Network Jitter Test

 


  • Mit PRTG den Jitter
    im Netzwerk überwachen

  • Qualität der
    VoIP-Verbindung stets im Blick

  • Frühzeitiger Alarm
    bei Jitter-Schwankungen

 

Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

 

 

 
voip-monitoring.png


Was ist Netzwerk-Jitter?

Ein Jitter im Netzwerk beziffert die Varianz der Laufzeit von Datenpaketen, wodurch diese beim Empfänger zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten ankommen. Besonders bei Echtzeit-Diensten wie der VoIP-Telefonie führt ein hoher Jitter-Wert zu spürbaren Übertragungsfehlern und Verzögerungen, was sich beispielsweise in einem Rauschen oder einem hakenden Audio-Signal bemerkbar macht. Es ist zwar kein Netzwerk frei von Jitter, aber Sie sollten darauf achten, diesen bestmöglich zu reduzieren.

Mit einem Netzwerk-Jitter-Test finden Sie heraus, wie gut die Qualität Ihrer Verbindung ist. Sie erhalten beispielsweise Informationen, ob Ihr Internet Service Provider (ISP) die vereinbarten Service Level Agreements (SLA) einhält oder ob Sie vielleicht Ihre Bandbreite erhöhen sollten.

 

 

 

Diese Sensoren helfen Ihnen
beim Testen und Überwachen des Jitters

 i Was ist ein Sensor?

Die grundlegenden Monitoring-Elemente werden in PRTG als "Sensoren" bezeichnet. Ein Sensor überwacht üblicherweise einen gemessenen Wert innerhalb Ihres Netzwerks, z. B. den Traffic eines Switch-Ports, die CPU-Auslastung eines Servers, den freien Speicherplatz einer Festplatte. Jedes Gerät benötigt ungefähr 5-10 Sensoren und einen Sensor pro Switch-Port.

Video ansehen (4:07 Min.)

 

Wir genießen das Vertrauen von 300.000 Administratoren
und sind von Branchenanalysten als führender Softwareanbieter anerkannt.

 

„Fantastische Netzwerk- und Infrastruktur-Monitoring-Lösung, die einfach zu installieren und zu benutzen ist. Einfach das beste verfügbare Produkt.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

„Die Software ist absolut perfekt, der Support ist super. Erfüllt alle Bedürfnisse. Eine Must-have-Lösung, wenn man irgendeine Art von Monitoring sucht.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

„Das Tool zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass es seinen Fokus darauf legt, ein einheitlicher Infrastruktur-Management- und Netzwerk-Monitoring-Service zu sein.“

Mehr Rezensionen lesen

 

 


Kostenloser Download

30 Tage PRTG-Vollversion. Nach 30 Tagen wird PRTG zur Freeware.
Alternativ kaufen Sie ein Lizenz-Upgrade.

 

 

So testen Sie den Jitter im Netzwerk mit PRTG

Built-in alarm features

Sensoren anlegen

Legen Sie einen oder mehrere der vier oben genannten Sensoren an, beispielsweise den QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip Sensor. PRTG misst anschließend automatisch die Abweichung der Latenzzeit vom Mittelwert und gibt diesen als Jitter an (Berechnung gemäß RFC 3550).

Built-in alarm features

Werte interpretieren

In PRTG sehen Sie die minimale, maximale und durchschnittliche Schwankung der Latenz in Millisekunden. Die Aussagekraft steigt, wenn Sie den Wert über einen längeren Zeitraum überwachen und aufzeichnen. Wir empfehlen, dass die Abweichung weniger als 20 Millisekunden betragen sollte.

Built-in alarm features

Maßnahmen ergreifen

Bei einem erhöhten Jitter-Wert können Sie zum einen die Bandbreite erhöhen, was aber meistens mit höheren Kosten verbunden ist. Alternativ können Sie beispielsweise der VoIP-Telefonie eine höhere Priorität zuweisen als anderen Datenpakete wie etwa E-Mails.

 

Kontinuierliches Jitter-Monitoring mit PRTG:
Diese Vorteile haben Sie

 

Stabiles VoIP


Stabile VoIP-Verbindungen bei vielen Firmen die Voraussetzungen für ein effizientes und störungsfreies Arbeiten. Mit einem kontinuierlichen Jitter-Test in Ihrem Netzwerk stellt PRTG sicher, dass diese Stabilität erreicht wird. Andernfalls können Sie rechtzeitig Maßnahmen ergreifen. Auch weitere Daten rund um VoIP wie Latenz, Paketverluste oder die Ping-Zeit haben Sie mit PRTG stets im Blick.

 

Sofortiger Alarm


Bei sämtlichen Sensoren, die Sie in PRTG anlegen, können Sie individuelle Benachrichtigungen festlegen. Falls der gewählte Schwellenwert überschritten wird, erhalten Sie einen Alarm per SMS, E-Mail oder App. Oftmals können Sie dadurch sogar schon eingreifen, bevor es zu Störungen oder gar Ausfällen kommt.

 

All-in-One Monitoring


PRTG ist nicht nur ein Jitter-Test-Tool, sondern bietet auch umfassende Funktionen für das Monitoring Ihres gesamten Netzwerks. Ob Bandbreite, Server oder Datenbanken – mit PRTG behalten Sie den Überblick über Ihre IT-Umgebung.

 

 

PRTG kompakt zusammengefasst

 

PRTG überwacht Ihre IT-Infrastruktur

Traffic, Pakete, Anwendungen, Bandbreite, Cloud-Dienste, Datenbanken, virtuelle Umgebungen, Betriebszeit, Ports, IPs, Hardware, Sicherheit, Webdienste, Nutzung von Festplatten, physische Umgebungen, IoT-Geräte und vieles mehr.

PRTG unterstützt die meisten Technologien

SNMP (alle Versionen), Flow-Technologien (z. B. NetFlow, jFlow, sFlow), SSH, WMI, Ping und SQL. Leistungsstarke API (Python, EXE, DLL, PowerShell, VB, Batch Scripting, REST) zur Integration aller anderen. Alle PRTG-Funktionen anzeigen

PRTG ist bereit für jede Plattform

Verfügbar als Download für Windows und als gehostete Version. Monitoring per AJAX Web Interface oder Desktop Client.



 

 

Immer noch nicht überzeugt?

 

 

Über 300.000 Admins lieben PRTG

PRTG läuft in Unternehmen jeder Größe. Admins lieben die Software und haben einen angenehmeren Arbeitsalltag, da PRTG ihnen vielfach den Rücken freihält.

Immer noch nicht überzeugt?

 

Überwachen Sie Ihre gesamte IT

Bandbreite, Server-Auslastung, virtuelle Umgebungen, Webseiten oder VoIP-Services – mit PRTG behalten Sie den Überblick über
Ihr gesamtes Netzwerk.

 

 

Probieren Sie PRTG kostenlos aus

Anforderungen und Vorlieben sind individuell. Deshalb probieren Sie PRTG am besten einfach selbst aus. Starten Sie jetzt mit einer kostenlosen 30-tägigen Testversion.

 

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 21.2.67.1562 (21. April 2021)

Hosting

Verfügbar als Download für Windows und als gehostete Version

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Portugiesisch, Niederländisch, Russisch, Japanisch und vereinfachtes Chinesisch

Preis

Bis zu 100 Sensoren kostenlos (Preistabelle)

Unified Monitoring

Netzwerkgeräte, Bandbreite, Server, Software, Virtuelle Umgebungen, Remotesysteme, IoT und vieles mehr

Unterstützte Hersteller & Anwendungen

Mehr

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

Network jitter tests

 


  • Monitor network
    jitter with PRTG

  • Keep a constant eye on
    the quality of your VoIP

  • Receive prompt
    jitter alerts

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

 

 

 
voip-monitoring.png


What’s network jitter?

Network jitter is the deviation from the average amount of time a data packet needs to travel from its starting point to its destination. High jitter values can cause noticeable delays and transmission errors (such as background noise and faulty audio signals), in particular when it comes to real-time services such as VoIP. No network is completely free of jitter. The important thing is that you keep jitter to a minimum.

Network jitter tests are a good way to check the quality of your connection. Among other things, these tests will help you determine whether your Internet Service Provider (ISP) is fulfilling the terms of your service level agreement (SLA), or if you need to increase your bandwidth

 

 

Sensors for testing and monitoring jitter 

iWhat is a sensor?

In PRTG, “Sensors” are the basic monitoring elements. One sensor usually monitors one measured value in your network, e.g. the traffic of a switch port, the CPU load of a server, the free space of a disk drive. On average you need about 5-10 sensors per device or one sensor per switch port.

View video (3:26 min.)

 

Trusted by 200.000 users
and recognized by industry analysts as a leader

 

“Fantastic network and infrastructure monitoring solution that is easy to deploy and easier still to use. Simply the best available.”

Read more reviews

“Software is absolutely perfect, Support is superior. Meets all needs and requirements, This is a must have solution if you are needing any form of monitoring.”

Read more reviews

“The tool excels at its primary focus of being a unified infrastructure management and network monitoring service.”

Read more reviews

 

 


Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

 

How to test for network jitter with PRTG

Create sensors

Create sensors

Create one or more of the four sensors mentioned above, such as the QoS (Quality of Service) Round Trip sensor. PRTG will automatically measure the deviation in the mean latency time and calculate this value as jitter (in accordance with RFC 3550).

Read the values

Read the values

PRTG displays the minimum, maximum, and average fluctuation in latency time in milliseconds. For a more accurate reading, measure and record the value over longer periods of time. We recommend a jitter value of less than 20 milliseconds.

Take necessary actions

Take necessary actions

If your jitter value is too high, you might want to increase your bandwidth, but this of course will cost you more money. As an alternative, you can assign more bandwidth to VoIP and less to other data packets such as emails.

 

Advantages of continual jitter
monitoring with PRTG

 

Stable VoIP


Many companies rely on stable VoIP connections to effectively conduct their business. By continually testing for network jitter, PRTG provides the stability these companies need. PRTG also keeps a constant eye on other VoIP-related data such as latency, packet loss, and ping times. If problems arise, you can take corrective actions at once.

 

Prompt alerts


You can set up custom notifications for each of the sensors you create in PRTG. If one of your threshold values is exceeded, you’ll receive an alert via SMS, email, or the PRTG app. Most of the time, you’ll be able to take action before disruptions or malfunctions arise.

 

All-in-one monitoring


PRTG is not only a jitter test tool, but also comes with a full range of features for monitoring your entire network. With PRTG, you get an overview of your bandwidth, servers, databases, and every other component in your IT environment.

 

 

PRTG in a nutshell

 

PRTG monitors your entire IT infrastructure

Traffic, packets, applications, bandwidth, cloud services, databases, virtual environments, uptime, ports, IPs, hardware, security, web services, disk usage, physical environments, IoT devices and almost everything you can imagine.

PRTG supports most technologies

SNMP (all versions), Flow technologies (i.e. NetFlow, jFlow, sFlow), SSH, WMI, Ping, and SQL. Powerful API (Python, EXE, DLL, PowerShell, VB, Batch Scripting, REST) to integrate everything else. See all PRTG features

PRTG is ready for every platform

Download for Windows and hosted version
available. Monitoring via AJAX Web Interface or Desktop Client.



 

 

PAESSLER AG –
German quality
engineering

Free Download
  • Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days
  • After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version
  • Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime

 

 

Administrators must compare monitoring tools or search for a free one. There are several suppliers on the market.

PRTG comes with a full range of advantages:

1. Free trial version: PRTG is available in a free trial version. Use this version to get a feel for our network monitoring tool with no risk whatsoever.

2. Over 200,000 administrators: whether in large or small businesses, authorities, colleges or administrations - all around the world, more than 200,000 administrators put their trust in our network monitoring tool, and can therefore also monitor their bandwidth. Read our case studies here.

3. Support: do you have a question? We respond in a jiffy! You can already access a great deal of information online by consulting our FAQs, manuals, videos, webcasts, or knowledge base. You can of course also send us a message. We'll do our best to get back to you within 24 hours on business days.

PRTG – your network monitoring tool

PRTG is the Paessler AG all-in-one network monitoring tool. Our software is used by more than 200,000 administrators worldwide, whether it be to monitor their hardware- and server performance , their virtual environments, or the accessibility of their websites. Use PRTG for database monitoring or sql monitoring.  PRTG is a one fits all network analyzer tool.

Save time, worry, and money. PRTG is configured in a matter of minutes. The trial version is offered free of charge. And you can upgrade whenever you like.

 

PRTG

Network Monitoring Software - Version 20.1.56.1547 (February 25th, 2020)

Hosting

Download for Windows and hosted version available

Languages

English, German, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and Simplified Chinese

Pricing

Up to 100 sensors for free (Price List)

Unified Monitoring

Network devices, bandwidth, servers, applications, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and more

Supported Vendors & Applications

More