IT Explained:

OPC UA




Was ist OPC UA?

 

 

 

 

OPC UA steht für OPC Unified Architecture. Es ist ein erweiterbarer, plattformunabhängiger Standard, der den sicheren Austausch von Informationen in industriellen Systemen ermöglicht. OPC UA wurde 2008 von der Open Platform Communications (OPC) Foundation veröffentlicht, die den Interoperabilitätsstandard, die Protokolle und Spezifikationen für die Datenkommunikation, hauptsächlich in der industriellen Automatisierung, regelt und pflegt.

OPC UA ist kompatibel mit Windows, macOS, Android und Linux. Es kann auch in eingebetteten Systemen und Bare-Metal-Systemen eingesetzt werden, die kein Betriebssystem verwenden. OPC UA funktioniert auf PCs, in cloudbasierten Infrastrukturen, auf speicherprogrammierbaren Steuerungen (SPS; engl.: PLC), Mikrocontrollern und cyberphysischen Systemen (CPS).

Das Ziel von OPC UA ist es, die Interoperabilität zwischen Hardwaregeräten und Unternehmensplanungs- und Automatisierungssoftware zu verbessern, indem ein Rahmen für Industrieunternehmen geschaffen wird, um unterschiedliche Technologien zusammenzuführen.

Unterschiede zwischen OPC UA und OPC Classic

 

 

 

OPC Classic, der Vorgänger von OPC UA, stützt sich auf Microsoft-Technologien, während OPC UA plattformunabhängig ist.

OPC Classic verfügt über keine integrierten Sicherheitsfunktionen für die Zugriffskontrolle, Authentifizierung und Verschlüsselung. OPC UA ermöglicht die Datenverschlüsselung an der Datenquelle und gewährleistet eine sichere Übertragung, ohne sich auf Netzwerk-Firewalls im Kern des Systems zu verlassen. Dies bedeutet, dass die Sicherheit von Beginn der Datenübertragung an gewährleistet ist und nicht erst dann, wenn die Daten die Firewall eines Netzwerks erreichen. OPC UA wendet eine plattformübergreifende Sicherheit auf Basis der Public-Key-Infrastruktur (PKI) und unter Verwendung von digitalen Zertifikaten nach Industriestandard x.509 an.

Im Gegensatz zu OPC UA unterstützt OPC Classic keine dynamische Informationsmodellierung, die es Herstellern ermöglicht, den Anforderungen ihrer Branche gemäß eigene Datenmodelle zu definieren.

In OPC UA stellen die sogenannten OPC Classic-Spezifikationen Funktionsmodule zur Verfügung, die ad hoc abgefragt werden können. Diese Spezifikationen sind OPC DA (Data Access), OPC AE (Alarms and Events), OPC Security, OPC Batch, OPC Command, OPC XML, OPC Data Exchange (DX) und OPC HAD (History Access Data). Sie werden üblicherweise unter dem Begriff OPC Classic oder einfach OPC zusammengefasst. In OPC UA werden sie als Profile bezeichnet. Zum Beispiel ist der OPC DA-Standard ein OPC UA DA-Profil.

Diese Profile bilden eine Ebene, die über der Basisebene von OPC UA liegt, auf der gemeinsame Dienste laufen. Alle OPC UA-Profile verwenden dieselbe gemeinsame Codebasis, während in einer OPC Classic-Konfiguration jeder Standard seine eigene Codebasis hat, was in Systemen, in denen mehr als eine OPC Classic-Spezifikation eingesetzt ist, zu Doppelungen führt.

Wie funktioniert OPC UA?

 

 

Modelle

Mit Hilfe von Modellen legt OPC UA grundlegende Regeln für die Freigabe von Daten für jede Anwendung oder jedes Gerät, das diese Daten nutzen möchte, fest. OPC UA selbst ist ein informationszentriertes Datenmodell. Es umfasst ein generisches Objektmodell mit einem erweiterbaren Typensystem mit eingebauten Modellen für den Datenzugriff. Diese eingebauten Modelle definieren Funktionen wie Alarm- und Ereignisinformationen, Informationen über historische Daten, Details zum Datenzugriff, Gerätebeschreibungen und zur Ausführung von Programmen.

Auf Daten kann auch über benutzerdefinierte Modelle zugegriffen werden, die als Begleitmodelle bezeichnet werden. Diese werden in verschiedenen Branchen wie dem Spritzgießmaschinenbau oder der Robotertechnik eingesetzt.

Datenfluss und Verbindungen

OPC UA unterstützt die Kommunikation zwischen Komponenten auf fünf Ebenen in Industrieunternehmen: Unternehmen, Management, Betrieb, Steuerung und Feld (herstellerspezifische Geräte).

Geräte stellen ihre Daten über OPC UA zur Verfügung, was den Transport dieser Informationen über ein Netzwerk zu einer verbrauchenden Anwendung unter Verwendung von Standard-Webdiensten ermöglicht. Die Daten werden mittels IP-basierten Protokollen und SOAP transportiert, wobei Low-End-Server auch UA TCP verwenden können. Die Verwendung von Standard-SOAP-Webdiensten über HTTP ermöglicht es Nicht-OPC UA-Clients, von einem OPC UA-Server veröffentlichte Daten anzufordern.

Überbrückungs- und Gateway-Software, bekannt als OPC UA Wrapper, ermöglicht den Datenfluss auf herstellerspezifischer Hardware zwischen OPC UA-Ebenen. OPC UA Wrapper können auch verwendet werden, um von OPC Classic zu OPC UA zu migrieren, oder wenn ein OPC-Server UA unterstützt, ein OPC-Client jedoch nicht.

Serviceorientierte Architektur (SOA)

OPC UA basiert auf dem SOA-Client-Server-Kommunikationsrahmen. In OPC UA gibt es OPC-UA-Server und OPC-UA-Clients.

Ein OPC-UA-Server versorgt einen OPC-UA-Client mit Anwendungen und Steuerungssystemen, z.B. MES und SCADA, und mit sicherem Zugriff auf industrielle Automatisierungsdaten unter Verwendung von OPC-UA-Informationsmodellen, die die Art und Weise festlegen, wie Daten organisiert, gespeichert und gesammelt werden. Der Begriff OPC-UA-Server bezieht sich auf den OPC-UA-Softwarestandard auf der Maschine, nicht auf die Hardware selbst, die ein virtueller Server sein kann.

Ein OPC-UA-Client ist ein Client, der ein OPC UA-Informationsmodell unterstützen kann. OPC-UA-Clients fragen über OPC-UA-Server Daten von Komponenten in einem System ab und schreiben Daten in diese Komponenten.

SOA-Systeme wie OPC UA integrieren unterschiedliche Anwendungen über ein Netzwerk und verbinden Geräte auf verschiedenen Netzwerkknoten.

Knoten

Ein Knoten ist die Grundeinheit von Daten im OPC-UA-Adressraum, der OPC-UA-Servern eine Standardmethode zur Darstellung von Objekten für OPC-UA-Clients bietet. Knoten sind Informationseinheiten (z. B. eine eindeutige Temperatur) und bestehen aus Attributen, dem eigentlichen Datenwert und einem oder mehreren Verweisen auf andere Knoten, die sich jeweils in einem eigenen Adressraum befinden. Eine eindeutige Temperatur nimmt daher mehrere Adressen in einem Adressraum ein.

Knoten werden durch eine eindeutige Knoten-ID referenziert: durch einen Namespace-URI (eindeutiger Ressourcenbezeichner), einen Datentyp und den Bezeichner selbst. Jeder Knoten gehört zu einem bestimmten Namespace. Der Namespace-URI befindet sich in einer separaten Namespace-Tabelle auf dem OPC-UA-Server. Die Namespace-Tabelle speichert separate URIs für Informationsmodelle, die von einzelnen Organisationen verwendet werden, die ihre eigenen Anforderungen an das Aussehen und Verhalten von Daten haben. Dies ermöglicht es OPC UA, seine Dienste zu erweitern, ohne das zugrunde liegende Design des Standards zu verändern.

In OPC UA haben die Knoten mehrere Klassen, die die Erstellung von Varianten des Basisknotens ermöglichen. Es gibt acht Kernknotenklassen in OPC UA, darunter Objekte (physische Einheiten), Methoden (Funktionen, die bei Abfragen Daten speichern) und Variablen (tatsächliche Daten).

Objektknotenklassen in OPC UA sind der Schlüssel zur Erstellung komplexer Daten und zur Unterscheidung zwischen ähnlichen, aber unterschiedlichen Objekten, z. B. einem Temperatursensor für eine Klimaanlage und einem Temperatursensor für einen Heizkessel.

 

Welche Spezifikationen sind im OPC-UA-Standard enthalten?

 

 


Der OPC-UA-Standard selbst tut nichts. Der Standard ist eine Sammlung von Spezifikationen (OPC UA-Protokolle), die Richtlinien für die Kommunikation zwischen Servern und Clients definieren, einschließlich Regeln für verschiedene Funktionen und Datenstrukturen.

OPC UA hat die folgenden Spezifikationen: Overview and Concepts, Security Model, Address Space Model, Services, Information Model, Mappings, Profiles, Data Access, Alarms and Conditions, Programs, Historical Access, Discovery and global Services, Aggregates, PubSub, Safety und Alias Names. Jede Spezifikation wurde entwickelt, um ein häufiges Problem in den Kommunikationsnetzen industrieller Systeme zu lösen.

Die Spezifikation „Alarms and Conditions“ bietet beispielsweise eine Lösung für die Herausforderung, zu standardisieren, wie Ereignis- und Alarminformationen von Feldgeräten an Anwendungen weitergegeben werden. Die Spezifikation „Historical Access“ befasst sich mit der Herausforderung der Standardisierung des Zugriffs auf historische Daten in Prüfprozessen. Die Spezifikation „Programs“ enthält unter anderem Informationen darüber, wie Entwickler Rückgabecodes in ihrem Code behandeln sollten.

Wo wird OPC UA eingesetzt?

 

 

 

OPC UA wird in industriellen Systemen eingesetzt, zum Beispiel in der Öl- und Gasindustrie, in der Landwirtschaft, in der Medizin und Pharmaindustrie, in kritischen Dienstleistungssystemen wie Stromnetzen und Kläranlagen und in IoT-Systemen wie Smart-City-Anwendungen.

Zu den gängigen OPC UA-Anwendungen gehören Gerätediagnosen, Asset Management, Produktionsmanagement, Qualitätskontrollen, Datenerfassung, Unternehmensberichterstattung, Datensicherheit, Datenintegration für GUI-Schnittstellen, Unterstützung von Mitarbeitern an entfernten Standorten und Ereignisüberwachung.

Beispiele aus der Praxis sind die Überwachung der Betriebszeit von Sicherheitskameras, das Versenden von Warnmeldungen bei defekten Sensoren, die Kontrolle der Temperatur im Büro, die Fernverwaltung automatisierter Maschinen, die Schätzung der Arbeitslast, die Verknüpfung eingebetteter Geräte und die Unterstützung von Mitarbeitern an entfernten Standorten.

OPC UA unterstützt auch das industrielle Internet der Dinge (IIoT). OPC UA kann beispielsweise verwendet werden, um Daten von eingebetteten Geräten wie Temperatursensoren in die Cloud zu übertragen, um beispielsweise die Nutzung und die Effizienz von Anlagen zu analysieren.

Die Verwendung von OPC-UA-Objekten zum Abrufen von Daten bietet eine effiziente Möglichkeit für Systeme, kleine Mengen kontextspezifischer Informationen für externe Mitarbeiter abzurufen, wenn diese sie für eine bestimmte Aufgabe benötigen. Alternativ können Objekte abgefragt werden, um alle Daten für den gesamten Betrieb eines Werks anzuzeigen, z. B. um grafische Benutzeroberflächen für ERP-Systeme, Anwendungen zur Ressourcenzuweisung und Buchhaltungssysteme zu erstellen.

Wenn eine Synchronisierung zwischen Geräten an entfernten Standorten und Systemen zur Ressourcenplanung und Fertigungssteuerung erforderlich ist, ermöglicht OPC UA den vertikalen Datenaustausch zwischen heterogenen Treibern und High-Level-Anwendungen.

OPC UA stärkt industrielle Sicherheitsanwendungen. OPC-UA-Ereignisverwaltungsprotokolle können eine Anlage im Falle eines Cyberangriffs auf Feldgeräte automatisch herunterfahren und betroffene Netzwerke isolieren oder einen eingeschränkten Zugriff auf bestimmte Netzwerke erlauben, um die Geschäftskontinuität zu gewährleisten, während der Angriff untersucht wird.

Vorteile von OPC UA

 

 

Dezentralisierung

Historisch gesehen hat die Automatisierungspyramide in industriellen Systemen eine hierarchische Struktur, die den Informationsfluss von Low-Level-Geräten wie Controllern, Sensoren oder Messgeräten zu High-Level-ERP-Anwendungen beschreibt. In der umgekehrten Richtung gibt es einen Kontrollfluss von ERP-Anwendungen auf hoher Ebene zu Geräten auf niedriger Ebene. Low-Level-Komponenten sind über MES-Netzwerke durch SPS und HMIs verbunden.

OPC UA hebt diese Pyramidenstruktur auf, indem es die Systemkomponenten dezentralisiert und die Verwendung von flexibleren Datenmodellierungsstrukturen in einem Mesh-Netzwerk ermöglicht. OPC UA erreicht dies durch die Definition konsistenter Datenstrukturen, die von allen Komponenten verwendet werden. So können zum Beispiel eine ERP-Anwendung und ein Feldsensor das gleiche Informationsmodell verwenden.

OPC UA ermöglicht es Business-Intelligence-Anwendungen, Rohdaten aus einer Vielzahl von Echtzeit-, Ereignis- und historischen Datenquellen zu beziehen.

Plattformunabhängigkeit

In der Vergangenheit liefen industrielle Systeme auf Windows-basierter Software. OPC UA ist plattformunabhängig; Industriesysteme können Software von jedem Hersteller und mit jedem Betriebssystem integrieren. OPC UA kann in eingebetteten Systemen und in der Cloud eingesetzt werden.

Skalierbarkeit

OPC UA ist zukunftssicher. Es ermöglicht Unternehmen die Entwicklung skalierbarer SCADA-Systeme, sodass vorhandene Anlagenausrüstung ohne zusätzliche Konfiguration in neue Softwaremodule integriert werden kann. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Gas- und Ölindustrie, in der Daten von Kalibrier-, Mess- und Durchflussmesssensoren aus der Ferne erfasst werden können, sodass Inspektoren vor Ort die Installation nicht mehr überprüfen müssen.

Erkennungsfunktionalität

OPC UA ist Plug-and-Play-fähig. Kommen neue dezentrale Anlagen zu einer Organisation hinzu oder werden neue Lieferanten beauftragt, kann OPC UA deren Netzwerke automatisch erkennen, konfigurieren und in das Unternehmensnetzwerk integrieren.

Interoperabilität

Die Interoperabilität von OPC UA ermöglicht es Endanwendern, kundenspezifische Industriesysteme mit Geräten und Software verschiedener Anbieter zu erstellen.

Nachteile von OPC UA

 

 

 

Gerätespezifische Einschränkungen

Einige Hersteller urheberrechtlich geschützter Software haben über gerätespezifische Einschränkungen berichtet, z. B. zwischen einem OPC-UA-Server und iFIX von General Electric und HMI-/SCADA-Komponenten, die in den Software-Automatisierungsprodukten des Unternehmens verwendet werden. Zu diesen Einschränkungen gehört die fehlende Unterstützung von bestimmten Funktionen wie „Electronic Signature“, „Enhanced Failover“ und von historischen Datenquellen.

Komplizierte Konfiguration

In der realen Welt verwaltet OPC UA typischerweise den Datenaustausch zwischen MES- und SCADA-Informationssystemen und zwischen Low-Level-Geräten. Es ist ideal für die Systemüberwachung und Berichterstattung geeignet. Obwohl es für die Interoperabilität zwischen heterogenen Geräten entwickelt wurde, wurde es als unflexibel bei der Handhabung unterschiedlicher Datenstrukturen von verschiedenen Herstellern und als kompliziert in der Einrichtung kritisiert.

 

 

OPC UA und Industrie 4.0

 


Im Bereich der industriellen Fertigung werden die Begriffe „Industrie 4.0“ und „vierte industrielle Revolution“ synonym verwendet, um den Trend zur zunehmenden Automatisierung zu bezeichnen, wobei der Schwerpunkt unter anderem auf der Vernetzung von Geräten, dem maschinellen Lernen und dem Internet der Dinge liegt.

Die Hauptmerkmale von OPC UA, nämlich integrierte Sicherheit, Informationsmodellierung, automatische Geräteerkennung, Skalierbarkeit, Verwendung semantischer Daten und Protokollstandardisierung, erfüllen die Anforderungen für die Konformität mit Industrie 4.0.

Eine der größten Herausforderungen für Industrie 4.0 in der Fertigung ist die Erfassung von Echtzeitdaten von Low-Level-Geräten. OPC UA ermöglicht es einem Industrieunternehmen, einen OPC UA-Server in alle seine Geräte einzubetten. Dies bedeutet, dass riesige Mengen an Echtzeitdaten an Steuersysteme und Anwendungen auf Unternehmensebene weitergeleitet werden können, um sie zu analysieren, zu sortieren und mit verschiedenen Verbraucheranwendungen auszutauschen.

Verschiedene Arbeitsgruppen tragen international dazu bei, OPC UA zum Kommunikationsstandard für Industrie 4.0-Produkte und -Dienstleistungen in bestimmten Branchen zu machen.

Eine dieser Gruppen ist die Arbeitsgruppe „ADI (Analyzer Devices) Information Modeling“. ADI wird von der OPC Foundation gesponsert und setzt sich aus Endanwendern und Anbietern der chemischen und pharmazeutischen Industrie zusammen. Eine weitere Gruppe ist die Arbeitsgruppe „OPC UA Tobacco Machine Communication (TMC)“, die am Einsatz interoperabler Fabrikanlagen für die Zigarettenherstellung arbeitet.

Um von der OPC Foundation als Industrie 4.0-kompatibel eingestuft zu werden, muss ein Produkt dem OPC UA-Standard entsprechen, entweder durch die Verwendung von integriertem OPC UA oder durch den Einsatz von Gateway-Software.

Übersicht

 


OPC UA provides a standard for the way servers represent data to clients using an object-oriented model. OPC UA specifies how information in industrial systems is exchanged. Vendors and organizations determine what information is exchanged. This applies to machine-to-machine information exchange, machine-to-application information exchange, and the exchange of information at the control level.

Platform-independent OPC UA eliminates the reliance of industrial manufacturing on Microsoft’s DCOM and OLE technologies.

IIoT, Industry 4.0, and M2M communications are key requirements for industrial organizations to compete globally and to establish secure, scalable products and processes faster. One of the main uses of OPC UA is shorter product development lifecycles through the more effective use of resources and automated processes to produce complex products that are self-managing.

To effect cost-effective automation on the factory floor, companies need a centralized monitoring and control information hub to analyze real-time data and to develop efficient processes. PRTG integrates with OPC UA, providing digitalization teams with multiple information views, for example device downtime, security abnormalities, factory workflows, data requests, machine failures, and new network discoveries.

 

 

 


industrial it

Holen Sie sich Ihr kostenloses Whitepaper

In der modernen industriellen IT brauchen die richtigen Teams die richtigen Daten. Unser Whitepaper zeigt, wie Sie ein ganzheitliches Monitoring aufsetzen und Elemente aus IT, OT und IIoT in Ihr Dashboard bringen.


Whitepaper herunterladen

 

Quellen

 

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

IT Explained:

OPC UA




What is OPC UA?

 

 

 

OPC UA stands for OPC Unified Architecture. It is an extensible, platform-independent standard that enables the secure exchange of information in industrial systems. In 2008, OPC UA was released by the Open Platform Communications (OPC) Foundation, which regulates and maintains the interoperability standard, protocols, and specifications for data communication, mainly in industrial automation operations.

OPC UA is compatible with Windows, macOS, Android, and Linux. It can also be used in embedded systems and bare-metal systems, which do not use an operating system. OPC UA works on PCs, cloud-based infrastructures, PLCs, micro-controllers, and cyber physical systems (CPS).

The goal of OPC UA is to enhance interoperability between hardware devices, and enterprise planning and automation software by providing a framework for industrial companies to converge disparate technologies.

 

Differences between OPC UA and
OPC Classic

 

 

OPC Classic, the predecessor of OPC UA, relies on Microsoft technologies while OPC UA is platform independent. 

OPC Classic does not have built-in security for access control, authentication, and encryption. OPC UA enables data encryption at the data source, ensuring secure transmission without relying on network firewalls at the system’s core. This means security is ensured from the start of the data’s transmission, instead of being confirmed only when it reaches a network’s firewall. OPC UA implements cross-platform security based on the public key infrastructure (PKI) using industry standard x.509 digital certificates.

In contrast to OPC UA, OPC Classic does not support dynamic information modeling, which allows manufacturers to define custom data models depending on the requirements of their industry.

In OPC UA, OPC Classic specifications provide functional modules that can be queried ad hoc. These specifications are OPC DA (Data Access), OPC AE (Alarms and Events), OPC Security, OPC Batch, OPC Command, OPC XML, OPC Data Exchange (DX), and OPC HAD (History Access Data). They are usually referred to collectively as OPC Classic or simply OPC. In OPC UA, they are called profiles. For example, the OPC DA standard is an OPC UA DA profile.

These profiles make up a layer that lies on top of the base layer of OPC UA, which runs common services. All OPC UA profiles use the same common code base whereas, in an OPC Classic setup, each standard has its own code base, which creates duplications in systems where more than one OPC Classic specification is implemented.

How does
OPC UA work?

 


Models

Using models, OPC UA specifies basic rules for exposing data to any application or device that wants to consume it. OPC UA itself is an information-centric data model. It comprises a generic object model with an extensible type system with built-in models for data access. These built-in models specify functions such as alarms and events information, information about historic data, data access details, device descriptions, and to execute programs.

Data can also be accessed through custom models, which are referred to as companion models. These are used in different industries like injection molding machine manufacturing or robotics engineering.

Data flow and connections

OPC UA supports communication between components on five levels in industrial organizations: enterprise, management, operations, control, and field (vendor-specific devices).

Devices expose their data through OPC UA, which enables the transport of this information over a network to a consuming application using standard web services. Data is transported using IP-based protocols and SOAP whereby low-end servers may use UA TCP. Using standard SOAP web services over HTTP allows non-OPC UA clients to request data published by an OPC UA server.

Bridging and gateway software known as OPC UA wrappers enable the flow of data on vendor-specific hardware between OPC UA levels. OPC UA wrappers can also be used to migrate from OPC Classic to OPC UA, or when an OPC server supports UA but an OPC client does not.

Service-oriented architecture (SOA)

OPC UA is based on the SOA client-server communication framework. In OPC UA, there are OPC UA servers and OPC UA clients.

An OPC UA server provides an OPC UA client with applications and control systems, for example MES and SCADA, and with secure access to industrial automation data using OPC UA information models that specify the way data is organized, stored, and collected. The term OPC UA server refers to the OPC UA software standard on the machine, not the hardware itself, which could be a virtual server.

An OPC UA client is a client that can support an OPC UA information model. OPC UA clients request data from and write data to components in a system via OPC UA servers.

SOA systems like OPC UA integrate disparate applications over a network and connect devices on different network nodes.

Nodes

A node is the basic unit of data in the OPC UA address space, which provides a standard way for OPC UA servers to represent objects to OPC UA clients. Nodes are pieces of information (for example, a unique temperature) and consist of attributes, the actual data value, and one or more references to other nodes, each in its own address space. A unique temperature will therefore take up multiple addresses in an address space.

Nodes are referenced by a unique node ID: a namespace URI (unique resource identifier), a data type, and the identifier itself. Each node belongs to a specific namespace. The namespace URI is located in a separate namespace table on the OPC UA server. The namespace table stores separate URIs for information models used by individual organizations that have their own requirements for how data should look and behave. This allows OPC UA to extend its services without changing the underlying design of the standard.

In OPC UA, nodes have multiple classes that enable the creation of variants on the basic node. There are eight core node classes in OPC UA, including objects (physical entities), methods (functions that store data when queried), and variables (actual data).

Object node classes in OPC UA are the key to how it can create complex data and distinguish between similar but different entities, for example a temperature sensor for an air conditioner and a temperature sensor for a boiler.

 

What specifications are included in the OPC UA standard?

 

 

The OPC UA standard itself does not do anything. The standard is a collection of specifications (OPC UA protocols) that define guidelines for communication between servers and clients, including rules for different functions and data structures.

OPC UA has the following specifications: Overview and Concepts, Security Model, Address Space Model, Services, Information Model, Mappings, Profiles, Data Access, Alarms and Conditions, Programs, Historical Access, Discovery and Global Services, Aggregates, PubSub, Safety, and Alias Names. Each specification was designed to address a common problem in industrial systems’ communication networks.

For example, the Alarms and Conditions specification provides a solution to the challenge of standardizing how event and alarm information is pushed from field devices to applications. The Historical Access specification addresses the challenge of standardizing how historical data is accessed in auditing processes. The Programs specification includes information on how developers should handle return codes in their code, among others

 

Where is
OPC UA used?

 

 

OPC UA is used in industrial systems, for example oil and gas, agriculture, medical and pharmaceutical, critical services like electricity grids and sewerage treatment plants, and IoT systems like smart city applications.

Common OPC UA applications include device diagnostics, asset management, production management, quality control, data acquisition, enterprise reporting, data security, data integration for GUI interfaces, remote worker support, and event monitoring.

Real-world examples include monitoring the uptime of security cameras, sending out alerts for malfunctioning sensors, controlling office temperatures, remotely managing automated machines, estimating workloads, linking embedded devices, and supporting remote workers.

OPC UA also supports the industrial internet of things (IIoT). For example, OPC UA may be used to push data from embedded devices like temperature sensors to the cloud, for example to analyze usage and equipment efficiency.

OPC UA’s use of objects to retrieve data provides an efficient way for systems to retrieve small amounts of context-specific information for remote workers as they need it for a specific task. Alternatively, objects may be queried to view all the data for an entire plant’s operations, for example to create graphical user interfaces for ERP systems, resource allocation applications, and accounting systems.

Where synchronization is needed between devices at remote locations, and resource planning and manufacturing control systems, OPC UA enables vertical data exchange between heterogeneous drivers and high-level applications.

OPC UA strengthens industrial security applications. OPC UA events management protocols may automatically shut down a plant in the event of a cyberattack on field devices, and isolate affected networks or allow limited access to specific networks, enabling business continuity while the attack is investigated. 

 

Advantages
of OPC UA

 


Decentralization

Historically, the automation pyramid in industrial systems is a hierarchical structure that describes the flow of information from low-level devices like controllers, sensors, or meters to high-level ERP applications. In the opposite direction is a control flow, from high-level ERP applications to low-level devices. Low-level components are connected via MES networks through PLC and HMIs.

OPC UA does away with this pyramid structure by decentralizing system components and facilitating the use of more flexible data modeling structures in a mesh network. OPC UA achieves this by defining consistent data structures that all components use, for example an ERP application and a field sensor can both use the same information model.

OPC UA enables business intelligence applications to source raw data from a wide range of real-time, event, and historical data sources.

Platform independence

Historically, industrial systems ran on Windows-based software. OPC UA is platform agnostic; industrial systems can integrate software from any vendor, using any operating system. OPC UA can be implemented on embedded systems and in the cloud.

Scalability

OPC UA is future proof. It enables organizations to develop scalable SCADA systems so that existing plant equipment can integrate with new software modules without additional configuration. An example of this is in the gas and oil industry, where data from calibration, metering, and flow meter sensors can be gathered remotely, freeing up site inspectors from physically checking the installation.

Discovery

OPC UA has plug-and-play capability. When new remote plants are added to an organization or new suppliers are commissioned, OPC UA can automatically discover their networks, configure them, and integrate them into the company network.

Interoperability

OPC UA interoperability allows end users to build custom industrial systems using devices and software from different vendors.

 

Disadvantages
of
OPC UA

 

 


Device-specific limitations

Some proprietary software manufacturers have reported device-specific limitations, for example between an OPC UA server and General Electric's iFIX, and HMI/SCADA components used in the company's software automation products. These limitations include a lack of support for specific features like Electronic Signature, Enhanced Failover, and historical data sources.

 

Complicated configuration

In the real world, OPC UA typically manages the exchange of data between MES and SCADA information systems and between low-level devices. It is ideally suited to system monitoring and reporting. Despite being designed to manage interoperability between heterogeneous devices, it has been criticized as being inflexible when handling varied data structures from different vendors, and complicated to implement.

 

 

OPC UA and
Industry 4.0

 

In the sphere of industrial manufacturing, the terms Industry 4.0 and the Fourth Industrial Revolution are used interchangeably to refer to the trend of increased automation, with a focus on device interconnectivity, machine learning, and the Internet of Things among others. 

The primary features of OPC UA, which are built-in security, information modeling capability, automated device discovery, scalability, use of semantic data, and protocol standardization, address the requirements for Industry 4.0 compliance.

One of the main challenges for Industry 4.0 in manufacturing is the collection of real-time data from low-level devices. OPC UA allows an industrial organization to embed an OPC UA server in all its devices. This means that vast amounts of real-time data can be routed to control systems and enterprise-level applications to analyze, sort, and exchange with disparate consuming applications.

Various working groups internationally contribute to making OPC UA the communications standard for Industry 4.0 products and services in specific industries.

One such working group is the ADI (Analyzer Devices) information modeling working group. ADI is sponsored by the OPC Foundation and it is made up of end users and vendors in the chemical and pharmaceutical industries. Another group is the OPC UA Tobacco Machine Communication working group that works to implement interoperable factory equipment for cigarette manufacturing.

To be classified as Industry 4.0 compatible by the OPC Foundation, a product must conform to the OPC UA standard, either by using integrated OPC UA or by using gateway software.

 

Summary

 

OPC UA provides a standard for the way servers represent data to clients using an object-oriented model. OPC UA specifies how information in industrial systems is exchanged. Vendors and organizations determine what information is exchanged. This applies to machine-to-machine information exchange, machine-to-application information exchange, and the exchange of information at the control level.

Platform-independent OPC UA eliminates the reliance of industrial manufacturing on Microsoft’s DCOM and OLE technologies.

IIoT, Industry 4.0, and M2M communications are key requirements for industrial organizations to compete globally and to establish secure, scalable products and processes faster. One of the main uses of OPC UA is shorter product development lifecycles through the more effective use of resources and automated processes to produce complex products that are self-managing.

To effect cost-effective automation on the factory floor, companies need a centralized monitoring and control information hub to analyze real-time data and to develop efficient processes. PRTG integrates with OPC UA, providing digitalization teams with multiple information views, for example device downtime, security abnormalities, factory workflows, data requests, machine failures, and new network discoveries.

 

 

 

Sources

 

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.