PRTG Hosted Monitor

Questions fréquemment posées

Vous trouverez ici la plupart des réponses aux questions usuelles
 relatives au Paessler PRTG Hosted Monitor

 

 

 

1. FAQ about PRTG Hosted Monitor

 
 

1. Que puis-je superviser ?

Routeurs, switchs, serveurs, équipements, logiciels, systèmes d'exploitation, applications, environnements virtualisés, sites Internet, serveurs mail, bases de données, VoIP et QoS, IP SLA, journaux, évènements, performances, NetFlow/IPFIX, sFlow et jFlow, reniflage des paquets, SNMP, WMI, température, humidité, bien plus encore !

Nous fournissons plus de 250 capteurs out of the box et de nombreuses options personnalisables, comme des capteurs personnalisés et préconfigurés, en utilisant vos propres scripts. Eh bien, cela fait beaucoup de choses à superviser, n'est-ce pas ? Ayez une vue d'ensemble de toutes les fonctions PRTG ici.

2. Comment PRTG Hosted Monitor collecte les données ?

Avec PRTG Hosted Monitor, vous pouvez directement démarrer la supervision de tous les serveurs, de tous les services ou équipements qui sont accessibles publiquement via Internet. Si vous souhaitez superviser des équipements de votre réseau qui ne sont pas accessibles par Internet, vous pouvez installer une sonde distante dans votre réseau. La sonde distante collecte les données de supervision de votre réseau local et se connecte à votre instance PRTG Hosted Monitor dans le Cloud, où toutes les données sont disponibles en un seul endroit. Les sondes distantes supervisent tous les équipements de votre réseau, en utilisant les capteurs que vous avez configurés. Vous pouvez connecter autant de sondes distantes que vous le voulez pour pouvoir accéder à différents réseaux locaux, éventuellement séparés par des pare-feux. Vous pouvez également utiliser le reniflage des paquets sur des ordinateurs de votre réseau local. Pour avoir plus de détails sur les sondes distantes et obtenir un guide d'installation facile, veuillez consulter le manuel de PRTG.

3. Quelle est la différence entre PRTG Hosted Monitor et PRTG Network Monitor ?

PRTG Hosted Monitor est proposé en tant que service par Paessler et fonctionne dans le Cloud. Vous n'avez pas besoin d'installer un serveur central PRTG dans votre réseau car nous l'hébergeons pour vous.

Avec PRTG Network Monitor, vous intégrez le serveur central PRTG directement dans votre réseau. Le tableau suivant vous montre les principales différences :

  PRTG Hosted Monitor

PRTG Network Monitor

Le noyau PRTG et les sondes locales fonctionnent Dans le Cloud Dans votre réseau
Les sondes distantes fonctionnent Sur nos serveurs Sur nos serveurs
Paiement Mensuel Licence unique et maintenance annuelle
Changement de taille de l'édition Augmenter et diminuer à tout moment Uniquement augmenter
Taille maximale de l'installation 10 000 capteurs Aucune restriction*
Période d'essai 10 jours 30 jours
Freeware (100 capteurs) Non disponible Disponible après essai
Capteurs personnalisés (à base de sonde) Oui (sur les sondes distantes) Oui
RDP/Possibilité d'accès à la console du serveur central PRTG Non Oui
Supporte les clusters Non Oui
Les mises à jour sont gérées par Paessler L'utilisateur


* Veuillez consulter les recommandations de dimensionnement.

4. Comment allez vous sécuriser mes mots de passe et mes données?

Par défaut, l'interface utilisateur PRTG Hosted Monitor n'est accessible que par une connexion HTTPS sécurisée. Au niveau du système d'exploitation, les pare-feux AWS d'Amazon assurent la sécurité de votre réseau et tous les mots de passe sont bien entendu sécurisés par un cryptage individuel.

5. Que se passe-t-il avec ma supervision quand ma connexion Internet est interrompue ?

Les sondes distantes continuent la supervision et enregistrent les résultats. Une fois la connexion Internet rétablie, les données enregistrées en cache sont envoyées au PRTG Hosted Monitor et sont enregistrées dans la base de données. Pour plus de détails voir Manuel de PRTG sur les sondes distantes. Bien entendu, sans connexion Internet, vous ne pourrez pas atteindre l'interface Web de votre PRTG Hosted Monitor.

6. Vais-je continuer à recevoir des alertes si ma connexion Internet est interrompue ?

Votre PRTG Hosted Monitor vous alertera immédiatement en fonction de son paramétrage. Les méthodes de notification sont des notifications Push ou des mails par exemple. Afin de recevoir ces notifications, assurez-vous que l'équipement récepteur soit connecté à Internet.

7. Combien de sites puis-je superviser avec PRTG Hosted Monitor ?

Vous pouvez connecter des sondes distantes sur différents sites à votre instance PRTG Hosted Monitor : la limite correspond au nombre total de capteurs que vous avez.

8. Puis-je installer un cluster PRTG Hosted Monitor ?

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir une supervision redondante avec PRTG Hosted Monitor. Nous avons intégré des services qui effectuent des sauvegardes régulières des fichiers de configuration. Si une instance s'arrête, nous redémarrons tout simplement l'instance pour vous et nous restaurons automatiquement la dernière sauvegarde. La dernière sauvegarde n'aura pas plus d'une heure.

9. Comment PRTG Hosted Monitor envoie des mails de notification ?

PRTG Hosted Monitor utilise SendGrid pour envoyer les mails de notification. Les paramètres sont préconfigurés et ne peuvent pas être changés pour un autre serveur SMTP. Les mails envoyés par PRTG Hosted Monitor viennent originalement des adresses IP suivantes :

  • 167.89.112.157
  • 167.89.112.127
  • 167.89.111.43

Par défaut, c'est l'adresse mail du propriétaire de l'abonnement qui est utilisée pour envoyer les notifications. Cela peut être modifié dans "Setup | System Administration | Notification Delivery". Veuillez noter que, selon les paramètres de votre serveur mail, ces notifications peuvent être bloquées au niveau de la réception parce qu'elles ne proviennent pas réellement de votre domaine. Dans ce cas, vous avez deux options :

  1. Mettre à jour votre configuration SPF/DMARC, de façon à ce que les mails envoyés à partir des adresses IP citées ci-dessus soient acceptés. Voir également https://sendgrid.com/docs/glossary/spf/
  2. Changer l'adresse mail d'envoi pour quelque chose de générique, tel que [email protected]

Nous vérifions la notoriété de chaque instance et nous prenons des mesures pour éviter l'envoi de mails ayant une mauvaise notoriété. Cela signifie généralement que l'instance a été détournée pour envoyer des SPAMS.

10. Puis-je passer de PRTG Hosted Monitor à PRTG Network Monitor, et vice versa ?

Non, ni les licences, ni les données ne peuvent être transférées. La raison en est que les données des instances sont enregistrées dans le Cloud et que vous pouvez simplement y accéder au niveau du système d'exploitation, comme vous le pourriez avec PRTG installé localement. En outre, PRTG Hosted Monitor et PRTG Network Monitor ont deux modèles de prix fondamentalement différents. Le premier est un modèle par abonnement, le second est basé sur l'achat et sur la maintenance.

11. Comment puis-je obtenir les mises à jour et comment fonctionnent les services et les fonctions ?

Sur la page de statut PRTG Hosted Monitor, vous pouvez obtenir les mises à jour et consulter comment fonctionnent nos services et les fonctions. Si notre service devait s'interrompre, nous continuerons à vous informer par voie postale.

 

 

Essai gratuit
Inscrivez-vous pour un essai gratuit de 10 jours.
Annulez à tout moment ou prenez un abonnement payant.

 

2. FAQ sur les prix

 
 

1. Puis-je acheter en une seule fois PRTG Hosted Monitor pour 12 mois ?

Actuellement, vous ne pouvez acheter PRTG Hosted Monitor que sur une base mensuelle.

L'avantage principal en est la flexibilité. Changer simplement vos plans d'abonnement à chaque fois que vous avez besoin d'un nombre plus ou moins important de capteurs.

2. Quels sont les modes de paiement ?

Nous n'acceptons que les cartes de crédit.

3. Comment se fait la facturation de PRTG Hosted Monitor ?

La flexibilité est un point essentiel.

C'est pourquoi PRTG Hosted Monitor est facturé mensuellement pour le mois à venir en fonction du plan d'abonnement que vous avez choisi. Si vous vous abonnez à un plan, votre carte de crédit sera débitée des coûts mensuels et vous pourrez utiliser PRTG Hosted Monitor pendant un mois. Vous pouvez modifier les plans à tout moment. Le solde de votre compte sera crédité en fonction du nouveau prix. Par exemple, si vous sélectionnez un nouveau plan coûtant la moitié de celui que vous aviez choisi au départ, vous pourrez utiliser PRTG Hosted Monitor un mois de plus sans être facturé. Si vous changez de plan en cours de mois, vous serez facturé au prorata.

4. Quelle est la différence entre un abonnement et une licence permanente ?

Contrairement aux licences permanentes, avec un abonnement PRTG Hosted Monitor, vous aurez toujours accès aux dernières mises à jour, qui incluent les nouvelles fonctionnalités, de nombreuses améliorations et des corrections de bogues.

5. Puis-je changer l'adresse mail de mon compte ?

L'adresse mail principale de votre compte peut être changée. Cela peut se faire en envoyant un mail à l'adresse [email protected]. Avant de le faire, vous devez créer un utilisateur avec la nouvelle adresse mail.

Ce changement provoque un arrêt de votre instance d'environ 15 minutes.

Donc, si vous voulez commencer avec un nouvel abonnement, nous vous recommandons d'enregistrer votre licence avec une adresse mail générique de votre équipe. Par exemple [email protected] ou [email protected]

 

3. FAQ sur le dimensionnement

 
 

1. Quels sont les besoins système pour PRTG Hosted Monitor ?

Etant donné que PRTG Hosted Monitor est hébergé dans le Cloud, vous pouvez simplement y accéder avec votre navigateur Web à partir d'un équipement quelconque et vous n'avez pas besoin de matériel ou de logiciels additionnels.

Pour collecter des données de supervision à partir de votre réseau, vous devez installer une sonde distante dans votre environnement. Pour cela, il suffit d'un simple PC ou d'un serveur fonctionnant avec une version Windows 7 ou plus récente.

Pour connaitre les besoins en matériel des sondes distantes, veuillez consulter notre manuel de PRTG.

2. Quelles modifications dois-je apporter à mon infrastructure locale pour que PRTG Hosted Monitor fonctionne (par exemple, les paramètres de pare-feu, le nouveau compte d'administrateur Active Direct

La supervision actuelle de votre réseau s'effectue à l'aide de sondes distantes que vous devez installer dans votre réseau. Ces sondes déclenchent la connexion entre votre réseau local et le Cloud, si bien que vous n'aurez rien à configurer (cela dépend des configurations réseau existantes). En général, les sondes distantes doivent être autorisées à déclencher une connexion sur le port 23560 pour accéder à votre instance PRTG Hosted Monitor.

Pour plus de détails voir Manuel de PRTG sur les sondes distantes.

3. Quelles sont les limites supérieures pour une instance PRTG Hosted Monitor ?

Nous mettons jusqu'à 10 000 capteurs à votre disposition pour les instances PRTG Hosted Monitor.

Si vous avez besoin de plus d'une instance, vous pouvez créer une instance supplémentaire à tout. moment.

This third party content uses Performance cookies. Change your Cookie Settings or

load anyways

*This will leave your Cookie Settings unchanged.

PRTG Hosted Monitor

Frequently asked questions

Here you can find answers to the most common questions
regarding Paessler PRTG Hosted Monitor

 

 

1. FAQ about PRTG Hosted Monitor

 
 

1. What can I monitor?

Support for all common standards (ICMP, HTTP, REST, SNMP, WMI, SSH, OPC UA, etc.)

We offer over 250 sensors out of the box and many customizable options like preconfigured custom sensors and using your own scripts. Phew, there is a lot to monitor, right? Get an overview of all PRTG features here.

2. How does PRTG Hosted Monitor collect data?

With PRTG Hosted Monitor, you can instantly start to monitor all servers, services, or devices that are publicly available via the internet. If you'd like to monitor targets in your LAN that aren't available over the internet, you can install a remote probe in your network. The remote probe collects the monitoring data from your internal network and connects back to your PRTG Hosted Monitor instance in the cloud, where all monitoring data is available in one place. The remote probe monitors all devices from your network using the sensors you have configured. You can connect as many remote probes as you'd like to make multiple LANs available that may be separated by firewalls, or to use packet sniffing on computers in your LAN. For more details on remote probes and an easy installation guide, please refer to the PRTG Manual.

3. What’s the difference between PRTG Hosted Monitor and PRTG Network Monitor?

PRTG Hosted Monitor is offered as a service by Paessler and runs in the cloud. You don't need a PRTG core server installation inside your network because we take over the hosting for you.

With PRTG Network Monitor, you integrate the PRTG core server directly into your network. Please see the following table from our PRTG Manual for the most important differences:

Licensing, Payment, Infrastructure

Topic PRTG Hosted Monitor

PRTG Network Monitor

Trial period 10 days 30 days
Freeware edition No freeware available, smallest edition is PRTG 500 Freeware (100 sensors)
available
Payment Monthly or annual subscription One-time license fee plus
annual maintenance
PRTG edition size flexibility Upgrade or downgrade Upgrade only
Maximum installation size 10,000 sensors Unrestricted
PRTG update management Done by Paessler Done by user

 

Features

Feature PRTG Hosted Monitor

PRTG Network Monitor

Local probe No Yes
Hosted probe Yes No
Cluster No Yes
Freeware edition (100 sensors) No Yes
Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) access to core server No Yes
Historic data purging (manually defined) No Yes
Active Directory integration No Yes
Subscription/license settings via PRTG web interface No Yes
Recommended sensors on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Auto-discovery for groups on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Mini probes No Yes
Device tools on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Proxy server settings No Yes
System information on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
PRTG Administration Tool on PRTG core server No Yes

Notification methods:

  • Add Entry to Event Log
  • Send Syslog Message
  • Send SNMP Trap
  • Execute Program
No Yes
Re-login request on setup pages after 15 minutes No Yes
IPv6 on local probe/hosted probe No Yes
Single sign-on No Yes
Multi-factor authentication Yes No

4. What does ‘hosted by Paessler’ mean?

‘Hosted by Paessler’ means that we take over the hosting for you and provide you with an SaaS monitoring solution that is hosted on reliable AWS servers in the region of your choice. You do not need a PRTG server installation inside your network or any dedicated server hardware – PRTG Hosted Monitor is agentless and you can immediately start monitoring from your browser.

We also take care of making regular backups of your configuration and data, and we automatically update your hosted instance to the latest PRTG version, so no action is required from your side. In addition, we make sure that your hosted instance is not only secure but also highly available – we monitor your instance for potentially suspicious actions and automatically restart it if there is an issue.

5. How will you keep my passwords and data secure?

By default, the PRTG Hosted Monitor user interface is only accessible via a secured HTTPS connection. On an operating system level, Amazon's AWS firewalls will ensure the security of your network and, of course, all passwords are secured using individual encryption.

6. How is my monitoring affected when my internet connection is down?

The remote probe continues its monitoring and stores the results. Once the internet connection is re-established, cached data is sent to PRTG Hosted Monitor and written to the database. For details, see the PRTG manual on remote probes. Of course, without an internet connection, you will not be able to reach the user interface of PRTG Hosted Monitor.

7. Will I still receive alerts when my internet connection is down?

PRTG Hosted Monitor will instantly alert you as configured. Available notification methods are push notifications or email, for example. In order to receive these notifications, please make sure your receiving device is connected to the internet.

8. How many locations can I monitor with PRTG Hosted Monitor?

You can connect remote probes from different locations to PRTG Hosted Monitor: the limit is your total number of sensors.

9. Can I set up a cluster with PRTG Hosted Monitor?

There's no need for redundant monitoring with PRTG Hosted Monitor. We have built our service so that it frequently saves backups of the configuration file. Should an instance crash, we simply restart your instance for you and automatically roll out the latest backup. The latest backup will not be older than one hour.

10. How does PRTG Hosted Monitor send email notifications?

PRTG Hosted Monitor uses SendGrid for sending email notifications. These settings are preconfigured and cannot be changed to some other SMTP server. Emails sent by PRTG Hosted Monitor can originate from the following IPs:

  • 167.89.112.157
  • 167.89.112.127
  • 167.89.111.43

By default, the email address of the subscription's owner is set as the sender of the notifications. This can be changed under Setup | System Administration | Notification Delivery. Please note that depending on your email server's settings on the receiving end, those notifications could be blocked due to the fact that they do not really originate from your domain. In this case, you have two options:

  1. Update the SPF/DMARC configuration on your end so that it accepts those emails from the aforementioned IPs, see also https://sendgrid.com/docs/glossary/spf/
  2. Change the Sender Email to something generic like [email protected].

We monitor the email reputation of each instance and take measures to prevent emails being sent from instances with a poor reputation, which usually indicates that the instance is being abused for sending SPAM.

11. Can I migrate from PRTG Hosted Monitor to PRTG Network Monitor, or the other way around?

No, neither the subscription nor the data can be migrated. The reason behind this is that your instance's data is stored in the cloud and you can't simply access it on an operating system level as you could with PRTG Network Monitor. Also, both PRTG Hosted Monitor and PRTG Network Monitor have two fundamentally different pricing structures. The former is a subscription model and the latter a one-time purchase plus maintenance.

12. Where can I get updates on how the services and features are doing?

On the PRTG Hosted Monitor status page, you can get updates on how our services and features are doing. If there are any interruptions to our service, we will post a note to keep you informed.

 

 

Start Free Trial
Sign up for a free 10-day trial. Cancel anytime or upgrade to a paid subscription.

 

2. FAQ about pricing

 
 

1. Can I purchase PRTG Hosted Monitor for 12 months at a time?

Yes, you can purchase PRTG Hosted Monitor as an annual subscription. You can also start with the monthly subscription and switch to an annual subscription as soon as you are ready for it.

2. What are the payment methods?

The monthly subscriptions can only be paid via credit card. For our yearly subscriptions, you have the choice between credit card payment and payment via bank transfer. For the latter, you will need to request "Purchase on Account" as payment option. We will help you get the purchase done from that point on.

3. How does billing work for PRTG Hosted Monitor?

You have the choice. If flexibility is key for you, then we recommend our monthly subscriptions.

This is why PRTG Hosted Monitor is pre-billed monthly based on the pricing plan that you choose. If you subscribe to a plan, your credit card is charged up front with the monthly costs and you can use PRTG Hosted Monitor for one month. You can switch plans at any time. The balance on your account will be credited towards the new price. For example, if you select a new plan that costs half as much as the one you originally chose, you can use PRTG Hosted Monitor for a second month without being billed. If you switch plans during a month, you will be billed in part.

If you would like to plan ahead, our annual subscriptions are the way to go for you. You pay upfront for a whole year and besides credit card as payment method, you can also request Purchase on Account.

4. How does a subscription differ from a perpetual license?

In comparison to a perpetual license, a PRTG Hosted Monitor subscription will always give you access to the latest updates, which include new features, numerous improvements, and bug fixes. Every PRTG update we roll out to PRTG Hosted Monitor is thoroughly checked and is usually automatically rolled out 2 weeks after the roll out for perpetual on-premise licenses.

5. Can I change my account email address?

The main email address of your account can be changed. This can be done on request via an email to [email protected]. Beforehand, you need to create a user with your new email address.

The move involves approximately a 15-minute downtime for your instance.

So, if you are about to start a new subscription, we recommend that you register with a generic email address from your team. For example [email protected] or [email protected]

 

3. FAQ about requirements

 
 

1. What are the system requirements for PRTG Hosted Monitor?

As PRTG Hosted Monitor is hosted in the cloud, you can simply access it via your web browser on any device and you don't need any additional hardware or software.

To gather monitoring data from inside your network, you need to install a remote probe in your environment. This requires a simple PC or server that runs Windows 7 or later in your network.

For detailed hardware requirements for remote probes, please refer to our system requirements page.

2. What changes do I need to make to my on-premises infrastructure for PRTG Hosted Monitor to work (for example, firewall settings, new Active Directory admin account)?

The actual monitoring of your network will be performed by the remote probe that you need to install in your network. The remote probe initiates the connection from your local network to the cloud, so you might not need to configure anything (depending on existing network configurations). In general, a remote probe must be allowed to initiate an outgoing connection on port 23560 to your PRTG Hosted Monitor instance. If you need the external IP address for the PRTG core server and/or hosted probe, ping the DNS name of your instance.

For details, please see the PRTG manual on remote probes.

3. What are the upper limits on one PRTG Hosted Monitor instance?

We offer up to 10,000 sensors on PRTG Hosted Monitor instances.

If you need more than one instance, you can create an additional one at any time.

4. Where is my PRTG Hosted instance located?

In the quick start process of your new instance, you can choose from one of the following regions:

USA (East and West)

Ireland (Europe)

Singapore (Asia Pacific)

Sydney (Asia Pacific)

If you need to change that later, contact us at [email protected] As this includes a switch of your instance and configuration, your instance will not be reachable for the time being.

All PRTG Hosted Monitor instances are provided with the support of AWS services and solutions.