Netzwerk Performance Test:
So unterstützt Sie PRTG

 


  • PRTG überwacht Netzwerk Performance

  • PRTG benachrichtigt bei Störungen

  • PRTG nutzt Ping, SNMP, Flow-Technologie

  • PRTG ist ein zentrales IT-Monitoring Tool

  • PRTG ist kostenlos in der Basis-Version

 

Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

 

 

 

Speed Test vs. Netzwerk Performance:
Was wollen Sie genau testen?

Privat: Ihre Internetgeschwindigkeit

Wenn Sie auf die Schnelle die Internetgeschwindigkeit testen wollen, raten wir Ihnen zu passenden Online-Tools wie oder Speedtest.org. Das Tool wird nicht ohne Grund von Netflix betrieben. Denn viele User wollen einen schnellen unkomplizierten Speedtest zu Hause durchführen und ihre M/bit-Rate sehen, wenn das Streaming mal wieder hakt.

 

Business: Die Performance Ihres Netzwerks

IT-Administratoren haben dagegen eine ganz andere Situation. Sie wollen mehr über die Performance ihres Netzwerks erfahren. Etwa zu Servern, Routern oder Switches. Oder zur Website oder zu bestimmten Anwendungen. Wenn es hier zu Störungen oder gar Ausfällen kommt, entsteht sofort ein Schaden und ein hoher Aufwand im Support.

 

Damit das Netzwerk läuft: Mit diesen PRTG-Sensoren arbeiten
über 300.000 Systemadministratoren weltweit

 

 i Was ist ein Sensor?

Die grundlegenden Monitoring-Elemente werden in PRTG als "Sensoren" bezeichnet. Ein Sensor überwacht üblicherweise einen gemessenen Wert innerhalb Ihres Netzwerks, z. B. den Traffic eines Switch-Ports, die CPU-Auslastung eines Servers, den freien Speicherplatz einer Festplatte. Jedes Gerät benötigt ungefähr 5-10 Sensoren und einen Sensor pro Switch-Port.

Video ansehen (4:07 Min.)

 

Wir genießen das Vertrauen von 300.000 Administratoren
und sind von Branchenanalysten als führender Softwareanbieter anerkannt.

 

„Fantastische Netzwerk- und Infrastruktur-Monitoring-Lösung, die einfach zu installieren und zu benutzen ist. Einfach das beste verfügbare Produkt.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

„Die Software ist absolut perfekt, der Support ist super. Erfüllt alle Bedürfnisse. Eine Must-have-Lösung, wenn man irgendeine Art von Monitoring sucht.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

„Das Tool zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass es seinen Fokus darauf legt, ein einheitlicher Infrastruktur-Management- und Netzwerk-Monitoring-Service zu sein.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

 


Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

Netzwerk Performance Test: Wie PRTG hilft –
und wann Sie andere
Tools benötigen   

Netzwerk Performance Test

PRTG ist kein Netzwerk-Performance-Test-Instrument im engeren Sinne. Sie können keinen einmaligen Test durchführen im Sinne eines Ping-Befehls, den man über die Kommandozeile durchführt. Ein einmaliger Test bringt häufig auch nur wenig. Mit unserem Tool überwachen Sie dauerhaft Ihre Bandbreite, inklusive Alarm.

Netzwerk-Performance-Überwachung

Wenn Sie unser Tool installieren, werden per Auto-Discovery (Autom. Suche) automatisch alle Geräte innerhalb einer IP-Spanne auf die Erreichbarkeit gescannt und ins Monitoring eingefügt. Anschließend können Sie Sensoren anlegen, um bestimmte Werte dauerhaft zu überwachen.

Netzwerk-Performance-Analyse

PRTG liefert Ihnen die wichtigen Performance-Daten zu ihrer Bandbreite, ihren Geräten und Anwendungen. Wenn Sie eine sehr tiefe Analyse bestimmter Datenpakete durchführen und in einzelne Pakete schauen wollen, benötigen Sie andere spezialisierte Analyse-Tools.

 

Netzwerk Performance Tool:
Das sind die Vorteile von PRTG

Zentrales Tool

Zentrales Tool –
für den einfachen
Überblick  

Mit PRTG haben Sie ein zentrales Monitoring-Tool für Ihre gesamte IT-Infrastruktur.  Hardware, Traffic, Anwendungen – mit unserer Software haben Sie alles im Blick. Über Sensoren werden alle Daten in einem Dashboard übersichtlich visualisiert.

Schneller Alarm

Schneller Alarm –
für rechtzeitige
Reaktionen

Kommt es zu Störungen, schickt unser Tool sofort eine Benachrichtigung an Sie. Die Schwellenwerte und Kanäle für den Alarm können Sie individuell einstellen. So können Sie reagieren, bevor es zu Ausfällen kommt.

Kompatibel mit allen Herstellern – für .

Kompatibel mit allen Herstellern – für mehr Unabhängigkeit

Unser Netzwerk Tool ist kompatibel mit allen namhaften Herstellern wie HP, Dell, Juniper, Cisco und vielen mehr. Dadurch müssen Sie die Performance Ihrer Geräte nicht mehr einzeln überwachen, sondern können alle Informationen zentral zusammenführen.

 


Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

Netzwerk Testing und PRTG: Beispiele für
Ihre Möglichkeiten

Ladezeiten testen

PRTG überwacht die Ladezeiten Ihrer Website dauerhaft. Dies ist insbesondere sinnvoll, wenn Sie international tätig sind und weltweit auf Ihre Website zugegriffen wird. Einen aktiven Ladezeiten-Test können Sie mit PRTG allerdings nicht aufsetzen. Wir haben allerdings hier eine Reihe von Ladezeit-Tests beschrieben.

Server testen

PRTG ist zwar kein Server-Performance-Test-Tool. Aber Sie können einen Performance-Test simulieren. Schreiben Sie zum Beispiel ein Script, lassen Sie es mit Hilfe eines benutzerdefinierten Script-Sensors in kurzen Abständen ausführen und messen Sie entsprechende Hardware-Parameter. Mehr Infos über Server Performance Monitoring.

Bandbreite testen

Wenn Sie die maximale Bandbreite testen würden, müssten Sie dafür Ihr Netzwerk lahmlegen. Das will kein Administrator. Testen Sie Ihre Bandbreite, in dem Sie kurze und kleine Lastspitzen erzeugen. Etwa durch den Download einer Datei alle paar Minuten bei gleichzeitiger Bandbreitenmessung. Hier mehr zum Thema Bandbreite.

 

So haben Sie Ihr Netzwerk immer im Blick –
auch von unterwegs

PRTG ist in wenigen Minuten eingerichtet und kann mit vielen verschiedenen Geräten genutzt werden.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG überwacht zentral viele verschiedene Anbieter, Systeme und Anwendungen!

 

 

Praxis-Tipp: „Hey Mathias, welchen Tipp würdest du einem Administrator geben, der seine Bandbreite überwachen will?“

„Anstatt zusätzlich über eine künstliche Auslastung zu versuchen, die Bandbreite zu messen, sollte man sich nach Aktionen umschauen, die das ohnehin tun – und diese dann überwachen. Zum Beispiel wenn man Backups durchführt, hat man häufig einhergehend eine starke Auslastung der Bandbreite und kann Engpässe oder Flaschenhälse gut erkennen.“

Mathias Hengl, PRTG-Entwickler bei der Paessler AG

 

Wie teste ich mein Netzwerk?
Drei Fragen zur Netzwerk Performance

 

Wie kann ich meine Windows-Geräte testen und überwachen?

Unser Monitoring Tool läuft über Windows und nutzt entsprechend die Windows-Technologie WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation) für Sensoren. Gleichzeitig können Sie aber auch Performance Counter und Flow-Technologien nutzen. Denn in vielen Netzwerken sind Geräte zahlreicher Hersteller integriert. Mehr über Windows Monitoring.

Wie kann ich meinen Jitter überprüfen?

Anlass für einen Netzwerk Performance Test ist häufig ein schlechter Jitter-Wert. Dem entsprechend wird auch nach passenden Jitter Tools gesucht. Bereits einzelne verspätete Pakete können zu Störungen bei der Übertragung führen. Mit unserer Software überwachen Sie den Jitter in Ihrem Netzwerk und werden bei Störungen entsprechend frühzeitig benachrichtigt. Mehr über Jitter.

 

Wie überwache ich meine
Cloud-Services?

Auch bei virtuellen Maschinen und Cloud-Anwendungen kommt es immer wieder zu Störungen. Ein einzelner Test bringt hier wenig. Durch ein dauerhaftes Monitoring sehen Sie, wann es bei Ihren Cloud-Anwendungen zu einer hohen Belastung und möglicherweise zu Ausfällen kommt. Lesen Sie hier, welche Sensoren Ihnen dabei helfen.

 

Weitere Netzwerk-Themen für Systemadministratoren  

Netzwerk Performance

Netzwerk Performance

Überwachen Sie die Leistung Ihres gesamten Netzwerks – unabhängig von einzelnen Tests. Alle Performance-Daten werden für Sie anschaulich aufbereitet. Über 95 Prozent unserer Kunden empfehlen PRTG weiter. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über Netzwerk Performance Monitoring mit unserem Tool.

LAN und WLAN im Blick

LAN und WLAN im Blick

Mit unserer Software sehen Sie jederzeit, ob Ihr LAN und WLAN stabil läuft. Sie haben alle Netzwerkaktivitäten im Blick. Rund um die Uhr. Auch bei verteilten Standorten. Hier mehr Infos zu LAN und WLAN/WIFI Überwachung.

IP SLA Monitoring.

IP SLA Monitoring

PRTG überwacht die Dienstgüte (Quality of Service) in Echtzeit. Und zwar unabhängig von der Hardware in Ihrem Netzwerk. Dazu zählt auch die Überwachung von Cisco-Geräten, die bei uns ebenfalls inklusive ist. Mehr über IP SLA Monitoring.

 


Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

 

PRTG The Swiss Army knife

PRTG: Das Schweizer Taschenmesser für Admins

Sie können PRTG durch die starke API individuell und dynamisch auf Ihre Situation anpassen:

  • HTTP-API: Greifen Sie mittels HTTP-Anfragen flexibel auf Ihre Monitoring-Daten zu und ändern Sie die Einstellungen der angelegten Objekte
  • Eigene Sensoren: Erstellen Sie eigene Sensoren - überwachen Sie damit quasi alles
  • Individuelle Benachrichtigungen: Richten Sie eigene Alarme ein, um sie an externe Systeme zu senden
  • REST Custom Sensor: Überwachen Sie alles, was XML oder JSON zur Verfügung stellt

 

Immer noch nicht überzeugt?

 

 

Über 300.000 Admins lieben PRTG

PRTG läuft in Unternehmen jeder Größe. Admins lieben die Software und haben einen angenehmeren Arbeitsalltag, da PRTG ihnen vielfach den Rücken freihält.

Immer noch nicht überzeugt?

 

Überwachen Sie Ihre gesamte IT

Bandbreite, Server-Auslastung, virtuelle Umgebungen, Webseiten oder VoIP-Services – mit PRTG behalten Sie den Überblick über
Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk.

 

 

Probieren Sie PRTG kostenlos aus

Anforderungen und Vorlieben sind individuell. Deshalb probieren Sie PRTG am besten einfach selbst aus. Starten Sie jetzt mit einer kostenlosen 30-tägigen Testversion.

 

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 21.2.67.1562 (21. April 2021)

Hosting

Verfügbar als Download für Windows und als gehostete Version

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Portugiesisch, Niederländisch, Russisch, Japanisch und vereinfachtes Chinesisch

Preis

Bis zu 100 Sensoren kostenlos (Preistabelle)

Unified Monitoring

Netzwerkgeräte, Bandbreite, Server, Software, Virtuelle Umgebungen, Remotesysteme, IoT und vieles mehr

Unterstützte Hersteller & Anwendungen

Mehr

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

Network performance testing:
How PRTG can help

 


  • PRTG monitors the performance of your network

  • PRTG notifies you in the event of malfunctions

  • PRTG uses ping, SNMP, and Flow technologies

  • PRTG is a centralized IT monitoring tool

  • PRTG is free of charge in its basic version

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

 

 

 

Speed vs. network performance:
What do you want to test?

Home use: Internet speed

If you're looking for a quick and easy way to test the speed of your Internet, then go with an online tool such as fast.com. This tool is operated by none other than Netflix. Many Internet users run speed tests at home to view their megabits per second when their streaming service gets bogged down.

 

Business use: Network performance

IT administrators, on the other hand, are in a completely different situation. They need to know more about the performance of their network. For example, their servers, routers, and switches – or the website and specific applications. When malfunctions occur in the network, the company immediately suffers and support inquiries go through the roof.

 

For a smooth-running network: More than 300,000 system administrators worldwide use these PRTG sensors

 

iWhat is a sensor?

In PRTG, “Sensors” are the basic monitoring elements. One sensor usually monitors one measured value in your network, e.g. the traffic of a switch port, the CPU load of a server, the free space of a disk drive. On average you need about 5-10 sensors per device or one sensor per switch port.

View video (3:26 min.)

 

Trusted by 300,000 users
and recognized by industry analysts as a leader

 

“Fantastic network and infrastructure monitoring solution that is easy to deploy and easier still to use. Simply the best available.”

Read more reviews

“Software is absolutely perfect, Support is superior. Meets all needs and requirements, This is a must have solution if you are needing any form of monitoring.”

Read more reviews

“The tool excels at its primary focus of being a unified infrastructure management and network monitoring service.”

Read more reviews

 


Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

Network performance testing: How PRTG can help – and when other tools are necessary   

Network performance testing

PRTG is not your usual network performance testing tool. It won’t let you run a one-time test as you would via the command prompt (e.g. with ping). A one-time test is often of little use. With PRTG, you monitor your bandwidth continuously and receive an alert if a threshold value is exceeded.

 

Network performance monitoring

Upon installing PRTG, the Auto Discovery feature automatically checks the reachability of all the devices in a given IP range and incorporates these devices into your monitoring environment. You can then create sensors to keep a constant eye on specific values associated with your devices.

 

Network performance analysis

PRTG provides you with all the key performance data on bandwidth, devices, and applications. For more in-depth analysis of specific data packets, you’ll need a special data analysis tool.

 

Network performance tools:
The advantages of PRTG

Centralized tool –

Centralized tool –
for a quick and easy
overview

With PRTG, you get one central monitoring tool for your entire IT infrastructure. Our software keeps a constant eye on hardware, traffic, and more. Sensors send all monitoring data to an easy-to-read dashboard.

Prompt alarm –

Prompt alarm
for prompt
reactions

If a malfunction occurs, our tool will notify you at once. All notification threshold values are customizable. You can therefore take action quickly – before the network goes down.

Compatible with all manufacturers

Compatible with all manufacturers –
for greater ease of use

Our network tool is compatible with all the biggest manufacturers, including HP, Dell, Juniper, Cisco, and many more. With PRTG, you no longer need to monitor devices one-by-one but can keep an eye on the performance of your entire network from one central interface.

 


Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

Examples of network testing with PRTG

Testing load times

PRTG continually monitors the load times of your website. This is especially useful if you do business abroad and your website is accessed by users worldwide. It’s not possible to set up a live load time test with PRTG. For more information, please see our page on website load tests.

Testing servers

PRTG is not a server performance testing tool per se, but it can be used to simulate a performance test. For example: write a script, let it run in short intervals with the help of a user-defined script sensor, then measure the corresponding hardware parameters.

More on server performance monitoring

Testing bandwidth

Testing for maximum bandwidth would cause your network to freeze up. No administrator wants that. Instead, test your bandwidth by generating small and short spikes in the load. For example: download a file every few minutes and simultaneously measure your bandwidth.

More on bandwidth

 

Quickly see if PRTG is working –
even while on the go

PRTG can be started within minutes and it's compatible with many mobile devices.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG monitors these vendors and applications, and more, in one view!

 

 

Practical tip: “Hey Mathias, what would you tell administrators who wish to monitor their bandwidth?”

“Instead of trying to measure bandwidth by way of an extra, simulated load, you should have a look around for actions which do that anyway – and then monitor them. For example, when you perform backups, you often put great strain on the bandwidth and can thus easily recognize shortages or bottlenecks.”

Mathias Hengl, PRTG developer at Paessler AG

 

How do I test my network?
3 questions on network performance

How can I test and monitor my Windows devices?

PRTG runs on Windows. Its sensors use the Windows technology WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation) to monitor Windows devices. You can also use performance counters and Flow technologies as many networks contain devices from a variety of different manufacturers.

More on Windows monitoring

How can I test my jitter?


A high jitter value is often a good reason for a network performance test. You’ll need a suitable jitter tool to run a jitter test. A single delayed packet can lead to disruptions during a transmission. PRTG monitors the jitter in your network and immediately notifies you in the event of disruptions.

More on jitter

How do I monitor my Cloud services?

Virtual machines and Cloud applications are also prone to their fair share of errors. Individual tests won't tell you much. By keeping a constant eye on your network with a tool like PRTG, you can immediately see if Cloud applications are strained or about to crash. Learn more about Cloud monitoring sensors here.

 

Other network-related topics for system administrators  

Network performance

Network performance

With PRTG, you can monitor the performance of your entire network without having to run individual tests. All performance data is presented on an easy-to-read dashboard. Over 95% of our customers recommend PRTG.

More on network performance monitoring with PRTG

LAN and WLAN monitoring

LAN and WLAN monitoring

PRTG lets you check the status of your LAN and WLAN at a glance. It keeps an eye on all the activity in your network. Around the clock. Even in distributed networks.

More on LAN and WLAN/Wi-Fi monitoring

IP SLA Monitoring.

IP SLA monitoring

PRTG monitors quality of service in real time, regardless of the hardware in your network. Our software even monitors Cisco devices at no extra charge.

More on IP SLA monitoring

 


Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

 

PRTG: The swiss army knife for sys admins

Adapt PRTG individually and dynamically to your needs relying on a strong API:

  • HTTP API: Access monitoring data and manipulate monitoring objects using HTTP requests
  • Custom Sensors: Create your own sensors for customized monitoring
  • Custom Notifications: Create your own notifications to send alarms to external systems
  • New REST API Sensor: Monitor almost everything that provides XML or JSON

 

PAESSLER AG –
German quality
engineering

Free Download
  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime

 

Made in Germany: The PRTG Network Monitoring Tool is the fruit of an engaged team. The company was founded by Dirk Paessler. The Paessler AG headquarters are located in the city of Nuremberg, in the heart of Germany. We combine typical German virtues such as high quality standards, industriousness, and commitment with international, cosmopolitan flair. Read more about our firm here. By the way: We are regularly looking for new recruits.

Case Studies: Airports, utility companies, banks, colleges, hospitals: PRTG is present in every industry. For each of our customers, business and organizational processes depend on the proper functioning of the network infrastructure. The PRTG customer satisfaction is close to 100%. Read in our case studies how our customers use PRTG.

Product tests: It goes without saying that we are convinced by the quality of PRTG. But what about the others? PRTG has always performed extremely well in tests. PRTG user “LanLine” sums it up best: “PRTG was already good several years ago, and has gotten better from version to version ever since.” Such has been our steadfast and sincere goal. Read more about monitoring software product tests and comparisons here.

Support: Our support team works hard every day to help customers solve their monitoring problems. Our goal is to resolve all inquiries within 24 hours (on business days). We've drafted a comprehensive manual and built up an extensive knowledge base featuring videos, webinars, and FAQs. All support, of course, is also included!

Getting started is easy: The trial version is free, which means you can try our monitoring tool risk-free. To switch to another version of PRTG, simply search for an appropriate license. You can upgrade any time you like.

 

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 20.4.63.1412 (October 20th, 2020)

Hosting

Download for Windows and hosted version available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more

Supported Vendors & Applications

More

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.