTG, “Sensors” are the basic monitoring elements. One sensor usually monitors one measured value in your network, e.g. the traffic of a switch port, the CPU load of a server, the free space of a disk drive. On average you need about 5-10 sensors per device or one sensor per switch port.

View video (4:34 min.)

For your Exchange Server:

Exchange Mailbox (PowerShell) Sensor

Exchange Mailbox (PowerShell) Sensor

This sensor monitors the status of a mailbox with regard to size, the number of emails, and the latest login.

Exchange Database (PowerShell) Sensor

Exchange Database (PowerShell) Sensor

With this sensor, you can keep an eye on the size of your Exchange database, and immediately recognize if it is mounted and valid. You can also monitor its database availability group (DAG) status. To do so, use the Exchange Database DAG (PowerShell) Sensor.

Exchange Backup (PowerShell) Sensor

Exchange Backup (PowerShell) Sensor

This sensor lets you verify whether your Exchange Server backups have been performed properly.

Exchange Mail Queue (PowerShell) Sensor

Exchange Mail Queue (PowerShell) Sensor

This sensor monitors the number of emails that are currently in the mail queue. Alternative: WMI Exchange Transport Queue Sensor. Check out our knowledge base for information on the various types of mail queues.

Exchange Public Folder (PowerShell) Sensor

Exchange Public Folder (PowerShell) Sensor

This sensor monitors your Exchange Server’s public folders (size, access, etc.).

WMI Exchange Server Sensor and WMI Exchange Transport Queue Sensor

WMI Exchange Server Sensor and WMI Exchange Transport Queue Sensor

The WMI Exchange Server & WMI Exchange Transport Queue sensors let you query other important Exchange Server data via WMI.

For your general email traffic:

SMTP & IMAP Round Trip Sensor

SMTP & IMAP Round Trip Sensor

This sensor checks the response times of SMTP and IMAP servers, thereby allowing you to monitor the entire e-mail delivery process.

SMTP & POP3 Round Trip Sensor

SMTP & POP3 Round Trip Sensor

This second Round Trip sensor which has been developed for SMTP in conjunction with POP3, also monitors end-to-end delivery.

POP3, IMAP and SMTP

POP3, IMAP and SMTP

POP3, IMAP and SMTP sensors allow you to monitor the availability of your email servers by way of their respective protocols.

WMI or PowerShell:
Which is better?


Many sysadmins use Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) to monitor their Windows servers. The drawback of WMI technology is that it puts a heavy strain on your system. If you wish to set up in-depth monitoring, you should therefore use WMI sensors sparingly. Another option for Exchange monitoring is PowerShell, a technology that uses significantly fewer resources.

Problems with Exchange Server:
3 dangerous situations
– and one solution

When issues arise with Exchange Server, there is a great deal at stake.
As an administrator, it is your job to ensure company processes
run smoothly and data remains secure.

 Exchange delays

Exchange delays

When email slows down (even a little), it usually takes no more than a few minutes before the first complaints start to pour in. Whether your coworkers are sending or receiving emails, they will expect nothing less than perfectly operational email traffic at all times.

 Exchange malfunctions

Exchange malfunctions

Exchange Server crashes make all email traffic impossible. Everyone from the secretary to the CEO is affected, and they will not hesitate to let you know that they are no longer able to work. In short, the company comes to a standstill.

 Losses

Losses

Lost information is often synonymous with great risks and expenses. In some cases (such as when customer data is lost), it can even cause a company to go under.

How administrators use PRTG: 3 case studies

 

 



“We have saved money on bandwidth costs since we know exactly how much we need at any given moment and are able to track trends, and we've also cut the time it takes to manage the system in half. With PRTG, we don't have to think or worry about the network.”

Chadwick Wachs, Owner of AU Wireless. To the case study

 


„The fact that PRTG included all the sensors for Exchange, VMware, Terminal Services, Windows Performance Data, WMI, etc. made it a much more affordable solution."

Steven Tims, IT Support Services Manager, Raven Industries. To the case study

 



„First, PRTG gives us the insight we need, telling us what is happening across our global network at any given moment. Second, the improved insight has increased our availability.“

Jonathan Hoppe, Co-Founder of Total Uptime. To the case study

 

Andreas Reimann

Practical tip: Hey Dieter, how does Paessler AG use Exchange Server?

“As a medium-sized company, we decided to go with Exchange Online, and so no longer install the software ourselves. Our “cloud first” philosophy played a role in our decision, even if the online version of Exchange tends to be less advantageous in terms of cost/time savings for firms of our size than it is for bigger corporations.

PRTG works well with both Exchange Server and Exchange Online to ensure the smooth flow of email traffic. Its Round Trip sensors immediately notify us if our traffic is stuck. And thanks to the unified monitoring of PRTG, which provides us with a list of the possible errors occurring in our own network, we can quickly get to the root of the problem, whether it be the Internet connection, the network configuration, or an isolated incident in an employee workstation. In the absence of such a list, we know that it’s time to contact the Exchange Online Support Team, who help us get our email back up and running in no time at all.”

Dieter Loskarn, System Administrator at Paessler AG, has been working with Exchange Server since the software first came out.

Your monitoring at a glance
– even while on the go

PRTG can be started within minutes and it's compatible with many mobile devices.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG monitors these vendors and applications, and more, in one view!

 

 

Microsoft Exchange:
Monitoring the various versions

 Monitoring Exchange 2010, 2013, and 2016

Monitoring Exchange 2010, 2013, and 2016

The current versions are much more widespread. For Exchange 2010 and Exchange 2013, you can use our WMI and PowerShell sensors. So far, we have also gotten lots of positive feedback for the monitoring of Exchange 2016.

 

 Monitoring Exchange 2003 and 2007

Monitoring Exchange 2003 and 2007

PRTG is equipped to monitor a variety of different Exchange versions. Exchange 2003 and Exchange 2007 are practically obsolete. For these versions, the PRTG WMI sensors will do the trick.

 

 Monitoring Exchange Online

Monitoring Exchange Online

Many companies use Office 365 and Exchange Online. These options can be significantly less expensive than managing Exchange Server, especially for big corporations. With these options, data is hosted on Microsoft servers. Office 365 and Exchange Online are often used in conjunction with other cloud services. But even cloud services can be disrupted by faulty connections. With PRTG, you can quickly determine if email traffic-related problems lie in your network, with the user, or with the cloud provider.

 

PRTG simplifies your day

Our monitoring software works for you and promptly notifies you of potential issues.
It frees you to concentrate on your day-to-day tasks with peace of mind.

 

PRTG saves time

With PRTG, you get one central monitoring tool for your servers and entire network. Enjoy a quick overview of your whole infrastructure via our dashboard and app.

PRTG saves worry

Customizing PRTG is a breeze. Getting started or switching from another network monitoring tool is easy thanks to the PRTG auto-discovery and pre-configured device templates.

PRTG saves money

80% of our customers report substantial or even exceptional cost savings in the area of network monitoring. The experience shows that the costs for licenses have paid for themselves within a matter of weeks.

 

PRTG: The swiss army knife for sys admins

Adapt PRTG individually and dynamically to your needs relying on a strong API:

  • HTTP API: Access monitoring data and manipulate monitoring objects using HTTP requests
  • Custom Sensors: Create your own sensors for customized monitoring
  • Custom Notifications: Create your own notifications to send alarms to external systems
  • New REST API Sensor: Monitor almost everything that provides XML or JSON

Over 95% of our customers recommend PRTG

 

Paessler AG worldwide trialled PRTG in over 600 IT departments.
The aim was to tune the network monitoring software closer to the needs of the administrators.
The result of the survey: over 95% of the participants would recommend PRTG - or already had.

Recommend PRTG

 

Most administrators want to test a tool for free before deciding to make an investment.


The many advantages of PRTG:

1. Free trial version: Take the time to explore PRTG so you can determine if it satisfies your needs and meets your expectations. Once the trial is over, it’s easy to upgrade your already configured version of PRTG, which means you’re much less likely to make an incorrect purchase.

2. One tool, one overview: Administrators often use a variety of monitoring solutions for their network or for the individual components of their infrastructure. But using several different tools every time you want to create an overview costs time and energy. PRTG is an “all-in-one” solution. Our dashboard and app provide a comprehensive overview, whenever you want it.

3. Quick customer support: Got a question? Stuck on a problem and need a hand? PRTG is backed by a dedicated development and support team. We do our utmost to answer every customer inquiry within 24 hours (on business days). Browse all our support topics here.

Configure your PRTG today. The trial version is free of charge. Save time, worry, and money with our monitoring tool designed for your network and entire infrastructure.

box.png

Other server and mail monitoring topics

Server monitoring – an overview: PRTG lets you monitor your entire server infrastructure and the performance of your servers. On this page, you will discover which sensors to choose while setting up your server monitoring.

 

Email monitoring: Here you will learn all you need to know about email monitoring with PRTG, such as how to use Round Trip sensors to monitor Microsoft Exchange Server.

 

Network monitoring: PRTG is a centralized, comprehensive network monitoring tool. It uses a variety of different technologies to monitor your systems, devices, and applications.

 

Log Monitoring: Keep an eye on all the syslog and Windows Event Log messages.

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 18.3.44.2054 (September 24th, 2018)

Hosting

Download for Windows and hosted version available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more...

Supported Vendors & Applications

More >>

Related Topics