IT Explained:

SSH (Secure Shell)




Qu'est-ce que le SSH ?

 

 

Définition

SSH est un acronyme pour Secure Shell. Il s'agit d'un terme générique qui fait référence aux versions du protocole SSH, par exemple SSH-1 et SSH-2, et autres comme OpenSSH. Bien qu'il se réfère souvent à une version de SSH, il s'agit, à proprement parler, d'une suite composée d'utilitaires réseau, basés sur le protocole SSH.

Les protocoles SSH définissent des normes pour l'exploitation sécurisée des services réseau d'hôtes non approuvés à travers des réseaux non sécurisés. Les communications entre un client et un serveur utilisant SSH sont cryptées et sont donc idéales pour une utilisation sur les réseaux non sécurisés.

À l'origine, le mot shell dans SSH faisait référence à un programme de traitement des commandes Unix. Au fil du temps, le terme a été de plus en plus utilisé pour les interfaces utilisateur des serveurs, qui rendent l'interactivité plus conviviale avec ces derniers. Un autre exemple de shell utilisé couramment est l'interpréteur de commandes de Windows (cmd.exe), qui permet d'accéder aux outils du système d'exploitation Windows. SSH n'est pas un shell en soit, comme le shell Unix Bourne ou le shell C. Au lieu de cela, il crée un canal pour exécuter un shell sur un ordinateur à distance.

SSH gère plus de la moitié des serveurs Internet dans le monde, sur site et dans le Cloud. SSH est utilisé pour sécuriser, configurer, gérer, maintenir et exploiter les serveurs réseau, les routeurs, les pare-feux, les switchs, les systèmes d'exploitation et les applications. Les protocoles SSH incluent l'authentification, le cryptage et l'intégralité des données. SSH est si populaire qu'il est souvent utilisé comme verbe, comme Google qui utilise le terme SSH-ant.

Versions

Il existe deux versions principales de SSH : SSH-1 et SSH-2. Un quatrième type de SSH, le SSH-1.9 a été défini en 2006. Il est utilisé pour identifier les serveurs, qui sont rétro-compatibles avec d'autres versions de SSH, plus particulièrement lorsqu'un serveur supporte SSH-2 et les versions précédentes.

SSH est le plus souvent utilisé par divers systèmes d'exploitation Unix, par exemple Linux et MacOs. Il est également utilisé dans Microsoft Windows, par exemple Windows 10 utilise OpenSSH comme client SSH et serveur SSH par défaut.

Comparé à SSH-1, SSH-2 est fourni avec des améliorations au niveau de la sécurité et des fonctionnalités. Cependant, il n'est pas compatible avec SSH-1. L'une des améliorations de SSH-2 au niveau de la sécurité est l'utilisation de l'échange de clés Diffie-Hellman. L'échange de clés Diffie-Hellman est une méthode consistant à échanger des clés de cryptage à travers un canal public comme l'Internet. SSH-2 additionne également d'autres messages de code d'authentification, afin d'améliorer l'intégralité des données.

À cause du design de ses flux, SSH-1 est généralement considéré comme étant obsolète. La plupart des systèmes modernes supportent SSH-2.

Historique

 

 

SSH a été développé en 1995 par Tatu Ylonen, un chercheur à l'université technologique d'Helsinki. Ylonen a créé une première version du protocole, après que le réseau de l'université ait été piraté et que des milliers de noms d'utilisateurs et de mots de passe aient été dérobés. L'objectif de monsieur Ylonen était de trouver une solution pouvant être utilisée pour se connecter à distance sur Internet en toute sécurité.

Monsieur Ylonen a commencé par passer du temps à étudier la cryptographie, la base de SSH. Une fois SSH standardisé par l'Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), il a créé le SSH File Transfer Protocol (SFTP) et fondé la SSH Communications Security Corporation, afin d'apporter un support commercial aux versions payantes de SSH.

Ce protocole a été conçu pour remplacer Telnet (port 23) et FTP (port 21). Tatu Ylonen a pu obtenir l'attribution du port 22 pour SSH auprès de l'Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA).

Qu'est qu'un client SSH ?

 

 

SSH est basé sur un modèle d'architecture client-serveur. Dans ce modèle, un hôte est un ordinateur connecté à un réseau, les clients et les serveurs étant des programmes qui sont exécutés sur un hôte.

L'utilisateur utilise son ordinateur (le client) pour se connecter sur un ordinateur distant (le serveur). En utilisant une interface graphique (GUI) ou un outil avec des lignes de commandes, un utilisateur peut transférer des données entre les clients et le serveur. SSH doit être actif sur le client et sur le serveur.

Le client SSH est un programme sur l'ordinateur effectuant une demande pour se connecter à un système à distance en utilisant SSH. Dans les systèmes d'exploitation Unix, la fonction SSH est intégrée de source. Pour les systèmes d'exploitation non Unix, il existe aussi des clients externes, par exemple PuTTY, EasySSH, et Cyberduck. Dans les systèmes d'exploitation Windows, il y a également de nombreux clients SSH, par exemple PuTTY, Solar-PuTTy, WinSCP et MobaXterm.

La plupart des clients SSH fournissent plus de fonctions qu'une ligne de commande d'exécution traditionnelle SSH. Par exemple, ils permettent d'ouvrir simultanément plusieurs sessions, de marquer des mots clés au travers des sessions, d'utiliser d'autres types de connexion comme Telnet et de sauvegarder les données d'authentification.

 

Où SSH est-il utilisé ?

 

SSH est souvent utilisé en combinaison avec d'autres protocoles Internet. SFTP est une alternative sécurisée au FTP traditionnel et aux protocoles Secure Copy (SCP), qui supportent les transferts de fichiers entre les hôtes à travers un réseau. SFTP permet des cryptages et des décryptages rapides et dynamiques.

Connexions sécurisées automatiques

Dans les environnements des entreprises, les connexions SSH automatiques sont généralement utilisées pour les transferts cryptés de fichiers et pour l'authentification automatique des processus de machine à machine (M2M). Les tâches automatisées incluent les sauvegardes de données, l'archivage, les rapports, le nettoyage des bases de données, les sauvegardes de systèmes et la maintenance du réseau.

Connexions sécurisées manuelles

Les entreprises peuvent utiliser des tunnels SSH pour échanger des fichiers de façon sécurisée avec leurs clients.

Gestion du réseau à distance

SSH permet des connexions sécurisées sur les ordinateurs distants. Il est couramment utilisé par les gestionnaires de réseau et par les administrateurs de sites Internet pour effectuer les tâches suivantes : sécuriser les transferts de données, automatiser les transferts de données utilisant des scripts SSH, établir des connexions VPN, tester des applications, redémarrer des systèmes, changer les droits d'accès aux fichiers et gérer les droits d'accès des utilisateurs. La majorité des administrateurs utilisent un client SSH pour accéder à distance de façon sécurisée aux serveurs, aux switchs, aux routeurs, aux plate-formes de virtualisation et aux systèmes d'exploitation. Les tâches incluent le streaming de vidéos utilisant SFTP, la création d'une authentification unique pour plusieurs connexions, l'exécution de sauvegardes à distance, la connexion de répertoires distants à un répertoire local et l'utilisation d'une clé de cryptage pour plusieurs comptes pour remplacer les différents mots de passe.

Sécurité de l'application

Généralement, les applications TCP/IP utilisent un port dédié pour communiquer. Avec le transfert de port, de nombreuses applications peuvent utiliser un seul port, le port 22.

Fonctionnalités de base SSH

 

SSHD

Pour établir une connexion SSH, l'ordinateur distant doit exécuter un démon SSH (sshd), qui est un programme surveillant les demandes de connexion, généralement sur le port 22, authentifiant ces demandes et déclenchant les connexions.

Le démon SSH permet des échanges cryptés de données entre des hôtes non approuvés à travers un réseau non sécurisé, en utilisant le protocole SSH. Un démon est une application qui fonctionne en arrière-plan. Comme toute autre application, elle est codée et configurée pour exécuter des tâches spécifiques, dédiées à une application spécifique.

RFCs

SSH est défini par certaines publications Request For Comments (RFCs). Une RFC décrit des normes; des protocoles et des technologies qui sont pertinentes pour Internet, comme SSH. Par exemple, il y a des documents standards pour les couches SSH, les algorithmes de cryptage SSH et les certificats de sécurité SSH. Il y a également un RFC, qui spécifie que la couche de transport SSH doit permettre le perfect forward secrecy (PFS). Le Perfect forward secrecy garantit qu'un pirate ne pourra pas accéder aux données précédemment transmises, lorsque la clé privée d’un serveur est corrompue.

Couches SSH

SSH est composé de trois couches : la couche de transport, la couche d'authentification de l'utilisateur et la couche de connexion.

La couche de transport gère le cryptage et le décryptage des données échangées. La couche de transport identifie également le serveur et établit la confidentialité et l'intégrité.

La couche d'authentification de l'utilisateur certifie l'identité du client.

La couche de connexion gère les canaux, à travers lesquels les données transitent entre les parties identifiées dans les processus d'échange de données. Il existe des canaux de stream de données pour différents types de communication, par exemple des connexions simultanées sur différents terminaux ou services à distance, ou des transferts de sessions X11.

Cryptage SSH

Le principal avantage de SSH par rapport aux alternatives est l'utilisation du cryptage. SSH crypte l'ensemble du trafic entre un client et un serveur lors du transfert de données. Une personne effectuant des écoutes du trafic, par exemple en utilisant un programme de détection de paquets, ne pourra pas accéder aux données transmises ou les décrypter.

SSH utilise trois méthodes de cryptage : le cryptage symétrique, le cryptage asymétrique et le hachage.

Le cryptage symétrique nécessite une clé secrète, qui est utilisée pour le cryptage et pour le décryptage sur l'ensemble d'une connexion SSH. La clé symétrique est créée en utilisant un algorithme d'échange de clés agréées.

Le cryptage asymétrique nécessite deux clés différentes - une paire de clés publique-privée - pour le cryptage et le décryptage. Dans une session SSH, le cryptage asymétrique est utilisé pour installer le cryptage symétrique. Pendant la phase de cryptage symétrique, le client et le serveur créent des paires de clés temporaires et échangent la clé publique, afin de créer la clé symétrique. Le cryptage asymétrique est également utilisé pour authentifier l'identité du client pour le serveur.

La méthode de hachage convertit les données transmises en une autre valeur unique. SSH utilise le hachage pour vérifier authenticité des messages.

Tunnelisation et transfert de ports

SSH supporte le transfert de port et la tunnelisation. Les termes transfert de port et tunnelisation sont souvent utilisés de façon interchangeable. Cependant, le terme tunnelisation est un terme plus global, qui décrit trois types de transfert de ports : le transfert de port local, le transfert de port distant et le transfert de port dynamique.

La tunnelisation SSH peut être utilisée pour transférer un trafic non crypté sur un réseau à travers un canal crypté. Par exemple, un tunnel SSH crypté peut être créé pour transmettre des données entre un serveur FTP et un client, même si le protocole FTP n'est pas crypté. Les tunnels SSH peuvent également être utilisés pour accéder à des contenus géographiquement restreints et pour contourner les pare-feux.

Transfert X11

SSH permet le transfert X11 pouvant être utilisé, quand un utilisateur veut se connecter à un serveur distant et qu'il a également besoin d'une interface GUI pour visualiser l'application utilisée ou les données. Le transfert X11 permet à un utilisateur de démarrer une application à distance et d'en transférer le contenu sur son ordinateur local Windows.

 

 

Téléchargement gratuit

Version illimitée de PRTG pour 30 jours. Après 30 jours, PRTG revient à la version gratuite.
Ou, vous pouvez évoluer vers une licence payante.

Les avantages de SSH

 

 

SSH a été créé pour remplacer les protocoles shell distants non sécurisés, tels que Telnet, FTP, rsh, rlogin, and rexec. Ces protocoles sont par nature non sécurisés, lorsqu'ils échangent des informations, y compris les mots de passe en texte clair, ce qui nuit à la sécurité. Le principal avantage de SSH est l'utilisation de cryptage pour assurer un transfert d'informations sécurisé entre le client et le serveur.

SSH permet aux utilisateurs d'exécuter des commandes shell sur un ordinateur distant comme s'ils se trouvaient devant la machine physique. En utilisant les commandes et les scripts SSH, les administrateurs peuvent visualiser, supprimer ou déplacer des fichiers, créer de nouveaux dossiers, répertoires et fichiers et télécharger des fichiers.

La couche de connexion SSH permet des streams multiples à travers une seule connexion TCP. Cette capacité est appelée multiplexage et signifie que moins de connexions FTP sont nécessaires, ce qui permet le partage de ressources rares et réduit ainsi les frais généraux.

La capacité de SSH à utiliser la tunnelisation et le transfert de port peut être utilisée pour contourner des pare-feux restrictifs.

SSH permet aux administrateurs de réseau de limiter à distance l'accès des utilisateurs à un réseau.

Les clés SSH peuvent être utilisées pour identifier les utilisateurs, qui se connectent à un système pour remplacer le nom d'utilisateur et le mot de passe. Un agent SSH est un programme, qui garde en mémoire des clés privées et qui fournit des services d’authentification. Les clés SSH sont plus difficiles à pirater que les mots de passe, bien que le processus d'authentification SSH soit un peu plus difficile à mettre en place que celui utilisant les noms d'utilisateur et les mots de passe. L'utilisation de clés SSH limite les succès des attaques directes sur les noms d'utilisateurs et les mots de passe.

Les tunnels SSH sont utilisés dans le Cloud pour résoudre les problèmes de connectivité et pour éviter les failles de sécurité, où les machines virtuelles présentes dans le Cloud sont directement exposées à Internet. Les tunnels SSH fournissent un chemin sécurisé vers une machine virtuelle à travers Internet et un pare-feu.

Les inconvénients de l'utilisation de SSH

 

 

SSH-2 est généralement reconnu comme étant sûr. Cependant, toutes les mises en place de processus de sécurité ont des failles.

SSH supporte la tunnelisation, utilisée par exemple par les administrateurs pour accéder à distance à un réseau en passant par un tunnel. Cependant, les transactions SSH sortantes sans restriction peuvent entraîner des failles de sécurité. La tunnelisation peut ouvrir des portes aux pirates et peut également enfreindre certaines réglementations de sécurité, telles que PCI et HIPAA. Les transactions SSH entrantes peuvent être contrôlées plus facilement que les transactions SSH sortantes, par exemple en redirigeant les connections du port 22 (SSH) vers une adresse IP spécifique.

Les clés SSH - souvent utilisées par les utilisateurs pour se connecter à la place de mots de passe - n'expirent jamais. Dans les grandes entreprises, on peut trouver des centaines de clés SSH sur de multiples serveurs. Une mauvaise gestion des clés SSH peut provoquer une multiplication des clés, ce qui pourrait ouvrir des portes aux pirates. La tunnelisation SSH pourrait permettre à un pirate d'utiliser ces clés SSH pour contourner les pare-feux. Cependant, les attaques de tunnelisation ne sont pas spécifiques aux systèmes utilisant SSH.

Certains hôtes peuvent partager la même clé parce que celle-ci a été préconfigurée dans un équipement. Les clés privées de ces équipements peuvent être accessibles par ingénierie inverse. Les clés plus anciennes et plus courtes peuvent également permettre à un pirate de détourner les valeurs des clés privées.

SSH peut être lent à répondre aux demandes à travers une bande passante haute performance ou à travers une connexion lente.

Certaines études montrent que la plupart des failles de sécurité SSH étaient dues à une mauvaise gestion de SSH par les services IT.

 

Sources

 

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

IT Explained:

SSH (Secure Shell)




What is SSH?

 

 

Definition

SSH is an acronym for Secure Shell. It is a generic term that refers to versions of SSH protocols, for example SSH-1 and SSH-2, among other things like OpenSSH. While it is often referred to as a version of SSH, it is, strictly speaking, a suite that consists of networking utilities that are based on the SSH protocol.

SSH protocols specify standards for operating network services securely between untrusted hosts over unsecured networks. Communications between a client and server using SSH are encrypted, so it is ideal for use on unsecure networks.

Originally, the word shell in SSH referred to a program that processed Unix commands. Over time, the term has been increasingly applied to the user interfaces of servers that make them more user friendly to interact with. An example of another commonly used shell is Windows Explorer, which provides access to Windows tools. SSH itself is not a shell, like the Unix Bourne shell or C shell; instead, it creates a channel for running a shell on a remote computer.

SSH manages more than half the world’s web servers, on-premise and in the cloud. SSH is used to secure, configure, manage, maintain, and operate network servers, routers, firewalls, switches, operating systems, and applications. SSH protocols cover authentication, encryption, and data integrity. SSH is so popular that, like Google, it is often used as a verb, for example SSH-ing.

Versions

There are two main versions of SSH: SSH-1 and SSH-2. A fourth type of SSH, SSH-1.9, was defined in 2006. It is used to identify servers that are backwards compatible with SSH versions, specifically that a server supports SSH-2 as well as previous versions of SSH.

SSH is most commonly used by variants of Unix operating systems, for example Linux and macOS. It is also used with Microsoft Windows, for example Windows 10 uses OpenSSH as its default SSH client and SSH server.

In comparison to SSH-1, SSH-2 comes with security and feature improvements but it is not compatible with SSH-1. One of the security improvements of SSH-2 is the use of the Diffie-Hellman key exchange. The Diffie-Hellman key exchange is a method of exchanging cryptographic keys over a public channel like the internet. SSH-2 also added additional message authentication codes to improve data integrity.

Because of design flaws, SSH-1 is generally considered obsolete. Most modern systems support SSH-2.

History

 

 
SSH was developed by Tatu Ylonen, a researcher at Helsinki University of Technology, in 1995. Ylonen created the first version of the protocol after the university’s network was hacked and thousands of usernames and passwords were breached. Ylonen's goal was to develop a solution that he could use to remotely log in to the internet securely.

Ylonen first spent some time studying cryptography, the backbone of SSH. After getting SSH standardized by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), he designed the SSH File Transfer Protocol (SFTP) and then founded SSH Communications Security Corporation to provide commercial support for the paid versions of SSH.

Designed to replace Telnet (port 23) and FTP (port 21), Tatu Ylonen was able to get SSH allocated to port 22 by the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA).

What is an SSH client?

 


SSH is based on a client-server architecture model. In this model, a host is any computer that is connected to a network; clients and servers are programs that run on a host.

A user uses their computer (the client) to connect to a remote computer (the server). Using a graphical user interface (GUI) or command-line tool, a user can transfer data between the client and server. Both the client and server must have SSH enabled.

The SSH client is a program on the computer that makes a request that uses SSH to connect to a remote system. For Unix-type operating systems, the SSH functionality is built-in. For Unix-type operating systems, there are also external clients available, for example PuTTY, EasySSH, and Cyberduck. For Windows operating systems, there are also numerous SSH clients, for example PuTTY, Solar-PuTTy, WinSCP, and MobaXterm.

Most SSH clients provide more functionality than traditional SSH command-line execution, for example the ability to run multiple sessions simultaneously, to highlight keywords across sessions, to use other connection types like Telnet, and to save credentials.

Where is SSH used?

 

 

SSH is often used in conjunction with various other internet protocols. SFTP is a secure alternative to the traditional FTP and Secure Copy (SCP) protocols that support file transfers between hosts on a network. SFTP allows fast, dynamic encryption and decryption.

Automated secure connections

In corporate environments, automated SSH connections are commonly used for encrypted file transfers and automated authentication for machine-to-machine (M2M) processes. Automated tasks include data backup and archiving, reporting, database cleanups, system backups, and network maintenance.

Manual secure connections

Businesses can use SSH tunnels to securely share files with customers.

Remote network administration

SSH enables secure logins to remote computers. It is routinely used by network administrators and webmasters to secure file transfers, automate data transfers using SSH scripts, establish VPNs, test applications, reboot systems, change file permissions, and manage user access. Most administrators routinely use an SSH client to securely access remote servers, switches, routers, virtualization platforms, and operating systems. Tasks include streaming video using SFTP, creating a single authenticated session for multiple connections, performing remote backups, connecting remote folders to a local directory, and using an encryption key for multiple accounts instead of different passwords.

Application security

Usually, TCP/IP applications use a dedicated port to communicate. With port forwarding, multiple applications can use a single port, namely port 22.

Core SSH features

 

SSHD

To establish an SSH connection, the remote computer must run an SSH daemon (sshd), which is a program that listens for connection requests, typically on port 22, authenticates connection requests, and triggers connections.

The SSH daemon enables the encrypted exchange of data between untrusted hosts over an unsecure network using the SSH protocol. A daemon is an application that runs in the background and, like any other application, it is coded and configured to perform specific tasks for a specific application.

RFCs

SSH is defined by a number of Request For Comments (RFCs) publications. An RFC describes standards, protocols, and technologies that are relevant to the internet, like SSH. For example, there are standard documents for all SSH layers, SSH cryptographic algorithms, and SSH security certificates. There is also an RFC that specifies that the SSH transport layer must allow perfect forward secrecy (PFS). Perfect forward secrecy ensures that if a server’s private key is compromised, a hacker would not be able to access previously transmitted data.

SSH layers

SSH is made up of three layers: transport, user authentication, and connection layers.

The transport layer handles the encryption and decryption of the data exchanged. The transport layer also authenticates the server and establishes confidentiality and integrity.

The user authentication layer authenticates the identity of the client.

The connection layer manages channels through which data travels between authenticated parties in the data exchange process. There are channels, or data streams, for different kinds of communications, for example simultaneous connections to different remote terminals or services, or forwarded X11 sessions.

SSH encryption

The main advantage that SSH has over alternatives is the use of encryption. SSH encrypts all traffic between a client and a server while in transit. Anyone that eavesdrops on the traffic, for example by using a packet-sniffing program, will not be able to access or decrypt transmitted data.

SSH uses three encryption methods: symmetric encryption, asymmetric encryption, and hashing.

Symmetric encryption involves a secret key that is used for both the encryption and decryption of an entire SSH connection. The symmetric key is created using an agreed key exchange algorithm.

Asymmetric encryption involves two separate keys - a public-private key pair - for encryption and decryption. In an SSH session, asymmetric encryption is used to set up the symmetric encryption. In the symmetric encryption stage, the client and server produce temporary key pairs and exchange the public key in order to create the symmetric key. Asymmetric encryption is also used to authenticate the identity of the client to the server.

The hashing method converts the data being transmitted into another unique value. SSH uses hashing to verify the authenticity of messages.

Tunneling and port forwarding

SSH supports port forwarding and tunneling. The terms port forwarding and tunneling are often used interchangeably. However, tunneling is a more inclusive term that describes three types of port forwarding: local port forwarding, remote port forwarding, and dynamic port forwarding.

SSH tunneling can be used to transfer unencrypted traffic on a network via an encrypted channel. For example, an encrypted SSH tunnel can be created to transmit data between an FTP server and a client even though the FTP protocol is not encrypted. SSH tunnels can also be used to access geo-restricted content and to bypass firewalls.

X11 forwarding

SSH enables X11 forwarding, which can be used when a user wants to connect to a remote server and also needs a GUI to view the application running or the data. X11 forwarding allows a user to start up a remote application and then transmit the application’s output to a local Windows machine.

Benefits of SSH

 


SSH was designed to replace unsecured remote shell protocols, like Telnet, FTP, rsh, rlogin, and rexec. These protocols are inherently unsecure as they exchange information, including passwords, in plaintext, which is vulnerable to security breaches. The main advantage of SSH is the use of encryption to ensure the secure transfer of information between the client and the server.

SSH allows users to execute shell commands on a remote computer in the same way as if they were sitting in front of the physical computer. Using SSH commands and scripts, administrators can view, remove, or move files, create new folders, files, and directories, and download files.

The SSH connection layer allows multiple data streams through a single TCP connection. This ability is called multiplexing and means fewer TCP connections are needed, which allows scarce resources to be shared and also reduces overhead.

The ability of SSH to use port tunneling and forwarding can be used to bypass restrictive firewalls.

SSH allows network administrators to remotely limit user access to a network.

SSH keys, instead of usernames and passwords, can be used to authenticate users that log in to a system. An SSH agent is a program that stores private keys in memory and provides authentication services. SSH keys are more difficult to hack than passwords although the SSH authentication process is a bit more difficult to set up than using usernames and passwords. Using SSH keys mitigates the success of brute force password attacks.

SSH tunnels are used in cloud computing to solve connectivity problems and avoid security vulnerabilities where cloud-based virtual machines are exposed directly to the internet. SSH tunnels provide a secure path over the internet and through a firewall to a virtual machine.

Drawbacks to using SSH

 


SSH-2 is generally considered to be secure. However, all security implementations have vulnerabilities.

SSH supports tunneling, used for example by administrators to tunnel into a network from remote locations. However, unrestricted outbound SSH transactions may result in security vulnerabilities. Tunneling may create backdoors for hackers and may also violate some security regulations like PCI and HIPAA. Inbound SSH transactions can be controlled more easily than outbound SSH transactions, for example by redirecting port 22 (SSH) connections to a specific IP address.

SSH keys – often used by users to log in instead of passwords – never expire. In large organizations, there may be hundreds of SSH keys on multiple servers. Poor SSH user key management can result in key sprawl, which could provide a backdoor for hackers. SSH tunneling may allow an attacker to use these SSH keys to bypass firewalls. However, tunneling attacks are not specific to systems that use SSH.

Some hosts may share the same key because it was preconfigured in a device. Private keys to these devices may be accessible through reverse engineering. Older, short-length keys may also allow an attacker to derive the values of private keys.

SSH can be slow to respond to high-bandwidth commands over slow connections.

Some studies suggest that the majority of SSH security failures have been due to the mismanagement of SSH by IT departments.

SSH-2 is generally considered to be secure. However, all security implementations have vulnerabilities.

SSH supports tunneling, used for example by administrators to tunnel into a network from remote locations. However, unrestricted outbound SSH transactions may result in security vulnerabilities. Tunneling may create backdoors for hackers and may also violate some security regulations like PCI and HIPAA. Inbound SSH transactions can be controlled more easily than outbound SSH transactions, for example by redirecting port 22 (SSH) connections to a specific IP address.

SSH keys – often used by users to log in instead of passwords – never expire. In large organizations, there may be hundreds of SSH keys on multiple servers. Poor SSH user key management can result in key sprawl, which could provide a backdoor for hackers. SSH tunneling may allow an attacker to use these SSH keys to bypass firewalls. However, tunneling attacks are not specific to systems that use SSH.

Some hosts may share the same key because it was preconfigured in a device. Private keys to these devices may be accessible through reverse engineering. Older, short-length keys may also allow an attacker to derive the values of private keys.

SSH can be slow to respond to high-bandwidth commands over slow connections.

Some studies suggest that the majority of SSH security failures have been due to the mismanagement of SSH by IT departments.

 

 

Free Download

Unlimited version of PRTG for 30 days. After 30 days, PRTG reverts to a free version.
Or, you can upgrade to a paid license anytime.

 

Sources

 

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.