Mean Opinion Score: So überwachen
Sie Ihre MOS-Werte mit PRTG

  • PRTG überwacht den MOS
  • PRTG überwacht Jitter, Paketverlust, Latenz
  • QoS-Monitoring für VoIP
  • Alarm und Reports inklusive
  • 100 Sensoren kostenlos

 

Kostenloser Download
  • 30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion
  • Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware
  • Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade


Definition: Das ist der Mean Opinion Score

 

Der Mean Opinion Score bewertet die Sprachqualität und Bildqualität bei einer VoIP-Übertragung. Er ist das arithmetische Mittel von mehreren Bewertungsparametern. Der Mean Opinion Score wird mit MOS abgekürzt. Der schlechteste MOS-Wert ist 1, der höchste MOS-Wert 5. Beim Wert 1 kann man sich nicht verständigen – trotz größter Anstrengung. Es kommt ständig zu Gesprächsabbrüchen. Beim Wert 5 ist die Qualität ausgezeichnet und man versteht sich ohne jegliche Anstrengung sehr gut. Mit dem MOS-Wert können unterschiedliche Sprachcodierungen (Codec) und Sprachverbindungen miteinander verglichen werden. 

Was wollen Sie zum Mean Opinion Score wissen?

So messen Sie den Mean Opinion Score mit PRTG

 

Lösen sie Ihr Problem. Jetzt.


PRTG verfügt über eine Reihe von Sensoren, mit denen Sie die Quality of Service (QoS) in Ihrem Netzwerk überwachen. Darunter den QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor und den Cisco IP SLA Sensor. Diese Sensoren zeigen auch den MOS-Wert an. So sehen Sie jederzeit, wie es um die Qualität Ihrer VoIP-Telefonie steht. Hier geht es zu unseren QoS- und VoIP-Sensoren. Übrigens: Sie können mit PRTG auch Ihr Cisco-Hardware überwachen – ohne Zusatzkosten.

MOS und alle anderen wichtigen Werte im Blick:
So sieht Ihr Monitoring aus

5 häufige Fragen zum Mean Opinion Score (MOS)

 

Wie wird der Mean Opinion Score berechnet?


Cisco-Geräte berechnen oder kalkulieren den MOS-Wert selbst. Der IP SLA-Sensor von PRTG liest diesen Wert aus. Beim QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor berechnet PRTG den MOS-Wert selbst. Dafür ist ein R-Wert nötig. Die genaue Berechnung beschreiben wir in diesem Artikel in unserer Knowledge Base.

Was versteht man unter Codec?


Der Begriff Codec setzt sich aus Code und Decode zusammen. Daten oder Signale werden also digital kodiert und wieder dekodiert. Dies passiert allerdings nicht verlustfrei. Dadurch kommt es zu Qualitätsverlusten. In Telefonnetzen wird eine große Zahl unterschiedlicher Codecs genutzt, von denen jeder einen eigenen MOS-Wert hat. Über den MOS kann die Qualität der Codecs einfach verglichen werden. 

Was ist ein Beispiel für ein Mean Opinion Score?


Es gibt einen Bewertungsmaßstab, der das Qualitätsempfinden bzw. die Sprachqualität auf einer Skala von 1 bis 5 beschreibt. 1 ist „mangelhaft“, 2 bedeutet „mäßige Qualität“, 3 „ordentlich“, 4 „gut“ und 5 „ausgezeichnet“. PRTG zeigt den MOS-Wert im jeweiligen Sensor an, den Sie für Ihr Gerät angelegt haben. Verschlechtert sich der Wert, können Sie sich entsprechend benachrichtigen lassen.

Wie kann ich den Mean Opinion Score über einen Test ermitteln?


Es gibt verschiedene Tests, die durchgeführt werden, um MOS-Werte zu ermitteln. Hierbei gibt es unterschiedliche Qualitätsbewertungen. Die Tests für Sprachübertragungen sind von der ITU-T festgelegt worden. Sie können PRTG 30 Tage lang in vollem Umfang nutzen. 100 Sensoren sind auch danach dauerhaft kostenlos. Wenn Sie einen schnellen MOS-Test machen wollen, eignet sich PRTG gut dafür.

Welche Tools helfen mir dabei, den Mean Opinion Score im Blick zu haben?


PRTG ist eine Netzwerk Monitoring Software, mit der Sie den MOS-Wert immer im Blick haben. So wissen Sie jederzeit, ob es bei der VoIP-Telefonie oder bei Video-Übertragungen zu Störungen in Ihrem Unternehmen kommt. Sie werden frühzeitig alarmiert – und können so rechtzeitig Störungen beheben. Sie erhöhen die Stabilität Ihres Netzwerks und entlasten Ihren IT-Support.

200.000 Administratoren weltweit
vertrauen auf unsere Software.

Hier haben wir einige Reviews für Sie zusammengestellt.

 

  • 30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion
  • Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware
  • Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade

Mehr als den MOS im Blick: 3 gute Gründe für PRTG

Lösen sie Ihr Problem. Jetzt.

MOS inklusive

Bei PRTG sind alle Sensoren inklusive – auch von Cisco-Geräten. Sie müssen nichts extra zahlen. 100 Sensoren sind dauerhaft kostenlos. Für alle Anforderungen darüber hinaus können Sie eine Lizenz auswählen. Sie können auch mit einer kleinen Lizenz starten und später flexibel aufstocken. Im Durchschnitt benötigen Sie 10 Sensoren pro Gerät, wenn Sie ein komplettes Netzwerk Monitoring aufsetzen.

Alles auf dem Radar

Alles auf dem Radar

Stabile VoIP Telefonate sind wichtig – keine Frage. Aber wenn es zu Störungen kommt, kann der Fehler an vielen Stellen liegen. Anstatt die Nadel im Heuhaufen zu suchen, nutzen Sie einfach PRTG. Ob Hardware, Anwendungen, Bandbreite – Sie erkennen sofort, wenn es zu Störungen kommt. Sie sehen auf einen Blick die Fehlerquelle. Auch die Erreichbarkeit und Verfügbarkeit Ihrer Cloud-Anwendungen können Sie überwachen.

Das Netzwerk im Griff. Endlich.

Stabiles Netzwerk

PRTG wirkt – schnell und dauerhaft. Ihr Netzwerk ist stabiler. Sie haben weniger Support-Aufkommen, weniger Stress und mehr Zeit, die Sie in andere Arbeitsbereiche stecken können. Die Investition in PRTG zahlt sich oft schon nach einigen Monaten aus. Deswegen vertrauen uns weltweit über 200.000 Administratoren.

So haben Sie Ihr Netzwerk immer im Blick
– auch von unterwegs

PRTG ist in wenigen Minuten eingerichtet und kann mit vielen verschiedenen Geräten genutzt werden.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG überwacht zentral viele verschiedene Anbieter, Systeme und Anwendungen!

 

Die weiteren Parameter neben dem Mean Opinion Score

Jitter

Jitter

Jitter ist die Taktschwankung oder das Taktzittern bei der Übertragung der Daten. Verändert sich der Übertragungstakt, kann es zu Störungen bei der Übertragung der Datenpakete kommen. Hier geht es zu Jitter Monitoring.

Paketverlustrate

Paketverlustrate

Wenn Datenpakete verloren gehen, doppelt ankommen oder in der falschen Reihenfolge ankommen, führt dies zu einer deutlichen Verschlechterung der Übertragungsqualität. Lesen Sie hier, wie Sie mit Paketverlusten in Ihrem Netzwerk umgehen.

Latenz

Latenz

Die Latenzzeit ist das Zeitintervall, das ein Paket vom Absender bis zum Empfänger und zurück benötigt. Jede Verzögerung bedeutet, dass sich die Sprachqualität und Bildqualität verschlechtert. Hier erfahren Sie, wie Sie die Latenzzeit überwachen.


Praxis-Tipp: „Hey Konstantin, was kann ich mit dem
PRTG QoS Reflector machen?”

„Für unseren QoS Roundtrip Sensor braucht man normalerweise eine Remote Probe auf einem zweiten Windows-Rechner, um den Hin- und Rückweg der Datenpakete zu messen. Mit unseren PRTG QoS Reflector ist das nicht nötig. Der Reflector ist ein Python-Script, das Datenpakete vom Endpunkt zurück an PRTG schickt. Der QoS Reflector läuft auf allen Linux-basierten Systemen, also selbst auf einem kleinen Raspberry Pi.“

Konstantin Wolff, Software Developer bei der Paessler AG

box.png

Hier erfahren Sie alles über Netzwerk Monitoring
– zum Beispiel diese 3 Themen


Network Mapping

Mit PRTG können Sie all Ihre IT-Komponenten mittels Darg & Drop schnell und bequem über den integrierten Map-Editor in übersichtliche Netzwerk-Maps einbinden. Durch den Sunburst View sehen Sie sofort auf einen Blick, ob alles in Ordnung ist – und wenn etwas in Ihrem Netzwerk nicht stimmt. Mehr über Network Mapping mit PRTG.

Netzwerkdiagnose

Sie stehen vor der Aufgabe, eine Netzwerkdiagnose durchzuführen? Erfahren Sie, wie Ihnen PRTG dabei hilft, schneller Fehler zu finden, wie Sie unser Tool gezielt zur Diagnose einsetzen – und wo die Grenzen liegen. Mehr zu Netzwerkdiagnose mit PRTG.

File Monitoring

PRTG überwacht einzelne Dateien und informiert Sie, wenn diese Dateien verändert werden. Sie können unser Tool dafür einsetzen, Log Files, Syslogs und Event Logs zu überwachen. Hier erfahren Sie mehr über File Monitoring mit PRTG.

PRTG lohnt sich: So bringen Sie
Ihre gesamte IT auf Vordermann!

Die Kosten für eine Jahreslizenz von PRTG sind im Durchschnitt innerhalb von wenigen Wochen ausgeglichen.
Die Lizenzkosten hängen von der Größe Ihres Netzwerks ab.

Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit Ihrer
IT-Infrastruktur

Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit Ihrer IT-Infrastruktur

Kostenersparnis im Netzwerkmanagement
durch PRTG

Kostenersparnis im Netzwerkmanagement durch PRTG

Zeitersparnis im Netzwerkmanagement
durch PRTG

Zeitersparnis im Netzwerkmanagement durch PRTG

Ausgezeichnete Softwarelösung

Wir arbeiten jeden Tag hart daran, unsere Software
so einfach und universell einsetzbar wie möglich für unsere Kunden zu machen.
Natürlich sind wir stolz darauf, dafür regelmäßig Auszeichnungen zu bekommen.

 

PRTG Auszeichnungen

PRTG: Das Schweizer Taschenmesser für Admins

Sie können PRTG durch die starke API individuell und dynamisch auf Ihre Situation anpassen:

  • HTTP-API: Greifen Sie mittels HTTP-Anfragen flexibel auf Ihre Monitoring-Daten zu und ändern Sie die Einstellungen der angelegten Objekte
  • Eigene Sensoren: Erstellen Sie eigene Sensoren - überwachen Sie damit quasi alles
  • Individuelle Benachrichtigungen: Richten Sie eigene Alarme ein, um sie an externe Systeme zu senden
  • Neuer REST API Sensor: Überwachen Sie alles, was XML oder JSON zur Verfügung stellt

Über 95 Prozent unserer Kunden empfehlen PRTG

 

In einer großen Umfrage hat die Paessler AG über 600 IT-Abteilungen weltweit befragt, die PRTG nutzen.
Ziel war, die eigene Netzwerk-Monitoring-Software noch besser auf die Bedürfnisse der Administratoren auszurichten und zu optimieren.
Ein Ergebnis der Umfrage: Über 95 % der Teilnehmer würden PRTG weiterempfehlen - oder haben es bereits getan.

Recommend PRTG

PAESSLER AG –
Ingenieursqualität made in Germany

 

 

 

Kostenloser Download
  • 30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion
  • Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware
  • Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade



Viele Administratoren sind auf der Suche nach einem Tool, das sie kostenlos testen können, bevor sie eine Investition tätigen.


PRTG bringt eine Reihe von Vorteilen:

1. Kostenfreie Testversion: Testen Sie in aller Ruhe, ob PRTG Ihren Bedürfnissen entspricht und Ihre Erwartungen erfüllt. Anschließend ist Ihr bereits konfiguriertes PRTG leicht erweiterbar. So minimieren Sie das Risiko eines Fehlkaufs.

2. Ein Tool für den Überblick: Viele Administratoren haben verschiedene Monitoring-Lösungen für ihr Netzwerk oder die Bestandteile ihrer Infrastruktur. Es kostet Zeit und Nerven, sich hier immer wieder einen Überblick zu verschaffen. Mit PRTG haben Sie eine „All in one“-Lösung. Über unser Dashboard und unsere App haben Sie jederzeit den gesamten Überblick.

3. Schneller Support: Sie haben Fragen? Sie kommen an einer bestimmten Stelle nicht weiter? Hinter PRTG steht ein engagiertes Entwickler- und Support-Team. Wir versuchen stets, jede Frage an Werktagen innerhalb von 24 Stunden zu beantworten. Hier können alle Support-Quellen durchsucht werden.

Konfigurieren Sie Ihr PRTG jetzt. Die Testversion ist kostenlos. Sparen Sie Zeit, Nerven und Kosten mit unserem Monitoring-Tool für Ihr Netzwerk und Ihre gesamte Infrastruktur.

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 19.2.50.2842 (15. Mai 2019)

Hosting

Verfügbar als Download für Windows und als gehostete Version

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Portugiesisch, Niederländisch, Russisch, Japanisch und vereinfachtes Chinesisch

Preis

Bis zu 100 Sensoren kostenlos (Preistabelle)

Unified Monitoring

Netzwerkgeräte, Bandbreite, Server, Software, Virtuelle Umgebungen, Remotesysteme, IoT und vieles mehr

Unterstützte Hersteller & Anwendungen

Mehr

Mean Opinion Score: Monitor
your network’s MOS with PRTG

  • Monitor your Mean Opinion Score (MOS)
  • Monitor jitter, packet loss, and latency
  • QoS monitoring for VoIP
  • Alarm and reports included
  • 100 free sensors

 

Free Download
  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime


What is the Mean Opinion Score?

 

The Mean Opinion Score rates the voice and image quality of a VoIP transmission. It is the arithmetical average of several parameters. The Mean Opinion Score is abbreviated as "MOS.” The lowest MOS is 1, while the highest MOS is 5. A score of 1 means that despite great effort, it is impossible to understand what is being said during the call (the call repeatedly cuts in and out). A score of 5 means the quality is excellent, with no effort required to understand what is being said. The MOS makes it possible to compare a variety of codecs and audio connections. 

Looking for specific information on the Mean Opinion Score?
Jump to the topic of your choice

 

 

Calculating the Mean Opinion Score with PRTG

 

Lösen sie Ihr Problem. Jetzt.


PRTG comes with a number of sensors that monitor the quality of service (QoS) of your network. These sensors include the QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor and the Cisco IP SLA Sensor. Among other things, these sensors display the Mean Opinion Score. As a result, you can keep a constant eye on the performance of your VoIP.

More on QoS and VoIP sensors

By the way: PRTG also monitors your Cisco hardware – at no additional charge.

MOS and other key values:
A sneak peek at your monitoring environment

5 common questions regarding the Mean Opinion Score (MOS)

 

How is the Mean Opinion Score calculated?


Cisco devices calculate the MOS, while the PRTG IP SLA Sensor reads it. PRTG uses the QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor to calculate the Mean Opinion Score. To do so, it must first obtain an R-value. Visit our knowledge base for more detailed information on how PRTG calculates the MOS.

What is a codec?


“Codec” is short for “coder-decoder.” With a codec, data or a signal is digitally coded then decoded. This process is not immune to dips in quality. In telephone networks, a large number of codecs are used, each of which has its own MOS. The MOS makes it easy to compare the quality of the various codecs. 

What is a typical Mean Opinion Score?


The Mean Opinion Score rates the quality of a voice transmission on a scale from 1 to 5. 1 is "bad,” 2 is “poor,” 3 is “fair,” 4 is “good,” and 5 is “excellent.” PRTG displays the MOS in the sensor which has been created for a particular device. You can choose to be notified whenever the score drops.

How does a test determine the Mean Opinion Score?


Several tests are used to determine the MOS. These tests take various quality parameters into consideration. The tests for voice transmissions have been defined by the ITU-T. We let you try the full version of PRTG for 30 days. Once the trial is over, you can continue to use 100 free sensors for as long as you please. If you’re looking for a quick and easy way to test your MOS, then PRTG will do the trick.

Which tools will monitor my Mean Opinion Score?


PRTG is network monitoring software that keeps a constant eye on your MOS. A quick glance at the dashboard suffices for determining if your company’s VoIP or video transmissions are experiencing difficulties. What’s more, PRTG notifies you promptly so you can quickly get down to troubleshooting. With PRTG, you’ll increase the stability of your network and give your IT helpline a much-needed break.

  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime

More than just MOS:
3 reasons why PRTG is the monitoring tool for you

MOS included

MOS included

PRTG comes with sensors for all your devices – even Cisco devices. There are no hidden fees. 100 sensors are free and never expire. If you need more, simply choose an appropriate license. Start small – you can always upgrade later. On average, you’ll need around 10 sensors per device for in-depth network monitoring.

Comprehensive monitoring

Comprehensive monitoring

There’s no doubt about it – stable VoIP calls are a must. But when calls start to cut out or drop, the error can lie in many different places. With PRTG, you no longer have to search for the needle in the haystack. Hardware, applications, bandwidth – you’ll immediately know when a device malfunctions. And the source of the error will be visible at a glance. You can even monitor the availability of your cloud applications.

Stable network

Stable network

PRTG works – quickly and without interruption. As a result, your network will be much more stable. Enjoy fewer support calls, less stress, and more time for other projects. PRTG often pays for itself in a few short months. That’s why more than 200,000 sysadmins worldwide put their trust in us.

Keep a constant eye on your network
– even while on the go

PRTG can be started within minutes and it's compatible with many mobile devices.

 

PRTG comes with all the features you need, plus more your IT infrastructure won't want to live without.

 

PRTG monitors these vendors and applications, and more, in one view!

 

Other key parameters (besides the MOS)

Jitter

Jitter

Jitter is the deviation between the delay in data transmissions. If this delay changes, then disruptions can occur during the transmission of data packets.

More on jitter monitoring

Packet loss

Packet loss

If data packets get lost, are duplicated, or arrive in the wrong order, then you can expect a significant drop in the quality of the transmission. Learn more about dealing with packet loss in your network.

Latency

Latency

Latency is the amount of time a packet needs to be sent to its recipient and then back to its sender. With each delay, image and voice quality suffer. Learn more about monitoring latency.


Practical tip: “Hey Konstantin, what can I do with the PRTG QoS Reflector?”

“When using our QoS Roundtrip Sensor, you usually need to place a remote probe on a second Windows computer to measure the round-trip values of data packets. With the PRTG QoS Reflector, this is no longer necessary. The Reflector is a Python script that sends data packets from the endpoint back to PRTG. The QoS Reflector also runs on all Linux systems, even a small Raspberry Pi.”

Konstantin Wolff, Software Developer at Paessler AG

box.png

Learning the basics of network monitoring – 3 examples


Network mapping

Use the built-in PRTG Map Editor to quickly and conveniently drop & drag all your IT components into easy-to-read network maps. With the Sunburst View, you'll immediately see if everything is in order in your network – or if something looks fishy. More on network mapping with PRTG

Network diagnosis

Have you been asked to diagnose your network? We'll show you how to use PRTG as a diagnosis tool and get to the root of problems faster – all the while taking the software’s limitations into consideration. More on network diagnosis with PRTG

File monitoring

PRTG monitors individual files and notifies you if these files are modified. You can also use our tool to monitor log files, syslogs, and event logs. More on file monitoring with PRTG

PRTG is worth it: You’ll optimize your entire IT!

The costs for a one-year PRTG license usually pay for themselves within a few weeks.

PRTG improves the reliability of your network

PRTG improves the reliability of your network

PRTG saves network management costs

PRTG saves network management costs

PRTG saves time spent on network management

PRTG saves time spent on network management

Award winning solution

We work hard on making our software as powerful and easy-to-use
as possible for our customers each and every day.
Of course it makes us proud when we get awards for that.

 

awards

PRTG: The swiss army knife for sys admins

Adapt PRTG individually and dynamically to your needs relying on a strong API:

  • HTTP API: Access monitoring data and manipulate monitoring objects using HTTP requests
  • Custom Sensors: Create your own sensors for customized monitoring
  • Custom Notifications: Create your own notifications to send alarms to external systems
  • New REST API Sensor: Monitor almost everything that provides XML or JSON

Over 95% of our customers recommend PRTG

 

Paessler AG worldwide trialled PRTG in over 600 IT departments.
The aim was to tune the network monitoring software closer to the needs of the administrators.
The result of the survey: over 95% of the participants would recommend PRTG - or already had.

Recommend PRTG

PAESSLER AG –
German quality engineering

 

 

 

Free Download
  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime



Most administrators want to test a tool for free before deciding to make an investment.


The many advantages of PRTG:

1. Free trial version: Take the time to explore PRTG so you can determine if it satisfies your needs and meets your expectations. Once the trial is over, it’s easy to upgrade your already configured version of PRTG, which means you’re much less likely to make an incorrect purchase.

2. One tool, one overview: Administrators often use a variety of monitoring solutions for their network or for the individual components of their infrastructure. But using several different tools every time you want to create an overview costs time and energy. PRTG is an “all-in-one” solution. Our dashboard and app provide a comprehensive overview, whenever you want it.

3. Quick customer support: Got a question? Stuck on a problem and need a hand? PRTG is backed by a dedicated development and support team. We do our utmost to answer every customer inquiry within 24 hours (on business days). Browse all our support topics here.

Configure your PRTG today. The trial version is free of charge. Save time, worry, and money with our monitoring tool designed for your network and entire infrastructure.

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 19.1.49.1916 (March 19th, 2019)

Hosting

Download for Windows and hosted version available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more

Supported Vendors & Applications

More