Détection réseau avec PRTG

  • Identification automatique des appareils réseau
  • Supervision réseau en continu
  • Supervision multisites
  • Détection immédiate des nouveaux appareils
  • Système d'alarme personnalisable


TÉLÉCHARGEMENT GRATUIT
  • Version illimitée de PRTG pour 30 jours
  • Après 30 jours, PRTG revient à la version gratuite
  • Ou, vous pouvez évoluer vers une licence payante


Détectez et supervisez automatiquement vos appareils réseau :

On vous explique comment faire en deux minutes !

 

Trois raisons de dresser un état des lieux de votre réseau

Comment inventorier tous les appareils présents sur mon réseau ? Tôt ou tard, tout administrateur est appelé à répondre cette question.
En général, il y a trois raisons qui peuvent inciter un professionnel à dresser un état des lieux de son réseau :

Inventaire
du réseau

Dans toutes les entreprises, les administrateurs font des inventaires à intervalles réguliers. Cette démarche est motivée par une volonté d’obtenir une vue d’ensemble du réseau, mais aussi par des raisons de sécurité. En effet, l’inventaire permet de déterminer si des appareils privés indésirables sont connectés au réseau.

Expansion
du réseau

Une entreprise en pleine croissance voit son réseau observer la même trajectoire. De nombreux administrateurs sont ainsi amenés à étendre progressivement leurs réseaux. Dans cette optique, les appareils réseau doivent correctement routés pour que le réseau demeure stable et efficace.

Coûts de fonctionnement du réseau

Les services comptables tendent de plus en plus à garder à l’œil les réseaux. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel que tous les coûts liés aux appareils réseau, à leur maintenance et à leurs licences soient dûment enregistrés. Pour ce faire, les administrateurs doivent jouir d’une vue d’ensemble de leur parc matériel et logiciel. D’où l’utilité d’effectuer un inventaire de l’existant.

Six raisons de faire de PRTG votre outil de supervision des appareils réseau

Détection automatique de l’existant

La fonction auto-détection de PRTG vous permet d’établir facilement l’état des lieux du réseau. Elle va identifier automatiquement tous les appareils réseau situés dans une plage d’adresses IP, puis les intégrer à votre périmètre de supervision.

Détection de nouveaux appareils

Quand vous ouvrez PRTG pour la première fois, de nouveaux appareils sont automatiquement détectés et configurés. PRTG vous permet de créer votre propre calendrier et ainsi de procéder à une détection automatique à la fréquence de votre choix, qu’elle soit quotidienne, hebdomadaire ou mensuelle. À chaque fois, vous recevrez un ticket et un email. Ainsi, vous serez en mesure de surveiller en permanence ce qui se passe sur votre réseau.

Supervision réseau en continu

PRTG surveille votre réseau 24h/24, 365 jours par an – et pas seulement à intervalles aléatoires. Vous avez ainsi l’assurance de ne pas rater les appareils qui auraient été éteints lors d’un scan ponctuel.

Des alertes en cas de dysfonctionnement du réseau

Avec PRTG, vous avez l'assurance d'être immédiatement prévenu au moindre problème. Grâce à nos alertes, vous pouvez réagir sans perdre une seconde et ainsi éviter des perturbations plus dommageables. Le système d’alarme est entièrement paramétrable et donc conçu pour s’adapter parfaitement aux besoins qui vous sont propres.

Détection réseau multisites

Grâce à PRTG, la détection et la supervision d’appareils réseau disséminés sur plusieurs sites deviennent un jeu d’enfant. La supervision centralisée de lieux dispersés se fait via des sondes distantes fonctionnant comme un service Windows, c'est-à-dire grâce à un serveur situé sur chacun des sites concernés.

Vue d’ensemble de tous les appareils réseau

Chaque appareil réseau est représenté par PRTG au sein d’une arborescence. Depuis un tableau de bord conçu pour faciliter la compréhension des informations, vous pouvez vérifier le statut de votre réseau et de chacun des appareils à travers un système de feux tricolores. Le tableau de bord est accessible depuis votre PC, mais aussi via l’application, ce qui vous permet de rester informé lors de vos déplacements.

Voici comment votre console de surveillance
pourrait se présenter !

AU Wireless

www.auwireless.net

« Grâce à PRTG, nous n'avons plus à nous soucier de notre réseau. Forts d'un puissant logiciel qui vérifie l'état de centaines d'appareils réseau toutes les 30 secondes, nous pouvons vaquer à nos occupations en toute tranquillité. PRTG est tellement fiable que nous en venons presque à oublier son existence - jusqu'à ce qu'il se rappelle à notre bon souvenir en nous signalant un souci. »

Chadwick Wachs, Président d’Au Wireless. Lire le cas client

Aperçu de l'analyse du réseau avec PRTG

 

Fonction auto-détection : mode d’emploi en trois étapes


La fonction auto-détection détecte de façon rapide et pratique tous vos appareils réseau. PRTG représente automatiquement les appareils au sein d’une arborescence réseau, avant de les doter de capteurs. La fonction auto-détection fait l’objet d’une description détaillée dans le manuel de PRTG. Pour l’utiliser, voici la marche à suivre.

Étape 1 :

Renseignez la plage d’adresses IP au sein de laquelle PRTG devra chercher les appareils réseau. Ensuite, lancez l’auto-détection ; PRTG utilisera le Ping pour détecter tous les appareils situés dans cette plage IP.

Étape 2 :

Ensuite, exécutez un scan pour identifier les types d’appareils qui ont été détectés. Les capteurs adaptés seront créés de façon automatique. Pour ce faire, PRTG s’appuie sur SNMP, WMI et d’autres protocoles.

Étape 3 :

Tous les appareils trouvés par PRTG sont ensuite représentés au sein d’une arborescence. Pour ce faire, PRTG utilise des templates conçus pour différents appareils. Microsoft, Cisco, Dell, Juniper… ils correspondant aux appareils de tous les grands fabricants.

Des résultats immédiats

PRTG configure le dispositif de surveillance réseau automatiquement et en quelques minutes, après quoi vous pourrez affiner ce mécanisme de base quand vous en aurez le loisir. Et bien que la durée d’exécution de l’auto-détection dépende de la taille de la plage IP spécifiée, du nombre d’appareils trouvés, de la connexion réseau et d’autres facteurs de latence, vous n’avez plus rien à faire une fois qu’elle est lancée, si ce n’est régler quelques paramètres (comme les identifiants de connexion).

PRTG vous simplifie la vie!

Laissez votre logiciel surveiller vos réseau.
Ceci vous permettra de vous consacrer à des problèmes plus importants.

 

Un gain de temps

Avec PRTG, vous disposez d’un seul et même outil de surveillance pour tout le hardware de votre entreprise. Grâce à notre tableau de bord et à nos applications, vous pourrez d’un coup d’œil vérifier que tout est en ordre sur l’ensemble de votre réseau, à tout moment et depuis n’importe quel endroit.

Un gage de sérénité

Personnaliser PRTG est simple comme bonjour. L'accès à PRTG ou le changement à partir d'un autre outil de surveillance sont possibles grâce à la fonction de découverte automatique et de pré-configuration de PRTG.

Un vecteur d'économies

80 % de nos clients ont réalisé des économies importantes, sinon considérables, dans le domaine de la gestion réseau. L'expérience montre que le coût des licences ont été rentabilisés en seulement quelques semaines.

 

Votre réseau d’un coup d’œil
– même en déplacement

 

PRTG est configuré en quelques minutes et est compatible avec de nombreux appareils.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG permet de surveiller de nombreux fournisseurs de logiciel en un seul endroit!

 

200 000 administrateurs dans le monde ont choisi
de faire confiance à notre logiciel.

Ici nous avons compilé quelques commentaires pour vous.

 

 

  • Version illimitée de PRTG pour 30 jours
  • Après 30 jours, PRTG revient à la version gratuite
  • Ou, vous pouvez évoluer vers une licence payante

Zoom sur six capteurs pratiques

iQu'est-ce qu'un capteur ?

Les "capteurs" sont les éléments de supervision de base de PRTG. Un capteur surveille généralement une valeur mesurée dans votre réseau, par exemple le trafic d'un port de commutateur, la charge du processeur d'un serveur, l'espace libre d'un lecteur de disque. Vous devez compter en moyenne de 5 à 10 capteurs par appareil ou d'un capteur par port de commutateur.

Voyez la vidéo (3:26 min, anglais)

 

Capteur Ping :

Le capteur Ping, qui compte parmi les plus utilisés de PRTG, vérifie la disponibilité de chacun des appareils présents sur votre réseau et affiche leur temps de réponse. Le capteur Ping Cloud est également très apprécié de nos utilisateurs. Plus d’informations sur la surveillance réseau via Ping

Capteurs SNMP

Les capteurs SNMP vous montrent quelles applications sollicitent le plus vos serveurs et votre bande passante. Le protocole SNMP est extrêmement fiable et n’induit qu’une charge modérée sur le système. Plus d’informations sur la surveillance réseau via SNMP

Capteurs WMI

Si vous possédez des appareils de marque Microsoft, vous pouvez utiliser nos capteurs WMI. Accessible depuis un onglet dédié, la fonction « Informations système » fournit, comme son nom l’indique, de précieuses informations sur les systèmes Windows, le matériel et les logiciels installés, et bien plus encore. Plus d’informations sur la surveillance réseau via WMI

Capteur de reniflage de paquets

Le capteur de reniflage de paquets de PRTG supervise le trafic de données sur votre réseau et peut filtrer les résultats pour afficher uniquement le trafic lié à la messagerie, aux transferts de fichiers ou encore à l’infrastructure, pour ne citer que ces trois exemples. Plus d’informations sur le reniflage de paquets

Capteurs NetFlow

Le protocole NetFlow est fait avant tout pour les routeurs et commutateurs Cisco. PRTG est compatible avec toutes les versions de NetFlow. Plus d’informations sur la surveillance réseau via NetFlow

Capteurs jFlow

jFlow permet de surveiller des appareils Juniper Networks, entre autres. Ici aussi, vous pouvez configurer des appareils spécialement pour PRTG. jFlow présente de grandes similitudes avec NetFlow5. Pour en savoir plus sur le capteur jFlow, rendez-vous ici.

 

Une solution maintes fois primée

Nous travaillons sans relâche pour proposer à nos clients un logiciel
aussi puissant et simple d’utilisation que possible.
Bien sûr, nous sommes fiers de voir nos efforts récompensés de temps à autre.

 

PRTG Auszeichnungen

Plus de 95 % de nos clients recommandent PRTG

 

Paessler AG a fait parvenir une enquête détaillée à plus de 600 services informatiques utilisant PRTG aux quatre
coins du monde. L'objectif de l'opération était de recueillir des retours en vue d'optimiser et d'affiner
notre logiciel de surveillance réseau et ainsi de répondre au mieux aux besoins des administrateurs.
Dans le cadre de l'étude, plus de 95 % des participants ont indiqué qu'ils recommanderaient volontiers PRTG ou l'avaient déjà fait.

Recommend PRTG

PRTG est essentiel pour garder votre informatique en forme !

Les coûts engendrés pour une licence PRTG d'un an sont déjà rentabilisés en seulement quelques semaines.
Les coûts de licence varient en fonction de la taille de votre réseau.

PRTG rend votre réseau plus fiable

PRTG vous économise des frais de gestion du réseau

PRTG vous économise du temps de gestion du réseau

 

Détectez les boucles réseau avec PRTG



Une boucle réseau ou de commutation peut nuire aux performances de votre réseau, ou même le faire planter complètement. Les capteurs de reniflage de paquets et les capteurs NetFlow de PRTG vous aideront à identifier les boucles réseau en vous signalant la récurrence de l’apparition de paquets de données en doublon, par exemple. Ces capteurs vérifient les paquets de données entrants et filtrent le trafic par adresse IP par protocole et par types de données.

« Cher Dirk, que pensez-vous de la surveillance réseau ? »

« Faute d'un outil de surveillance réseau, on peut passer des heures à chercher la source d'une panne réseau, comme un routeur qui ne fonctionne pas comme il se doit. Au bout du compte, ce temps peut représenter un coût substantiel pour l'entreprise affectée. Avec un service de surveillance réseau, la fréquence des interruptions de service peut être minimisée, et bien souvent éradiquée à la source. À travers PRTG, notre outil de surveillance, nous aspirons à simplifier le quotidien des administrateurs réseau de sorte qu'ils puissent gagner en efficacité, mais aussi en tranquillité d'esprit, dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions. »

Dirk Paessler, fondateur de Paessler AG

Scanners réseau vs. PRTG : Points communs et différences

Scanners
réseau

Nombreux sont les administrateurs qui recherchent de simples scanners réseau ou des outils purement dédiés à l’analyse des réseaux. Dans ce cas-là, l’objectif n’est pas de mettre en place un système de supervision, mais de détecter les appareils présents aussi vite et facilement que possible. Nous avons nous aussi utilisé ces outils, comme « Angry IP Scanner », quand notre entreprise s’est installée dans ses nouveaux locaux.

Surveillance
réseau

PRTG est un outil de supervision réseau des plus complets. La détection des appareils réseau est la première étape de la constitution du dispositif de supervision, mais PRTG est bien plus qu’un scanner réseau. Avec votre logiciel, vous pouvez superviser des serveurs, des bases de données, des sites web et bien plus encore. PRTG est muni de capteurs configurés par défaut pour fonctionner avec les appareils de divers fabricants, dont Cisco, Dell et HP.

Des outils complémentaires

PRTG ne doit pas être considéré comme une alternative à un scanner réseau pur. Les deux se prêtent à des usages différents. Certes, PRTG est capable d’assurer toutes les tâches d’un outil de scan réseau. Pour autant, il est d’autres circonstances dans lesquels il vaut mieux faire appel à des outils plus simples, comme quand on effectue un test pour obtenir non pas des données de supervision détaillées, mais une vue d’ensemble.

PRTG: le couteau suisse des administrateurs système

PRTG s'adapte de façon dynamique à vos différents besoins grâce à une puissante API :

  • API HTTP : Accédez aux données de surveillance et contrôlez les objets surveillés à l'aide de requêtes HTTP
  • Capteurs personnalisés : Créez vos propres capteurs pour une surveillance réseau personnalisée
  • Notifications personnalisées : Créez vos propres notifications pour transmettre des alertes aux systèmes externes
  • Nouveau capteur API REST : surveillez presque tout ce qui fournit XML ou JSON


Eine Standardinstallation von PRTG besteht aus Server und Local Probe

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus ? Jetez un œil ici !


Livre blanc - Analyser et superviser des réseaux distribués

Bon nombre d’entreprises possèdent des bureaux sur plusieurs sites géographiques. Les sondes distantes de PRTG vous permettent de superviser tous les sites que relie le réseau depuis une console centrale. Dans notre livre blanc, nous décrivons l’architecture de PRTG et examinons différents scénarios de topologie réseau. Consulter le livre blanc

Supervision IP SLA

PRTG contrôle la qualité de vos connexions VoIP. En prévenant les dysfonctionnements et en contrôlant les accords de niveau de service, vous gagnez du temps et réalisez des économies. En savoir plus sur la supervision IP SLA.

PAESSLER AG - La
qualité « Made in
Germany »

TÉLÉCHARGEMENT GRATUIT
  • Version illimitée de PRTG pour 30 jours
  • Après 30 jours, PRTG revient à la version gratuite
  • Ou, vous pouvez évoluer vers une licence payante

 

La qualité « Made in Germany » : L'outil de supervision réseau et informatique PRTG est le fruit du travail d'une équipe investie. Fondée par Dirk Paessler, Paessler AG est établie à Nuremberg, au centre de l'Allemagne. Notre culture d'entreprise est la fusion de qualités typiquement allemandes comme l'exigence de l'excellence, la méticulosité et l'engagement et d'une approche plus internationale et cosmopolite. Pour toute information complémentaire sur notre entreprise, veuillez cliquer ici. Au passage, veuillez noter qu'il nous arrive régulièrement de rechercher de nouvelles recrues.

Études de cas : Des aéroports aux entreprises de services publics, en passant par les institutions bancaires, les universités ou encore les hôpitaux, PRTG est présent dans tous les secteurs d'activité. Pour chacun de nos clients, la bonne marche des processus de travail dépend étroitement du fonctionnement de l'infrastructure réseau. Le taux de satisfaction des clients de PRTG est proche des 100 %. Pour en savoir plus, découvrez dans nos études de cas comment nos clients tirent parti de PRTG.

Test produits : Il va sans dire que nous sommes intimement convaincus de la qualité de PRTG. Mais qu'en est-il des autres ? PRTG a l'habitude de se distinguer sur les bancs d'essai. De tous ses utilisateurs, c'est peut-être l'entreprise LanLine qui résume le mieux les choses en disant : « PRTG était déjà très au point il y a quelques années et n'a cessé de s'améliorer au fil des versions. » Telle est notre ambition la plus sincère depuis nos débuts. Découvrez ici les tests produits et comparatifs auxquels PRTG a pris part.

Assistance technique : Notre assistance technique est tous les jours sur le pied de guerre pour aider les clients à résoudre leurs problèmes de supervision. Nous nous efforçons de répondre aux demandes de renseignements en un jour ouvré. En complément, nous avons élaboré à votre intention un manuel complet, auquel s'ajoute une base de connaissances exhaustive rassemblant des vidéos, des webinaires et des FAQ. Toutes les prestations d'assistance technique sont, cela va sans dire, comprises dans le prix de PRTG !

Une prise en main des plus simples : La version d'essai vous permettra de vous faire une idée précise des capacités de notre outil de supervision sans vous engager à quoi que ce soit. Pour mettre à niveau le logiciel, il suffit de rechercher la licence la mieux adaptée. Vous pouvez en changer à tout moment. 

PRTG

Logiciel de supervision réseau - Version 19.4.52.3515 (October 10th, 2019)

Hébergement

Téléchargement disponible pour Windows et en version hébergée

Langues disponibles

Anglais, Allemand, Espagnol, Français, Portugais, Néerlandais, Russe, Japonais, et Chinois Simplifié

Prix

Gratuit jusqu’à 100 capteurs (Liste de prix)

Unified Monitoring

Les périphériques réseau, la bande passante, les serveurs, les applications, les environnements virtuels, les systèmes à distance, l’IdO et bien plus

Vendeurs et applications pris en charge

Plus

PRTG displays and monitors
all the devices in your network

 


  • Locate network devices automatically


  • Monitor all devices continuously


  • Detect new network devices


  • Use PRTG as a network discovery tool 


  • Customizable alarm system included

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

 

 

 

Discover and monitor network devices automatically:

We'll show you how in 2 short minutes!

 
 

Three reasons for taking stock of your network

How do I find all my network devices? Sooner or later, every administrator must tackle this question.
In general, there are three reasons for taking stock of your network with a network discovery tool:

 Netzwerk-Inventur

Network inventory

Administrators perform regular inventories in their companies. These inventories are not only done to get an overview of the network, but also for security reasons: An inventory will let you see if unwanted private devices are connected to your network.

 Netzwerk ausbauen

Network expansion

When a company grows, so does its network. Many administrators are faced with the task of gradually expanding their networks. When doing so, network devices must be routed correctly to ensure the network remains stable and efficient.

 Netzwerk-Kosten

Network costs

Increasingly, accounting departments are also keeping an eye on networks. It is important that all costs associated with network devices, maintenance, and licenses be recorded. To do so, administrators must have an overview of their hardware and software. Taking stock of the network can help.

 

Six good reasons
to choose PRTG
to monitor your
network devices

Automatic stock taking

The PRTG Auto Discovery feature makes it easy to take stock of a network. This feature will automatically find all the network devices within an IP address range, and then integrate them into your monitoring.

Discovery of new devices

When opening PRTG for the first time, new devices will be detected and set up automatically. PRTG lets you create your own timetable: run the discovery automatically, either daily, weekly, or monthly. Each time, you’ll receive a ticket and an e-mail. And that means you’ll be able to keep a constant eye on what’s going on in your network.

Nonstop network monitoring

PRTG monitors your network 24 hours a day, 365 days per year - and not just at irregular intervals. You’ll therefore be able to discover those devices which may have been turned off during a one-time scan.

Alerts when the network malfunctions

At the slightest problem, you’ll be notified at once. Our alerts enable you to act quickly and avoid more serious disruptions. The alarm system is individually customizable.

Cross-locational network discovery

PRTG makes it easy to discover and monitor network devices that are spread out over several different locations. The centralized monitoring of distributed sites functions via remote probes, which run as a Windows service on a server in each of the respective locations.

Overview of all network devices

Each network device is set up by PRTG in a device tree. A simple and easy-to-understand dashboard illustrates the status of your network and of each individual device by way of a traffic light system. The dashboard is available on your desktop, or as an app for when you’re out of the office.

 
AU Wireless

www.auwireless.net

“Thanks to PRTG, we no longer need to worry about our network. We can sit back and relax knowing that powerful software is checking hundreds of network devices every 30 seconds. PRTG is so reliable that we almost always forget it is there – until we receive a message that something is wrong.”

Chadwick Wachs, Owner of Au Wireless. To the case study

 

Your monitoring dashboard might look like this!

 

 

How the PRTG Auto Discovery feature works, in three steps

 

 

i Ping is a command-line utility, available on virtually any operating system with network connectivity, that acts as a test to see if a networked device is reachable. The ping command sends a request over the network to a specific device. A successful ping results in a response from the computer that was pinged back to the originating computer.
Read more


The Auto Discovery feature provides for the quick and convenient detection of all your network devices. PRTG automatically sets up devices in the network tree, and then equips them with sensors. Auto Discovery is described in detail in the PRTG manual. This is how it works:

Step 1

Enter the IP address range within which PRTG should search for network devices. Then launch the Auto Discovery feature; PRTG will use ping to find all the devices located within this IP range.


Step 2

Next run a scan to identify the types of devices which were found. Appropriate sensors will be created automatically. To do so, PRTG uses SNMP, WMI, and other protocols.


Step 3

All devices found by PRTG are then set up in a device tree. PRTG uses a number of device templates for this process. Whether Microsoft, Cisco, Dell, or Juniper: Corresponding devices are available for all the big manufacturers.

Quick results

PRTG sets up your network monitoring automatically and within minutes. You can fine-tune this initial monitoring over time. And while the runtime of Auto Discovery depends on the size of the designated IP range, the number of devices found, your network connection, and some other latency factors, once it is launched there is nothing else for you to do except adjust a few of its settings (such as “credentials”).

 

Trusted by 200.000 users
and recognized by industry analysts as a leader

“Fantastic network and infrastructure monitoring solution that is easy to deploy and easier still to use. Simply the best available.”

Read more reviews

“Software is absolutely perfect, Support is superior. Meets all needs and requirements, This is a must have solution if you are needing any form of monitoring.”

Read more reviews

“The tool excels at its primary focus of being a unified infrastructure management and network monitoring service.”

Read more reviews

 

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

Your Network at a glance
– even on the go

PRTG can be started within minutes and it's compatible with many mobile devices.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG monitors these vendors and applications, and more, in one view!

 

 

PRTG simplifies your day

Our monitoring software works for you and promptly notifies you of potential issues.
It frees you to concentrate on your day-to-day tasks with peace of mind.

 

PRTG saves time

With PRTG, you get one central monitoring tool for your servers and entire network. Enjoy a quick overview of your whole infrastructure via our dashboard and app.

PRTG saves worry

Customizing PRTG is a breeze. Getting started or switching from another network monitoring tool is easy thanks to the PRTG auto-discovery and pre-configured device templates.

PRTG saves money

80% of our customers report substantial or even exceptional cost savings in the area of network monitoring. The experience shows that the costs for licenses have paid for themselves within a matter of weeks.

 

 

Six handy PRTG sensors

iWhat is a sensor?

In PRTG, “Sensors” are the basic monitoring elements. One sensor usually monitors one measured value in your network, e.g. the traffic of a switch port, the CPU load of a server, the free space of a disk drive. On average you need about 5-10 sensors per device or one sensor per switch port.

View video (3:26 min.)

Ping Sensor

The Ping Sensor verifies the availability of each and every device in your network. One of the most commonly used PRTG sensors, the Ping Sensor also displays ping time. The Cloud Ping Sensor is also used frequently. More on ping monitoring

SNMP sensors

SNMP sensors show you which applications are putting the most strain on your servers and bandwidth. SNMP is extremely reliable and takes up very little system load. More on SNMP monitoring

WMI sensors

For Microsoft devices, you can use our WMI sensors. The “System Information” feature, which is built into an extra tab, provides information on Windows systems, installed hardware and software, and much more. More on WMI monitoring

Packet Sniffer Sensor

The PRTG Packet Sniffer Sensor monitors the data traffic in your network, and can filter according to mail traffic, file transfer traffic, and infrastructure traffic, among others. More on packet sniffing

NetFlow sensors

The NetFlow protocol is mainly supported by Cisco routers and Cisco switches. PRTG supports all NetFlow versions. More on NetFlow monitoring

jFlow sensors

jFlow lets you monitor Juniper Networks hardware, among others. Here too you can configure devices especially for PRTG. It features a high degree of similarity to NetFlow5. Find out more about our jFlow sensor

 

 

Our software at a glance: Search your network, find
 and monitor devices  

 

 

Network discovery in Windows and in PRTG:
What’s the difference?

Network discovery in Windows

Network discovery is used in Windows to enable a specific network device. A network printer, for example. It’s up to the sysadmin to add individual devices to the network. If you look at the overview in Windows, you won’t find any devices that have not been enabled by the administrator. Windows offers a variety of network profiles with individual enabling options for this process.

Network discovery in PRTG

PRTG locates all the devices that are active and reachable via ping within a certain IP range. Once they are found, these devices are automatically added to your monitoring environment. A network search is therefore the beginning of the monitoring process. If you’re not interested in monitoring and would rather just perform a quick scan of your network, then a tool like Angry IP Scanner would be your best bet. To learn more, check out the section on network scanning.

 

Detect network loops
with PRTG


A network or switching loop can have a negative impact on the performance of your network. Such a loop may even lead to an outright network crash. The PRTG Packet Sniffer and NetFlow sensors will help you identify network loops, by highlighting the frequent appearance of duplicate data packets, for example. These sensors monitor incoming data packets, and filter traffic according to IP addresses, protocols, and data types.

 

“Hey Dirk, what do you think about network monitoring?”

“Without network monitoring, it can easily take several hours to locate a network error, such as identifying a router which isn't working properly. Costs can quickly pile up due to unused man days. With a monitoring service, the amount of downtime can be minimized and in many cases even proactively eliminated. With our PRTG monitoring tool, we hope to simplify the job of administrators so they can go about their work efficiently and with less stress.”

Dirk Paessler, founder of Paessler AG

 

Network scanners vs. PRTG:
Similarities and differences

Network scanners

Many administrators are in search of simple network scanners or tools that are 100% dedicated to network discovery. In such cases, it’s not about setting up monitoring, but discovering available devices as quickly and easily as possible. We too have used these tools in the past, such as “Angry IP Scanner,” when our company moved into its new offices.

Network monitoring

PRTG is a comprehensive network monitoring tool. Device discovery is the first step to the setting up of monitoring. PRTG offers considerably more than a simple network scanner. With PRTG, you can monitor servers, databases, websites, and much more. PRTG comes with pre-configured sensors for a number of different manufacturers, including Cisco, HP, and Dell.

Complementary tools

PRTG should not be seen as a rival to a simple scanner. Each is used in different circumstances. PRTG is convenient for taking over the tasks of scanner tools. On the other hand, some situations call for a simpler tool, such as for a short test when you don’t need detailed monitoring but only a quick overview.

 

 

Find devices: Searching your network via the command line

 

The command line – still in use today 

Many sysadmins use the command line. The command line is still the quickest way to run a general test on something in your network. The alternative – finding, installing, and getting the hang of a suitable network discovery tool – takes a whole lot longer, even if you plan on using the tool more frequently in the future. The command line is also useful for home networks.

Checking availability via ping

The ping command “ping IP ADDRESS” checks whether your target device is available. You can repeat the ping command manually or use a loop to ping an entire range of devices. However, repeated commands can cause problems with your firewall. If you need to check several devices, it makes more sense to use a suitable network discovery tool.

 

Over 95% of our customers recommend PRTG

 

Paessler AG worldwide trialled PRTG in over 600 IT departments.
The aim was to tune the network monitoring software closer to the needs of the administrators.
The result of the survey: over 95% of the participants would recommend PRTG - or already had.

Recommend PRTG

 

When devices malfunction, you need a tool that provides an overview of your network

Router

Many networks contain routers from a variety of different manufacturers. Some routers are used more heavily than others, and still others are outdated. PRTG monitors all your routers from one central location. It not only checks for traffic and bandwidth, but also the state of the actual device. Fans, temperatures, power supplies…in the event of a malfunction, you’ll be notified at once. By the way, PRTG also monitors Cisco devices.

Switches

Switches are vital network interfaces. If just one switch fails, this can have a serious impact on your network connections and lead to disruptions in your entire network. As with routers, our software is compatible with all the most popular switch manufacturers, including Cisco, HP, Juniper, Dell, Huawei, and more. With PRTG, you can monitor all your switches from one central location.

Server

Mail servers, database servers, virtual servers, web servers: When a server crashes, the IT helpline is immediately flooded with calls. Our software lets you monitor every aspect of your servers. PRTG monitors both server hardware and server traffic. As a result, it makes your network a lot more stable. PRTG protects your company from noticeable disruptions and downtime.

VoIP

VoIP is extremely popular. But why does it seem to always be crashing? The reason may be poor quality of service (QoS). When using VoIP, you’ll need a tool that can check for latency, packet loss, and jitter. PRTG measures and monitors your QoS and helps you make necessary improvements. As a result, you’ll increase the quality of your VoIP.

Firewall

A firewall must always be up-to-date and never be disabled. Our software is perfect for monitoring your firewalls. If a firewall malfunctions, you’ll be notified at once. PRTG also checks for available firewall updates and verifies whether such updates have been installed in your system. 

 

PRTG: The swiss army knife for sys admins

Adapt PRTG individually and dynamically to your needs relying on a strong API:

  • HTTP API: Access monitoring data and manipulate monitoring objects using HTTP requests
  • Custom Sensors: Create your own sensors for customized monitoring
  • Custom Notifications: Create your own notifications to send alarms to external systems
  • New REST API Sensor: Monitor almost everything that provides XML or JSON

 

Want to learn more? Please do!

White paper: Discovering and monitoring distributed networks

Many companies have offices in several different locations. The remote probes of PRTG let you monitor all your network locations centrally. In our white paper, we explain the architecture behind PRTG and explore specific network topology scenarios. 

To the white paper

IP SLA monitoring

 

PRTG monitors the quality of your VoIP-connections. By preventing malfunctions and verifying service level agreements, you’ll save time and money. 

Read more
 

PAESSLER AG –
German quality
engineering

Free Download
  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime

 

Made in Germany: The PRTG Network Monitoring Tool is the fruit of an engaged team. The company was founded by Dirk Paessler. The Paessler AG headquarters are located in the city of Nuremberg, in the heart of Germany. We combine typical German virtues such as high quality standards, industriousness, and commitment with international, cosmopolitan flair. Read more about our firm here. By the way: We are regularly looking for new recruits.

Case Studies: Airports, utility companies, banks, colleges, hospitals: PRTG is present in every industry. For each of our customers, business and organizational processes depend on the proper functioning of the network infrastructure. The PRTG customer satisfaction is close to 100%. Read in our case studies how our customers use PRTG.

Product tests: It goes without saying that we are convinced by the quality of PRTG. But what about the others? PRTG has always performed extremely well in tests. PRTG user “LanLine” sums it up best: “PRTG was already good several years ago, and has gotten better from version to version ever since.” Such has been our steadfast and sincere goal. Read more about monitoring software product tests and comparisons here.

Support: Our support team works hard every day to help customers solve their monitoring problems. Our goal is to resolve all inquiries within 24 hours (on business days). We've drafted a comprehensive manual and built up an extensive knowledge base featuring videos, webinars, and FAQs. All support, of course, is also included!

Getting started is easy: The trial version is free, which means you can try our monitoring tool risk-free. To switch to another version of PRTG, simply search for an appropriate license. You can upgrade any time you like.

 

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 20.2.58.1629 (April 21st, 2020)

Hosting

Download for Windows and hosted version available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more

Supported Vendors & Applications

More

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.