PRTG Hosted Monitor

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen zu Paessler PRTG Hosted Monitor

 

 

1. FAQ zu PRTG Hosted Monitor

 
 

1. Was kann ich überwachen?

Router, Switches, Server, Hardware, Software, Betriebssysteme, Anwendungen, virtuelle Umgebungen, Websites, E-Mail-Server, Datenbanken, VoIP und QoS, IP SLA, Protokolle, Ereignisse, Performance, NetFlow/IPFIX, sFlow und jFlow, Packet Sniffing, SNMP, WMI, Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit und vieles mehr!

Wir bieten über 250 sofort einsatzfertige Sensoren und viele anpassbare Optionen wie vorkonfigurierte benutzerdefinierbare Sensoren und die Möglichkeit, Ihre eigenen Skripts zu  verwenden. Es gibt wirklich viel zu monitoren. Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über alle PRTG Funktionen.

2. Wie sammelt PRTG Hosted Monitor seine Daten?

Mit PRTG Hosted Monitor beginnen Sie sofort mit dem Monitoring aller Server, Dienste oder auch Geräte, die öffentlich über das Internet verfügbar sind. Wenn Sie Ziele in Ihrem LAN überwachen möchten, die nicht über das Internet zugänglich sind, können Sie eine Remote Probe in Ihrem Netzwerk installieren. Die Remote Probe sammelt die Monitoring-Daten von Ihrem internen Netzwerk und sendet sie an Ihre PRTG Hosted Monitor-Instanz in der Cloud, wo alle Monitoring-Daten an einer Stelle verfügbar sind. Die Remote Probe überwacht alle Geräte in Ihrem Netzwerk mit den Sensoren, die Sie konfiguriert haben. Sie können beliebig viele Remote Probes verbinden, um mehrere LANs verfügbar zu haben, die eventuell durch Firewalls getrennt sind, oder um Packet Sniffing an Computern in Ihrem LAN einzusetzen. Weitere Einzelheiten zu Remote Probes sowie einen einfachen Installations-Leitfaden finden Sie im PRTG Manual.

3. Was ist der Unterschied zwischen PRTG Hosted Monitor und PRTG Network Monitor?

PRTG Hosted Monitor wird als Dienst von Paessler angeboten und in der Cloud ausgeführt. Sie brauchen keine PRTG Core-Server-Installation in Ihrem Netzwerk, weil wir das Hosting für Sie übernehmen.

Mit PRTG Network Monitor integrieren Sie den PRTG Core Server direkt in Ihr Netzwerk. Die wichtigsten Unterschiede finden Sie in der folgenden Tabelle:

  PRTG Hosted Monitor

PRTG Network Monitor

Ausführung von PRTG Core- und Local Probes In der Cloud In Ihrem Netzwerk
Remote Probes laufen Auf Ihren Servern Auf Ihren Servern
Zahlweise Monatlich Einmalige Lizenz zuzüglich jährlicher Wartung
Änderung der Abonnement-/Lizenzgröße Upgrade und Downgrade jederzeit Nur Upgrade
Maximale Installationsgröße 10.000 Sensoren Ohne Begrenzung*
Testphase 10 Tage 30 Tage
Freeware (100 Sensoren) Nicht verfügbar Nach der Testphase verfügbar
Benutzerdefinierte Sensoren (auf Probe-Basis) Ja (bei Remote Probes) Ja
RDP/Konsolen-Zugriff auf PRTG Core Server verfügbar Nein Ja
Cluster-Unterstützung Nein Ja
Updates verwaltet von Paessler Benutzer


* Siehe Systemanforderungen.

4. Wie schützen Sie meine Passwörter und Daten?

Standardmäßig ist die Benutzeroberfläche von PRTG Hosted Monitor nur über eine gesicherte HTTPS-Verbindung zugänglich. Auf Betriebssystemebene sorgen Amazons AWS-Firewalls für die Sicherheit Ihres Netzwerks, und natürlich werden alle Passwörter durch individuelle Verschlüsselung geschützt.

5. Wie wird mein Monitoring beeinträchtigt, wenn meine Internetverbindung ausgefallen ist?

Die Remote Probe fährt mit dem Monitoring fort und speichert die Ergebnisse. Sobald die Internetverbindung wiederhergestellt ist, werden zwischengespeicherte Daten an PRTG Hosted Monitor gesendet und in die Datenbank geschrieben. Weitere Einzelheiten finden Sie im PRTG Manual zu Remote Probes. Ohne Internetverbindung können Sie das Web-Interface von PRTG Hosted Monitor natürlich nicht erreichen.

6. Werde ich weiterhin Benachrichtigungen erhalten, wenn meine Internetverbindung ausgefallen ist?

PRTG Hosted Monitor wird Sie sofort entsprechend den Einstellungen benachrichtigen. Verfügbare Benachrichtigungsmethoden sind z. B. Push-Nachrichten oder E-Mail. Um diese Benachrichtigungen erhalten zu können, muss das empfangende Gerät mit dem Internet verbunden sein.

7. Wie viele Standorte kann ich mit PRTG Hosted Monitor überwachen?

Sie können Remote Probes von unterschiedlichen Standorten mit Ihrer PRTG Hosted Monitor Instanz verbinden: Die Obergrenze entspricht der Gesamtanzahl Ihrer Sensoren.

8. Kann ich mit PRTG Hosted Monitor einen Cluster einrichten?

Mit PRTG Hosted Monitor ist redundantes Monitoring nicht erforderlich. Wir haben unseren Dienst so aufgebaut, dass häufige Backups der Konfigurationsdatei vorgenommen werden. Falls eine Instanz ausfallen sollte, starten wir Ihre Instanz einfach für Sie neu und stellen automatisch das neueste Backup bereit, das höchstens eine Stunde alt sein wird.

9. Wie sendet PRTG Hosted Monitor E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen?

PRTG Hosted Monitor verwendet SendGrid zum Senden von E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen. Diese Einstellungen sind vorkonfiguriert und können nicht auf einen anderen SMTP-Server umgeändert werden. Von PRTG Hosted Monitor gesendete E-Mails können von den folgenden IPs stammen:

  • 167.89.112.157
  • 167.89.112.127
  • 167.89.111.43

Standardmäßig wird die E-Mail-Adresse des Abonnementbesitzers als Absender der Benachrichtigungen eingestellt. Diese Einstellung kann unter „Setup | System Administration | Notification Delivery“ geändert werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Benachrichtigungen je nach Einstellungen Ihres E-Mail-Servers an der Empfängerseite blockiert werden könnten, weil sie nicht wirklich aus Ihrer Domain stammen. In diesem Fall haben Sie zwei Möglichkeiten:

  1. Sie können die SPF/DMARC-Konfiguration an Ihrer Seite aktualisieren, damit die E-Mails von den zuvor genannten IPs akzeptiert werden. Siehe dazu auch https://sendgrid.com/docs/glossary/spf/
  2. Sie können für den Absender eine allgemeine E-Mail-Adresse wie [email protected] einstellen.

Wir überwachen die E-Mail-Zuverlässigkeit jeder Instanz und ergreifen Maßnahmen, um zu verhindern, dass E-Mails von Instanzen mit schlechter Zuverlässigkeit gesendet werden, was gewöhnlich darauf hindeutet, dass die Instanz zum Senden von SPAM missbraucht wird.

10. Kann ich von PRTG Hosted Monitor zu PRTG Network Monitor oder umgekehrt migrieren?

Nein, weder die Lizenz noch die Daten können migriert werden. Das liegt daran, dass die Daten Ihrer Instanz in der Cloud gespeichert werden und Sie nicht einfach auf Betriebssystemebene darauf zugreifen können, wie es mit einer lokalen PRTG Version möglich wäre. Außerdem haben PRTG Hosted Monitor und PRTG Network Monitor zwei grundsätzlich unterschiedliche Preisstrukturen. Bei Ersterem handelt es sich um ein abonnementbasiertes Modell und bei Letzterem um einen einmaligen Kauf zuzüglich Wartungskosten.

11. Wo bekomme ich Updates zu den Leistungen der Dienste und Features?

Auf der Statusseite zu PRTG Hosted Monitor finden Sie Updates zu den Leistungen unserer Dienste und Features. Falls es Unterbrechungen unseres Dienstes geben sollte, werden wir Sie entsprechend informieren.

 

 

Kostenlosen Test starten
Kostenlose 10-Tage-Testversion.
Kündigung oder Upgrade auf kostenpflichtiges Abonnement jederzeit möglich.

 

2. FAQ zur Preisgestaltung

 
 

1. Kann ich PRTG Hosted Monitor für jeweils 12 Monate abonnieren?

Zurzeit ist ein Abonnement von PRTG Hosted Monitor nur für jeweils einen Monat möglich.

Der Hauptvorteil liegt in der Flexibilität, die Sie dadurch erhalten. Wenn Sie mehr oder weniger Sensoren brauchen, wechseln Sie einfach zu einem anderen Abonnement.

2. Welche Zahlungsmöglichkeiten gibt es?

Wir akzeptieren nur Kreditkarten.

3. Wie funktioniert die Abrechnung für PRTG Hosted Monitor?

Der entscheidende Faktor ist die Flexibilität.

Darum wird PRTG Hosted Monitor auf Grundlage des gewählten Abonnements monatlich im Voraus berechnet. Wenn Sie sich für ein Abonnement entschieden haben, wird Ihre Kreditkarte im Voraus mit den monatlichen Kosten belastet und Sie können PRTG Hosted Monitor für einen Monat verwenden. Der Wechsel zu einem anderen Abonnement ist jederzeit möglich. Das Guthaben auf Ihrem Konto wird auf den neuen Preis angerechnet. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel ein neues Abonnement wählen, das halb so viel kostet wie das ursprünglich gewählte, können Sie PRTG Hosted Monitor einen zweiten Monat lang nutzen, ohne dass Ihnen dies in Rechnung gestellt wird. Wenn Sie während eines Monats das Abonnement wechseln, werden Ihnen Teilbeträge in Rechnung gestellt.

4. Wie unterscheidet sich ein Abonnement von einer unbefristeten Lizenz?

Im Vergleich zu einer unbefristeten Lizenz haben Sie mit einem Abonnement für PRTG Hosted Monitor immer Zugang zu den neuesten Updates, die neue Funktionen, zahlreiche Verbesserungen und Fehlerbehebungen enthalten.

5. Kann ich die E-Mail-Adresse meines Kontos ändern?

Die Haupt-E-Mail-Adresse Ihres Kontos kann geändert werden. Schicken Sie dafür eine Anforderung per E-Mail an [email protected]. Zuvor müssen Sie mit Ihrer neuen E-Mail-Adresse einen Benutzer anlegen.

Beim Wechsel kommt es zu ca. 15 Minuten Downtime für Ihre Instanz.

Wenn Sie also ein neues Abonnement beginnen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, dieses mit einer allgemeinen E-Mail-Adresse für Ihr Team zu registrieren, zum Beispiel [email protected] oder [email protected]

 

3. FAQ zu Systemanforderungen

 
 

1. Was sind die Systemanforderungen für PRTG Hosted Monitor?

Da PRTG Hosted Monitor in der Cloud gehostet wird, können Sie von jedem Gerät aus einfach über Ihren Webbrowser darauf zugreifen und brauchen keine zusätzliche Hardware oder Software.

Zur Sammlung von Monitoring-Daten aus Ihrem Netzwerk müssen Sie eine Remote Probe in Ihrer Umgebung installieren. Dafür wird ein einfacher PC oder ein Server mit Windows ab Version 7 in Ihrem Netzwerk benötigt.

Detaillierte Angaben zu den Hardware-Anforderungen für Remote Probes finden Sie im PRTG Manual.

2. Welche Änderungen muss ich an meiner lokalen Infrastruktur für PRTG Hosted Monitor vornehmen (z. B. Firewall-Einstellungen, neues Administratorkonto für Active Directory)?

Sie in Ihrem Netzwerk installieren müssen. Diese Probe initiiert die Verbindung von Ihrem lokalen Netzwerk zur Cloud. Also müssen Sie möglicherweise überhaupt nichts konfigurieren (je nach bestehenden Netzwerk-Konfigurationen). Generell muss eine Remote Probe eine ausgehende Verbindung an Port 23560 zu Ihrer Instanz von PRTG Hosted Monitor initiieren können.

Weitere Einzelheiten finden Sie im PRTG Manual zu Remote Probes.

3. Was sind die Obergrenzen an einer Instanz von PRTG Hosted Monitor?

Wir bietet bis zu 10.000 Sensoren pro Instanz von PRTG Hosted Monitor.

Wenn Sie mehr als eine Instanz benötigen, können Sie jederzeit eine weitere erstellen.

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

PRTG Hosted Monitor

Frequently asked questions

Here you can find answers to the most common questions
regarding Paessler PRTG Hosted Monitor

 

 

1. FAQ about PRTG Hosted Monitor

 
 

1. What can I monitor?

Support for all common standards (ICMP, HTTP, REST, SNMP, WMI, SSH, OPC UA, etc.)

We offer over 250 sensors out of the box and many customizable options like preconfigured custom sensors and using your own scripts. Phew, there is a lot to monitor, right? Get an overview of all PRTG features here.

2. How does PRTG Hosted Monitor collect data?

With PRTG Hosted Monitor, you can instantly start to monitor all servers, services, or devices that are publicly available via the internet. If you'd like to monitor targets in your LAN that aren't available over the internet, you can install a remote probe in your network. The remote probe collects the monitoring data from your internal network and connects back to your PRTG Hosted Monitor instance in the cloud, where all monitoring data is available in one place. The remote probe monitors all devices from your network using the sensors you have configured. You can connect as many remote probes as you'd like to make multiple LANs available that may be separated by firewalls, or to use packet sniffing on computers in your LAN. For more details on remote probes and an easy installation guide, please refer to the PRTG Manual.

3. What’s the difference between PRTG Hosted Monitor and PRTG Network Monitor?

PRTG Hosted Monitor is offered as a service by Paessler and runs in the cloud. You don't need a PRTG core server installation inside your network because we take over the hosting for you.

With PRTG Network Monitor, you integrate the PRTG core server directly into your network. Please see the following table from our PRTG Manual for the most important differences:

Licensing, Payment, Infrastructure

Topic PRTG Hosted Monitor

PRTG Network Monitor

Trial period 10 days 30 days
Freeware edition No freeware available, smallest edition is PRTG 500 Freeware (100 sensors)
available
Payment Monthly or annual subscription One-time license fee plus
annual maintenance
PRTG edition size flexibility Upgrade or downgrade Upgrade only
Maximum installation size 10,000 sensors Unrestricted
PRTG update management Done by Paessler Done by user

 

Features

Feature PRTG Hosted Monitor

PRTG Network Monitor

Local probe No Yes
Hosted probe Yes No
Cluster No Yes
Freeware edition (100 sensors) No Yes
Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) access to core server No Yes
Historic data purging (manually defined) No Yes
Active Directory integration No Yes
Subscription/license settings via PRTG web interface No Yes
Recommended sensors on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Auto-discovery for groups on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Mini probes No Yes
Device tools on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Proxy server settings No Yes
System information on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
PRTG Administration Tool on PRTG core server No Yes

Notification methods:

  • Add Entry to Event Log
  • Send Syslog Message
  • Send SNMP Trap
  • Execute Program
No Yes
Re-login request on setup pages after 15 minutes No Yes
IPv6 on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Single sign-on No Yes
Multi-factor authentication Yes No

4. What does ‘hosted by Paessler’ mean?

‘Hosted by Paessler’ means that we take over the hosting for you and provide you with an SaaS monitoring solution that is hosted on reliable AWS servers in the region of your choice. You do not need a PRTG server installation inside your network or any dedicated server hardware – PRTG Hosted Monitor is agentless and you can immediately start monitoring from your browser.

We also take care of making regular backups of your configuration and data, and we automatically update your hosted instance to the latest PRTG version, so no action is required from your side. In addition, we make sure that your hosted instance is not only secure but also highly available – we monitor your instance for potentially suspicious actions and automatically restart it if there is an issue.

5. How will you keep my passwords and data secure?

By default, the PRTG Hosted Monitor user interface is only accessible via a secured HTTPS connection. On an operating system level, Amazon's AWS firewalls will ensure the security of your network and, of course, all passwords are secured using individual encryption.

6. How is my monitoring affected when my internet connection is down?

The remote probe continues its monitoring and stores the results. Once the internet connection is re-established, cached data is sent to PRTG Hosted Monitor and written to the database. For details, see the PRTG manual on remote probes. Of course, without an internet connection, you will not be able to reach the user interface of PRTG Hosted Monitor.

7. Will I still receive alerts when my internet connection is down?

PRTG Hosted Monitor will instantly alert you as configured. Available notification methods are push notifications or email, for example. In order to receive these notifications, please make sure your receiving device is connected to the internet.

8. How many locations can I monitor with PRTG Hosted Monitor?

You can connect remote probes from different locations to PRTG Hosted Monitor: the limit is your total number of sensors.

9. Can I set up a cluster with PRTG Hosted Monitor?

There's no need for redundant monitoring with PRTG Hosted Monitor. We have built our service so that it frequently saves backups of the configuration file. Should an instance crash, we simply restart your instance for you and automatically roll out the latest backup. The latest backup will not be older than one hour.

10. How does PRTG Hosted Monitor send email notifications?

PRTG Hosted Monitor uses SendGrid for sending email notifications. These settings are preconfigured and cannot be changed to some other SMTP server. Emails sent by PRTG Hosted Monitor can originate from the following IPs:

  • 167.89.112.157
  • 167.89.112.127
  • 167.89.111.43

By default, the email address of the subscription's owner is set as the sender of the notifications. This can be changed under Setup | System Administration | Notification Delivery. Please note that depending on your email server's settings on the receiving end, those notifications could be blocked due to the fact that they do not really originate from your domain. In this case, you have two options:

  1. Update the SPF/DMARC configuration on your end so that it accepts those emails from the aforementioned IPs, see also https://sendgrid.com/docs/glossary/spf/
  2. Change the Sender Email to something generic like [email protected].

We monitor the email reputation of each instance and take measures to prevent emails being sent from instances with a poor reputation, which usually indicates that the instance is being abused for sending SPAM.

11. Can I migrate from PRTG Hosted Monitor to PRTG Network Monitor, or the other way around?

No, neither the subscription nor the data can be migrated. The reason behind this is that your instance's data is stored in the cloud and you can't simply access it on an operating system level as you could with PRTG Network Monitor. Also, both PRTG Hosted Monitor and PRTG Network Monitor have two fundamentally different pricing structures. The former is a subscription model and the latter a one-time purchase plus maintenance.

12. Where can I get updates on how the services and features are doing?

On the PRTG Hosted Monitor status page, you can get updates on how our services and features are doing. If there are any interruptions to our service, we will post a note to keep you informed.

 

 

Start Free Trial
Sign up for a free 10-day trial. Cancel anytime or upgrade to a paid subscription.

 

2. FAQ about pricing

 
 

1. Can I purchase PRTG Hosted Monitor for 12 months at a time?

Yes, you can purchase PRTG Hosted Monitor as an annual subscription. You can also start with the monthly subscription and switch to an annual subscription as soon as you are ready for it.

2. What are the payment methods?

The monthly subscriptions can only be paid via credit card. For our yearly subscriptions, you have the choice between credit card payment and payment via bank transfer. For the latter, you will need to request "Purchase on Account" as payment option. We will help you get the purchase done from that point on.

3. How does billing work for PRTG Hosted Monitor?

You have the choice. If flexibility is key for you, then we recommend our monthly subscriptions.

This is why PRTG Hosted Monitor is pre-billed monthly based on the pricing plan that you choose. If you subscribe to a plan, your credit card is charged up front with the monthly costs and you can use PRTG Hosted Monitor for one month. You can switch plans at any time. The balance on your account will be credited towards the new price. For example, if you select a new plan that costs half as much as the one you originally chose, you can use PRTG Hosted Monitor for a second month without being billed. If you switch plans during a month, you will be billed in part.

If you would like to plan ahead, our annual subscriptions are the way to go for you. You pay upfront for a whole year and besides credit card as payment method, you can also request Purchase on Account.

4. How does a subscription differ from a perpetual license?

In comparison to a perpetual license, a PRTG Hosted Monitor subscription will always give you access to the latest updates, which include new features, numerous improvements, and bug fixes. Every PRTG update we roll out to PRTG Hosted Monitor is thoroughly checked and is usually automatically rolled out 2 weeks after the roll out for perpetual on-premise licenses.

5. Can I change my account email address?

The main email address of your account can be changed. This can be done on request via an email to [email protected]. Beforehand, you need to create a user with your new email address.

The move involves approximately a 15-minute downtime for your instance.

So, if you are about to start a new subscription, we recommend that you register with a generic email address from your team. For example [email protected] or [email protected]

 

3. FAQ about requirements

 
 

1. What are the system requirements for PRTG Hosted Monitor?

As PRTG Hosted Monitor is hosted in the cloud, you can simply access it via your web browser on any device and you don't need any additional hardware or software.

To gather monitoring data from inside your network, you need to install a remote probe in your environment. This requires a simple PC or server that runs Windows 7 or later in your network.

For detailed hardware requirements for remote probes, please refer to our system requirements page.

2. What changes do I need to make to my on-premises infrastructure for PRTG Hosted Monitor to work (for example, firewall settings, new Active Directory admin account)?

The actual monitoring of your network will be performed by the remote probe that you need to install in your network. The remote probe initiates the connection from your local network to the cloud, so you might not need to configure anything (depending on existing network configurations). In general, a remote probe must be allowed to initiate an outgoing connection on port 23560 to your PRTG Hosted Monitor instance. If you need the external IP address for the PRTG core server and/or hosted probe, ping the DNS name of your instance.

For details, please see the PRTG manual on remote probes.

3. What are the upper limits on one PRTG Hosted Monitor instance?

We offer up to 10,000 sensors on PRTG Hosted Monitor instances.

If you need more than one instance, you can create an additional one at any time.

4. Where is my PRTG Hosted instance located?

In the quick start process of your new instance, you can choose from one of the following regions:

USA (East and West)

Ireland (Europe)

Singapore (Asia Pacific)

Sydney (Asia Pacific)

If you need to change that later, contact us at [email protected] As this includes a switch of your instance and configuration, your instance will not be reachable for the time being.

All PRTG Hosted Monitor instances are provided with the support of AWS services and solutions.