Latenzzeit im Netzwerk überwachen: So hilft Ihnen PRTG

Latenzzeit im Netzwerk überwachen: So hilft Ihnen PRTG

 


  • QoS dauerhaft überwachen, inklusive Latenz


  • Frühzeitig alarmiert werden bei Netzwerklatenz
     

  • Rechtzeitig reagieren

 

Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

 

 

 

Latenz, Ping-Zeiten und vieles mehr:
Diese 3 Sensoren bringen Sie richtig weiter
 

QoS round trip sensor

QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor

PRTG bietet mehrere QoS-Sensoren an. Dazu zählt der QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor, der die Dienstqualität über die gesamte Strecke misst.

Mehr zu QoS-Monitoring mit PRTG

 

Cisco IP SLA sensor

Cisco IP SLA Sensor

Viele Cisco-Geräte erheben selbst QoS-Werte. Der Cisco IP SLA Sensor liest die Werte aus und fügt sie dem zentralen Monitoring hinzu.

Mehr zu IP-SLA-Monitoring

Ping sensor

Ping Sensor

Mit dem Ping-Sensor überprüft PRTG die Erreichbarkeit aller Geräte. Im Dashboard sehen Sie, ob alles in Ihrem Netzwerk Ordnung ist.

Mehr zu Ping-Monitoring

 

 i Was ist ein Sensor?

Die grundlegenden Monitoring-Elemente werden in PRTG als „Sensoren“ bezeichnet. Ein Sensor überwacht üblicherweise einen gemessenen Wert innerhalb Ihres Netzwerks, z. B. den Traffic eines Switch-Ports, die CPU-Auslastung eines Servers, den freien Speicherplatz einer Festplatte. Jedes Gerät benötigt ungefähr 5-10 Sensoren und einen Sensor pro Switch-Port.

Video ansehen (4:07 Min.)

 

Latenz-Empfehlungen
der ITU-T vs. PAESSLER
 

Das sagt die ITU-T

Die Internationale Fernmeldeunion ITU-T ist für die Standards in der Telekommunikation zuständig. Sie spricht mehrere Empfehlungen rund um Quality of Service aus. So sind bei der Latenzzeit Verzögerungen bis maximal 125 Millisekunden noch akzeptabel.

Das sagen wir

Wir empfehlen höhere Standards als die ITU-T und empfehlen eine maximale Latenzzeit von 100 Millisekunden. Der Grund: So werden Sie frühzeitig benachrichtigt – noch bevor es zu bemerkbaren Störungen kommt. Sie können reagieren, bevor die ersten Beschwerden kommen.

 

Endlich Schluss mit ruckeligen Verbindungen
 

 

Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

Netzwerk-Latenz testen vs.
Latenz dauerhaft überwachen
 

Latenz einmalig testen

Wer die Latenzzeit einmalig ermitteln will, kann dafür eine einfache Ping-Abfrage durchführen. Die Zeit, die ein Ping von einem Gerät bis zu einem Ziel-Gerät braucht, ist die Ping-Zeit oder Latenzzeit. Auch die Anzahl der Hops kann über die Kommandozeile ermittelt werden, und zwar in Form eines Trace-Route-Kommandos. Allerdings sind solche Tests nur eine Einzelmaßnahme. Falls es ein konkretes Problem gibt, können Sie dies erkennen. Aber Vergleiche, Analysen oder gar ein Monitoring ist darüber sehr aufwendig. 

Latenz dauerhaft überwachen

Mit PRTG haben Sie die Quality-of-Service-Parameter dauerhaft im Blick. Latenzzeit, Paketverluste, Jitter und Mean Opinion Score werden dauerhaft überwacht. Falls es zu einer Abweichung kommt, erhalten Sie einen Alarm. Gleichzeitig überwachen Sie Ihre Server, Router und Switches, um mögliche Ursachen für eine Latenzstörung (und weitere Netzwerkprobleme) sofort zu erkennen. Sie können mit PRTG Reportings erstellen und Langzeitvergleiche durchführen.

 

Netzwerkleistung verbessern mit PRTG


Starkes Netzwerk-Monitoring


Starkes Netzwerk-Monitoring

Über die vorkonfigurierten PRTG-Sensoren können Sie schnell und einfach ein Netzwerk-Monitoring aufsetzen – inklusive QoS Monitoring mit allen wichtigen Parametern. Mit der Installation startet eine Auto-Discovery und legt automatisch innerhalb Ihres IP-Bereichs Sensoren an.

Transparente Lizenzen

Transparente Lizenzen

Mit einer Lizenz erhalten Sie Zugriff auf Sensoren, Alarmfunktion und Reporting. Durchschnitt benötigen Sie zehn Sensoren pro Gerät. Sie können Ihre Lizenz flexibel erweitern. Schon in der kostenlosen Version sind alle Funktionen nutzbar. So lernen Sie PRTG risikolos kennen.

Made in Germany

Made in Germany

Hinter PRTG steht die Paessler AG, die ihren Sitz in Nürnberg im Herzen Deutschlands hat. Seit über 20 Jahren beschäftigen wir uns mit Netzwerk-Monitoring in Windows-Systemen. PRTG ist unser einziges Tool und Mittelpunkt unserer täglichen Arbeit. Über 300.000 Administratoren vertrauen weltweit auf unser Netzwerk-Monitoring-Tool.

 

FAQ: Häufige Fragen zur Latenz und Paketdurchlaufzeit
 

Was ist Netzwerk-Latenz?

Die Latenz gibt an, wie lange ein Datenpaket von einem Punkt zu einem anderen Punkt benötigt. Die Zeit für Hin- und Rückweg wird als Latenzzeit bezeichnet oder auch als Paketumlaufzeit oder Paketdurchlaufzeit.

Warum ist das wichtig?

Je mehr Kontinuität bei der Latenz, desto stabiler ist das Netzwerk. Gibt es Latenzstörungen, haken zum Beispiel die Gespräche bei der VoIP-Telefonie oder bei Videokonferenzen. Es gibt Übertragungsaussetzer, die Bilder frieren ein. Solche Latenzprobleme sorgen häufig zu einem massiven Support-Aufkommen.

Wie kann ich die Latenz messen?

Sie können per Kommandozeilenbefehl die Latenz messen, indem Sie einen Ping senden und die Ping-Zeiten messen. Oder Sie überwachen dauerhaft die Latenz in Ihrem gesamten Netzwerk. Lesen Sie dazu auch Latenz testen vs. Latenz überwachen.

Was ist WAN-Latenz?

Auch in verteilten Netzwerken (WAN) benötigen Datenpakete eine gewisse Zeit vom Start- bis zum Ziel-Gerät. Wenn das WAN stark belastet ist, kann dies auch zu Verzögerungen oder Störungen führen. Außerdem hat ein überlastetes WAN Auswirkungen auf das jeweilige LAN eines Standortes. Lesen Sie dazu auch, wie Sie mit PRTG ein WAN-Monitoring aufsetzen.

 

Wir genießen das Vertrauen von 300.000 Administratoren
und sind von Branchenanalysten als führender Softwareanbieter anerkannt.

„Fantastische Netzwerk- und Infrastruktur-Monitoring-Lösung, die einfach zu installieren und zu benutzen ist. Einfach das beste verfügbare Produkt.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

„Die Software ist absolut perfekt, der Support ist super. Erfüllt alle Bedürfnisse. Eine Must-have-Lösung, wenn man irgendeine Art von Monitoring sucht.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

„Das Tool zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass es seinen Fokus darauf legt, ein einheitlicher Infrastruktur-Management- und Netzwerk-Monitoring-Service zu sein.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

 

 

Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

Für kleinere Unternehmen:
6 Tipps, wie Sie Ihre Latenz optimieren
 

Überwachen Sie Router und Switches

Überwachen Sie Router und Switches

Schon ein einzelner Switch, der nicht ordentlich funktioniert, oder ein defekter Router kann die Latenz negativ beeinflussen. Besonders an wichtigen Knotenpunkten sollten Sie Ihre Hardware dauerhaft im Blick behalten. Kommt es zu einer Latenzstörung oder einem anderen Problem, benötigen Sie deutlich weniger Zeit für die Suche nach der Ursache.

Besser LAN als WLAN

Besser LAN als WLAN

In vielen Unternehmen nutzen Mitarbeiter VoIP-Telefonie oder Video-Software wie Skype. Gleichzeitig arbeiten immer mehr Menschen mit einem Laptop. Leisten Sie Aufklärungsarbeit: Geben Sie den Tipp, Videokonferenzen im LAN durchzuführen und nicht im WLAN.

Überprüfen Sie Ihren Internetzugang

Überprüfen Sie Ihren Internetzugang

Mit welcher Technologie ist Ihr Unternehmen im Internet? Wenn es die Möglichkeit gibt, auf LTE, Glasfaser oder VDSL umzusteigen, sollten Sie dies nutzen. Auch die Provider bieten hier immer neue Pakete an. So verbessern und stabilisieren Sie die Latenzzeit bzw. die Paketumlaufzeiten.

Rüsten Sie Ihre Hardware auf

Rüsten Sie Ihre Hardware auf

Jedes Netzwerk hat alte Hardware, die schwächelt. Mit PRTG können Sie diese Schwächen erkennen. Über anschauliche Reportings und Charts können Sie die Dringlichkeit in der Führungsebene verdeutlichen. Ob Cisco, Juniper, HP: Jeder Hersteller hat eigene Vorteile. Die Latenz in Switches und Routern ist ein wichtiges Entscheidungskriterium. Vergleichen Sie die Baureihen miteinander. Übrigens: Bei PRTG gibt es zahlreiche vorkonfigurierte Sensoren für alle bekannten Hersteller.

Optimieren Sie das Routing

Optimieren Sie das Routing

Mit PRTG können Sie die Hops zählen und überwachen, die Datenpakete von einem Rechner zum Ziel-Rechner benötigen, oder mit einem Klick Traceroute zu einem bestimmten Gerät durchführen. Verbessern Sie das Routing so, dass die Datenpakete über weniger Router und Switches laufen.

Priorisieren Sie einzelne Anwendungen

Priorisieren Sie einzelne Anwendungen

Wenn bestimmte Anwendungen in Ihrem Unternehmen besonders wichtig sind oder oft genutzt werden, kann es Sinn machen, diese zu priorisieren. Bei E-Mails etwa macht es häufig keinen Unterschied, wenn diese ein paar Augenblicke länger unterwegs sind und andere Anwendungen dafür „Vorfahrt“ haben.

 

Praxis-Tipp: „Hey Konstantin, was kann ich mit dem PRTG QoS Reflector machen?”

„Für unseren QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor braucht man normalerweise eine Remote Probe auf einem zweiten Windows-Rechner, um den Hin- und Rückweg der Datenpakete zu messen. Mit unseren PRTG QoS Reflector ist das nicht nötig. Der Reflector ist ein Python-Script, das Datenpakete vom Endpunkt zurück an PRTG schickt. Der QoS Reflector läuft auf allen Linux-basierten Systemen, also selbst auf einem kleinen Raspberry Pi. So haben Sie die Netzwerk-Latenzzeit auf einfache Weise immer im Blick."

Konstantin Wolff, Software Developer bei der Paessler AG

 

Hintergrund:
Paketverzögerungen und Paketverluste

Paketverzögerungen

Paketverzögerungen

Wenn die Latenz steigt, bedeutet dies auch, dass es zu Paketverzögerungen kommt. Die Datenpakete werden also langsamer übertragen bzw. benötigen länger, bis sie ihr Ziel erreichen. Mit PRTG messen Sie auch automatisch die Paketdurchlaufzeit.

Paketverluste

Paketverluste

Paketverluste führen sehr schnell zu Beschwerden und Support-Anfragen. Denn dann sinkt die Qualität von VoIP- oder Video-Gesprächen deutlich. Gesendete Pakete gehen auf dem Weg verloren. 

 

So haben Sie Ihr Netzwerk immer im Blick
– auch von unterwegs

PRTG ist in wenigen Minuten eingerichtet und kann mit vielen verschiedenen Geräten genutzt werden.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG überwacht zentral viele verschiedene Anbieter, Systeme und Anwendungen!

 

 

Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

PRTG lohnt sich: So bringen Sie Ihre gesamte IT auf Vordermann!

Die Kosten für eine Jahreslizenz von PRTG sind im Durchschnitt innerhalb von wenigen Wochen ausgeglichen.
Die Lizenzkosten hängen von der Größe Ihres Netzwerks ab.

 

 


„Mit PRTG können wir alle viel entspannter arbeiten.“

Markus Puke, Netzwerkverantwortlicher Schüchtermann Klinik, Deutschland

 

Über 95 Prozent unserer Kunden empfehlen PRTG

 

In einer großen Umfrage hat die Paessler AG über 600 IT-Abteilungen weltweit befragt, die PRTG nutzen.
Ziel war, die eigene Netzwerk-Monitoring-Software noch besser auf die Bedürfnisse der Administratoren auszurichten und zu optimieren.
Ein Ergebnis der Umfrage: Über 95 % der Teilnehmer würden PRTG weiterempfehlen - oder haben es bereits getan.

Recommend PRTG

 
also of interest

Sie möchten weiterlesen? Gerne!
Hier erfahren Sie mehr über Netzwerk-Monitoring

 

Router-Monitoring: Mit PRTG überwachen Sie den Bandbreitenverbrauch, Netzwerkaktivitäten und Fehlermeldungen Ihrer Router. So verhindern Sie Netzwerkausfälle und Überlastungen. Ein effektives Router-Monitoring ist die Basis für ein umfangreiches Netzwerk Monitoring.

Switch-Monitoring: Es gibt zahlreiche Switch-Hersteller. Mit PRTG haben Sie ein Tool, das mit allen bekannten Switch-Herstellern kompatibel ist. Zahlreiche vorkonfigurierte Sensoren helfen Ihnen, ein schnelles Switch-Monitoring aufzusetzen. Mit SNMP, Packet Sniffing und vielen weiteren Sensoren können Sie den Traffic beobachten.

Remote-Monitoring: Viele Unternehmen haben weltweit Standorte und gleichzeitig eine zentrale IT-Administration. Mit PRTG können Sie ein agentenloses Remote-Monitoring aufsetzen. So überwachen Sie Ihr verteiltes Netzwerk rund um die Uhr. Alle Informationen werden in einem Dashboard zusammengeführt.

 

 

PRTG The Swiss Army knife

PRTG: Das Schweizer Taschenmesser für Admins

Sie können PRTG durch die starke API individuell und dynamisch auf Ihre Situation anpassen:

  • HTTP-API: Greifen Sie mittels HTTP-Anfragen flexibel auf Ihre Monitoring-Daten zu und ändern Sie die Einstellungen der angelegten Objekte
  • Eigene Sensoren: Erstellen Sie eigene Sensoren - überwachen Sie damit quasi alles
  • Individuelle Benachrichtigungen: Richten Sie eigene Alarme ein, um sie an externe Systeme zu senden
  • REST Custom Sensor: Überwachen Sie alles, was XML oder JSON zur Verfügung stellt

 

Immer noch nicht überzeugt?

 

 

Über 300.000 Admins lieben PRTG

PRTG läuft in Unternehmen jeder Größe. Admins lieben die Software und haben einen angenehmeren Arbeitsalltag, da PRTG ihnen vielfach den Rücken freihält.

Immer noch nicht überzeugt?

 

Überwachen Sie Ihre gesamte IT

Bandbreite, Server-Auslastung, virtuelle Umgebungen, Webseiten oder VoIP-Services – mit PRTG behalten Sie den Überblick über
Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk.

 

 

Probieren Sie PRTG kostenlos aus

Anforderungen und Vorlieben sind individuell. Deshalb probieren Sie PRTG am besten einfach selbst aus. Starten Sie jetzt mit einer kostenlosen 30-tägigen Testversion.

 

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 21.3.71.1416 (21. September 2021)

Hosting

Verfügbar als Download für Windows und als Cloud-Version PRTG Hosted Monitor

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Portugiesisch, Niederländisch, Russisch, Japanisch und vereinfachtes Chinesisch

Preis

Bis zu 100 Sensoren kostenlos (Preistabelle)

Unified Monitoring

Netzwerkgeräte, Bandbreite, Server, Software, Virtuelle Umgebungen, Remotesysteme, IoT und vieles mehr

Unterstützte Hersteller & Anwendungen

Mehr

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

PRTG monitors the latency of your network

 


  • Keep a constant eye on QoS, including latency


  • Be promptly alerted in the event of latency spikes
     

  • Take action immediately

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

 

 

 

Latency, ping times, and much more:
3 sensors to get you on your way
 

QoS round trip sensor

QoS round trip sensor

PRTG comes with several QoS sensors. These include the QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip sensor, which measures the quality of service along an entire route.

More on QoS monitoring with PRTG

 

Cisco IP SLA sensor

Cisco IP SLA sensor

Many Cisco devices gather their own QoS values. The Cisco IP SLA sensor reads these values and adds them to your centralized monitoring statistics.

More on IP SLA monitoring

Ping sensor

Ping sensor

The PRTG Ping sensor checks the availability of your devices, while the dashboard lets you see if everything is OK in your network.

More on ping monitoring

 

iWhat is a sensor?

In PRTG, “Sensors” are the basic monitoring elements. One sensor usually monitors one measured value in your network, e.g. the traffic of a switch port, the CPU load of a server, the free space of a disk drive. On average you need about 5-10 sensors per device or one sensor per switch port.

View video (3:26 min.)

 

Latency recommendations:
ITU-T vs. PAESSLER
 

ITU-T

The Telecommunication Standardization Sector of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU-T) is responsible for standards in the field of telecommunications. It provides many recommendations with regard to quality of service. When it comes to latency, the ITU-T recommends that delays be no more than 125 milliseconds.

Paessler

We have somewhat stricter requirements than the ITU-T, for we recommend a maximum latency of 100 milliseconds. The reason: with a lower latency threshold value, you can be notified in due time and intervene before your coworkers notice that something is awry.

 

Put an end to choppy connections – once and for all
 

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

Network latency:
Test vs. monitoring
 

One-time latency test

A simple ping query is all it takes to obtain a one-time calculation of latency. Latency (or the ping time) is equal to the amount of time the query needs to reach its target device. You can also enter a traceroute command into the command line to determine the number of hops. These tests provide for individual measurements. Although they are useful for identifying specific problems, they are not at all suitable for comparisons, analyses, or monitoring. 

Perpetual latency monitoring

PRTG keeps a constant eye on all your QoS parameters. Latency, packet loss, jitter, and the Mean Opinion Score are monitored around the clock. If something goes wrong, you’ll be notified at once. The latency monitoring tool PRTG simultaneously monitors your servers, routers, and switches so you can immediately recognize the causes of latency issues or other network problems. What’s more, PRTG lets you create reports and gives you the opportunity to compare data over long periods of time.

 

Improve network performance with PRTG


Powerful network monitoring


Powerful network monitoring

With preconfigured sensors, PRTG makes it quick and easy to set up your network monitoring – including QoS monitoring and the crucial parameters that go with it. During installation, PRTG runs its Auto Discovery feature and automatically creates sensors within your IP range.

Unambiguous licenses

Unambiguous licenses

With a license, you get access to sensors, the alarm function, and reports. You’ll need around ten sensors per device. Licenses can be upgraded whenever you like. With the trial version of PRTG, you can try all the software’s features for free. The trial version is perfect for getting a feel for PRTG, no strings attached.

Made in Germany

Made in Germany

PRTG is a product of Paessler AG, whose headquarters are located in the city of Nuremberg in the heart of Germany. Paessler AG has been developing monitoring solutions for Windows systems for over 20 years. PRTG is our brainchild, and at the core of our daily work. More than 300,000 system administrators worldwide put their trust in PRTG.

 

FAQ: Latency and packet processing time
 

What is network latency?

Latency is a measurement of the time it takes for a data packet to travel from one point to another. This time is referred to as latency, the round-trip time, or the packet processing time.

Why is it important?

By keeping latency spikes to a minimum, you can improve the stability of your network. When latency is too high, problems with VoIP and video conferences are likely to arise. Furthermore, transmission errors can prevent images from loading. Such latency issues are sure to push the capacities of your IT department to the limit.

How do I measure network latency?

Latency can be measured via the command line by running a ping and then recording its time. You can also choose to permanently monitor the latency in your entire network. Read more about testing vs. monitoring latency.

What is WAN latency?

Data packets need a certain amount of time to travel from one device to another. This is also true for packets in distributed networks such as a WAN. If a WAN is overloaded, then delays or disruptions may arise. An overloaded WAN can also have a negative impact on the corresponding LAN. Learn more about how to set up WAN monitoring with PRTG.

 

Trusted by 300,000 users
and recognized by industry analysts as a leader

“Fantastic network and infrastructure monitoring solution that is easy to deploy and easier still to use. Simply the best available.”

Read more reviews

“Software is absolutely perfect, Support is superior. Meets all needs and requirements, This is a must have solution if you are needing any form of monitoring.”

Read more reviews

“The tool excels at its primary focus of being a unified infrastructure management and network monitoring service.”

Read more reviews

 

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

6 tips for smaller companies
to optimize latency
 

 Monitor your routers and switches

Monitor your routers and switches

All it takes is one faulty switch or router for latency to rise. Keep a constant eye on your hardware, especially the most important hubs. By doing so, you'll spend much less time getting to the root of a latency spike or some other network problem.

 Exploit the advantages of your LAN

Exploit the advantages of your LAN

Many companies use VoIP or video software such as Skype. At the same time, more and more people are working on laptops. Advise your coworkers to use the LAN (instead of the WLAN) for their video conferences.

 Check your internet connection

Check your internet connection

Which technology does your company use to access the Internet? If possible, switch to LTE, VDSL, or a fiber optic connection. Internet providers are always offering attractive new deals.  Take full advantage to optimize the latency and round-trip times of your data.

 Upgrade your hardware

Upgrade your hardware

Every company has outdated hardware that slows the network down. PRTG will immediately point out these weaknesses. PRTG lets you create easy-to-understand charts and reports that are perfect for convincing higher-ups of the urgency of the situation. Looking to go with Cisco, Juniper, or HP? Every manufacturer has its own advantages. Latency in switches and routers is one important factor which can help you decide. Compare the various product series with one another. By the way: PRTG comes with several preconfigured sensors for all the best-known manufacturers.

 Optimize routing

Optimize routing

The network latency test tool PRTG counts and monitors the hops that data packets need to travel from one computer to another. You can also perform a traceroute on a specific device with a click of the mouse. Optimize your routing to allow data packets to travel across fewer routers and switches.

 Prioritize individual applications

Prioritize individual applications

If certain applications are more important to your company than others (or are used on an extremely regular basis), then it might make sense to prioritize them. For example: it often makes no difference if emails take a few more seconds to arrive. You can therefore give the “right of way” to the data of other applications.

 

Practical tip: “Hey Konstantin, what can I do with the PRTG QoS Reflector?”

“When using our QoS Roundtrip Sensor, you usually need to place a remote probe on a second Windows computer to measure the round-trip values of data packets. With the PRTG QoS Reflector, this is no longer necessary. The Reflector is a Python script that sends data packets from an endpoint back to PRTG. The QoS Reflector runs on all Linux systems, even a small Raspberry Pi. With PRTG, keeping a constant eye on network latency has never been easier.”

Konstantin Wolff, Software Developer at Paessler AG

 

Definitions:
Packet delay vs. packet loss

Packet delay

Packet delay

If latency spikes, then data packets are likely to be delayed. They are transmitted more slowly and therefore need longer to reach their destination. PRTG measures the processing time of data packets automatically.

Packet loss

Packet loss

Packet loss can quickly lead to complaints and IT service requests. This is usually due to the dramatic drop in the quality of VoIP or video calls. With packet loss, packets get lost on the way to their destination.

 

Your wireless network at a glance –
even on the go

PRTG can be started within minutes and it's compatible with many mobile devices.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG monitors these vendors and applications, and more, in one view!

 

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

PRTG is worth it: You’ll optimize your entire IT!

The costs for a one-year PRTG license usually pay for themselves within a few weeks.

 

 

“We can all work with greater peace of mind knowing that our systems are constantly
being monitored.”

Markus Puke, Network Administrator, Schüchtermann Klinik, Germany

 

Over 95% of our customers recommend PRTG

 

Paessler AG worldwide trialled PRTG in over 600 IT departments.
The aim was to tune the network monitoring software closer to the needs of the administrators.
The result of the survey: over 95% of the participants would recommend PRTG - or already had.

Recommend PRTG

 
also of interest

Want to read more? Be our guest!
Learn more about network monitoring here

 

Router monitoring: PRTG monitors the bandwidth usage, network activities, and error messages of your routers. It therefore helps you prevent downtime and overloads. Effective router monitoring is the basis for comprehensive network monitoring.

Switch monitoring: There are many different switch manufacturers. With PRTG, you get a tool that works with all the most popular providers. Several preconfigured sensors allow you to quickly set up your switch monitoring. And thanks to SNMP, packet sniffing, and various other sensors, PRTG also lets you keep a close eye on your data traffic.

Remote monitoring: Many companies have international offices in addition to a central IT base. PRTG provides for agentless remote monitoring. All information is consolidated on an easy-to-read dashboard, allowing you to monitor your distributed network around the clock.

 

 

PRTG: The swiss army knife for sys admins

Adapt PRTG individually and dynamically to your needs relying on a strong API:

  • HTTP API: Access monitoring data and manipulate monitoring objects using HTTP requests
  • Custom Sensors: Create your own sensors for customized monitoring
  • Custom Notifications: Create your own notifications to send alarms to external systems
  • New REST API Sensor: Monitor almost everything that provides XML or JSON

 

PAESSLER AG –
German quality
engineering

Free Download
  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime

 

Made in Germany: The PRTG Network Monitoring Tool is the fruit of a dedicated, international team. The company was founded by Dirk Paessler. The Paessler AG headquarters are located in the city of Nuremberg, in the heart of Germany.

A quick overview: PRTG provides a quick overview, whether on your desktop or as an app on your smartphone. An individually configurable dashboard features every key stat in the form of an easy-to-understand graph, so you can always make sure your network is running smoothly.

Easy configuration: Our Smart Setup guarantees a quick and easy setup. During configuration, PRTG will ping your network and create appropriate sensors, saving you a great deal of time. Furthermore, switching from other software such as Nagios is relatively quick and easy.

Outstanding support: Our support team strives to resolve inquiries within 24 hours (on business days). Discover a wide selection of videos, webinars, and instructions in our knowledge base. Our manual is also an excellent resource.

Getting started is easy: The trial version is for free, allowing you to evaluate our monitoring tool with no strings attached. To upgrade, simply search for a suitable license. You can modify your license any time you like. 

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 20.3.61.1649 (August 11th, 2020)

Hosting

Download for Windows and hosted version available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more

Supported Vendors & Applications

More

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.